We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alpenrose Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Alpenrose Inn to your Saves list
Alpenrose Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   4074 Pine Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Bay Area,CA
1 review
“Good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We decided on a trip to Tahoe on Wednesday for a weekend.So i searched around and found Alpenrose Inn.I called in and Hannah let me know that a English tea room was available.So we went for it..Im glad i did.The stay at the inn was a good experience for our family .Our friends who are locals in Tahoe were surprised that such a small inn had such wonderful rooms.So to list out pros and cons
Pros:-
1)Wonderful staff
2)Clean rooms
3)Enjoyed the breakfast and coffee immensly.Instead of having a lot of items which were full on processed things,the breakfast had bars which were full of nuts and fruit.We really loved it.
4)Kitchenette in the room and cutlery made available
5)Organic soaps and lotion
6)Close to everything(Heavenly,gondola,raleys and many other businesses)
7)Most importantly,it is a small business

Cons:-
1)The room smelled a little musty on entering
2)Room was super duper cold when we first entered it And after 4 hrs of driving its not really a good experience.

Room Tip: Choose the room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are very glad that you enjoyed the English Tea room with its gas log fireplace and other amenities. We always try to turn the heat on prior to our guests' arrival to avoid the cold room you found, and we apologize for neglecting to do so for you. Also, we frequently perform deep cleaning on the rooms, and the "musty" smell should be taken care of. This spring we will be adding a breakfast room and perhaps expand the continental breakfast somewhat; glad you enjoyed it! Happy New Year, and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    76
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
66
194
18
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

At $89/night in ski season, eight minute walk to Heavenly gondola, a good alternative to pricier options.
Pluses:
- Quiet but still with easy access to slopes, stores and restaurants
- very friendly staff
- Clean
- bed was perfect in level of softness and firmness
Minuses:
- room was icy upon entry and only source of heat, an iron stove heater, took over an hour to bring the room to room temperature.
- water in shower never got warm enough to take a shower, even after running eight minutes
- breakfast was very simple...a little more of a splurge by the owners could markedly improve this (eg more varied fruit, fresh baked muffins, orange juice, yogurt could all be added to bring this up to the level of most hotels

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are glad you were able to enjoy the comfortable beds and great location. Generally we turn on the heat for our guests prior to arrival so that the room is warm and inviting; we sincerely apologize for neglecting to do that for you. Just fyi, we are currently preparing to add a breakfast room in the new year, with more extensive breakfast selections.

We really do appreciate your input and suggestions and look forward to seeing you again. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed at the Alpenrose Inn in Octobet for one night and was very pleased. The room was clean and spacious and the very friendly hospitality made this a great place to stay. We arrived in the middles of the seasons first snow storm but still made it to the beach to view the beautiful Lake Tahoe which is a 5 minute walk from the Alpenrose.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
We appreciate your time and kind review. Please visit us again if you are in Tahoe--it is beautiful any time of the year. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Our stay at Alpenrose was wonderful. We stayed there one week before the start of the ski season, were provided with an upgraded room simply because it was available. How nice is that? Breakfast was muffins with cereals, home made cereal bars, fruits, danish with coffee and tea. Went on the gondola on heavenly, it was walking distance and less than a minute by car. Great location. Not far from the Tahoe queen cruises too, less than a five min drive. Will return to stay here, if visiting Tahoe again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The view at the top of the Gondola is amazing! Thank you for your kind review, and we hope to see you again. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We immediately knew it would be a wonderful stay when we were greeted by the owner Hanna. She was so friendly and accommodating, she even offered to bring us a tea pot of hot water for some hot chocolate. When we opened up the door to our room my wife was elated at the size and the cleanliness of the room. She couldn't stop talking about our stay the rest of our vacation. We have plans in the summer to return with a few of our friends and will stay at this wonderful hotel, Thanks Hanna !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review, and for taking the time to post a review. We are looking forward to hosting your friends and you this summer! Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I can't remember the last time I unlocked the door to a room and immediately had a smile from ear to ear. The room looked brand new and it felt like we were the first people to ever stay there. Honestly, if this place was remodeled they must have gutted it down to the wall studs. Add the helpful staff with great recommendations for restaurants and sites to visit and this place is truly a winner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you! We look forward to seeing you again in the future. It is our pleasure to host your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A bit late now but we stayed here for four nights in late August this year and what a great break it was. Quite honestly Lake Tahoe was a dream and we could have stayed for a great deal longer. The hotel and the team were excellent, Hannah (the owner) could not have been more accommodating and helpful providing us with a real honest view on what to do for our stay. Rooms were a good size and very well presented and the location (just a few minute walk to your own beach) was ideal for everything we wanted to do. The light continental breakfast was very good and the rooftoop dining area very good for a lazy, sun packed lunch. We used the BBQ on site (having bought food from Raleys food store) which was great fun as well. The room was very clean and the maid service good. Would have liked a fridge but not a show stopper all the same. We both felt this was great value and would have no hesitation in recommending this to anyone couples and families alike. Thanks again Hannah, sorry it has taken me so long to write the review.......

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road get the most sunshine
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We appreciate your time posting a review of your stay in August. It is so good to hear that you enjoyed yourselves; Lake Tahoe is indeed a wonderful place. We hope to see you again in the future--maybe fall with the changing leaves, or winter with skiing and snow sports. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpenrose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenrose Inn

Address: 4074 Pine Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenrose Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpenrose Inn is known for its great value in high quality lodging: exceptional customer service and delightful unique accommodations. It is cozy, quiet and clean! Located in a friendly neighborhood of tree-lined streets, the Inn has all the amenities to make your stay in Lake Tahoe memorable and relaxing. It's an easy stroll to the lake shore (beach, marina and restaurant), Heavenly Ski Resort and Village, Edgewood Golf Course, world-class casinos, dining, shopping and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Alpenrose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenrose Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Alpenrose Hotel Lake Tahoe
Alpenrose Motel Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpenrose Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.