We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, quiet, pleasant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpenrose Inn

Save Saved
You added Alpenrose Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alpenrose Inn
4074 Pine Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Cosy, quiet, pleasant stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I was impressed first of all with the prompt and friendly response via email. Then I found myself checking into a lovely, quiet, well furnished place. I was impressed with what i found in my room, which had 2 queen beds, plenty to watch on cable tv, hot water bath, electric room heater, plenty of shampoo, towels and soap. I just found the place like a hotel but really affordable. It is within 5-10min walking distance to nearby heavenly ski gondola and short drive to restaurants, gas station and a massive raleys grocery. Lovely lovely place I'd stay at again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
We appreciate your kind review and are so glad you enjoyed your stay in Tahoe. Thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    68
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
55
178
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

After trying another place to stay at after 8pm we managed to book into Alpenrose. Staff were great- even got out breakfast for us again because we were running late! Thanks again! Got extra help with where to eat dinner and what to do the next day. Highly recommend.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you!! We are really glad things worked out well and you had a good visit to Tahoe. See you next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Nice, clean, fresh rooms... Spacious as well... Bed sheets are awesome!
Gave us never ending clean towels during our 5 night stay.
Came with our 2 little dogs and 4 adults and had a good time during our stay at this Inn.
About 3 blocks away from Heavenly gondola if you take a short cut right next by an empty lot.
Walking distance (if you like walking) to the grocery store, some restaurants, shops and to cross to The stateline to Nevada.
They have continental breakfast, cereal,pastries, coffee and fruits if you're into those.
We got a room with a lil kitchenette (table/chairs, mini fridge, toaster, coffee maker, utensils and a sink). Free Wifi was great also...
Bathroom was spacious also and super clean. Lots of room space for clothing and luggage to store.
Next time I go with my family for another snowboarding trip, I will definitely book here again!!!
Shot out for Hannah for her great place ALPENROSE INN !

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are fantastic, just depends on your needs ie: big groups, have a pet etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We were here last week and really found it to be a diamond in the rough. Hannah ( the owner) was genuinely wanting to do anything she could and show great interest in what we were doing each day. The room was perfect and well appointed, real value for money.
Karen handled our reservation and enquiries fantastically and has a great sense of humour!
This is now our default place when in SLT. Great location as well, two blocks from the Gondola.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
It was our pleasure hosting your stay. We are glad that you had a good visit in Tahoe and were able to get in a little end of season skiing. Looking forward to seeing you again--thank you for taking the time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

A very pleasant experience....both for our family of 3....and our German Shepherd! The room not only had 2 queen beds,but came with a mini-kitchen with refrigerator, table and sink/counter area. They provided 2 extra sheets so the dog could sleep on the beds. Heating unit worked well on the cold nights. Complimentary toiletries provided were among the best quality we have seen in our travels. A continental breakfast is provided......much better than most with good coffee, a good healthy cereal mixture, pastries and fresh (read not brown) bananas. Location is excellent.....short walk to both Lake Tahoe beach and LakeTahoe Blvd casinos. Will definately stay here next time.

Room Tip: All rooms look equally acceptable......believe travelers with pets are assigned ground floor accomod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad that you all enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting your next visit in Tahoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I've always preferred smaller joints when I travel. They just seem to have more personality and I like supporting local small businesses over large corporate owned chain hotels. The Alpenrose Inn was another good choice when I stayed there for several days in February 2013. The staff was very friendly and helpful in providing great local information. The bed was comfortable, the area was quiet, things were very clean... in all, it was a bargain for the price. We will likely stay here again the next time we go to South Tahoe.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
We appreciate your kind review and hope to host your next stay in beautiful Lake Tahoe! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We just got back from a three night stay here. It was amazing! Karen, Hannah and John were so friendly and helpful. We brought our small dog with us and they were more than accommodating to her. The room was very cozy and nice. They had a hot tub that was perfect for after a day of skiing. It was very clean and relaxing! The whole staff went out of their way to accommodate us. Not one bad thing to say. We will definitely be coming back here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
It was our pleasure hosting your trip to Lake Tahoe, and we really appreciate your kind review. We hope to see you again soon--it is starting to look like spring, with lots of new hiking trails opening up for you and your little dog!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alpenrose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenrose Inn

Address: 4074 Pine Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#10 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpenrose Inn is known for its great value in high quality lodging: exceptional customer service and delightful unique accommodations. It is cozy, quiet and clean! Located in a friendly neighborhood of tree-lined streets, the Inn has all the amenities to make your stay in Lake Tahoe memorable and relaxing. It's an easy stroll to the lake shore (beach, marina and restaurant), Heavenly Ski Resort and Village, Edgewood Golf Course, world-class casinos, dining, shopping and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Alpenrose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenrose Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Alpenrose Hotel Lake Tahoe
Alpenrose Motel Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpenrose Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.