We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very close to heavenly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpenrose Inn

Save Saved
You added Alpenrose Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alpenrose Inn
4074 Pine Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Austin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very close to heavenly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Our stay at Alpenrose was wonderful. We stayed there one week before the start of the ski season, were provided with an upgraded room simply because it was available. How nice is that? Breakfast was muffins with cereals, home made cereal bars, fruits, danish with coffee and tea. Went on the gondola on heavenly, it was walking distance and less than a minute by car. Great location. Not far from the Tahoe queen cruises too, less than a five min drive. Will return to stay here, if visiting Tahoe again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The view at the top of the Gondola is amazing! Thank you for your kind review, and we hope to see you again. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    68
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
55
178
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whittier, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We immediately knew it would be a wonderful stay when we were greeted by the owner Hanna. She was so friendly and accommodating, she even offered to bring us a tea pot of hot water for some hot chocolate. When we opened up the door to our room my wife was elated at the size and the cleanliness of the room. She couldn't stop talking about our stay the rest of our vacation. We have plans in the summer to return with a few of our friends and will stay at this wonderful hotel, Thanks Hanna !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review, and for taking the time to post a review. We are looking forward to hosting your friends and you this summer! Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I can't remember the last time I unlocked the door to a room and immediately had a smile from ear to ear. The room looked brand new and it felt like we were the first people to ever stay there. Honestly, if this place was remodeled they must have gutted it down to the wall studs. Add the helpful staff with great recommendations for restaurants and sites to visit and this place is truly a winner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you! We look forward to seeing you again in the future. It is our pleasure to host your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A bit late now but we stayed here for four nights in late August this year and what a great break it was. Quite honestly Lake Tahoe was a dream and we could have stayed for a great deal longer. The hotel and the team were excellent, Hannah (the owner) could not have been more accommodating and helpful providing us with a real honest view on what to do for our stay. Rooms were a good size and very well presented and the location (just a few minute walk to your own beach) was ideal for everything we wanted to do. The light continental breakfast was very good and the rooftoop dining area very good for a lazy, sun packed lunch. We used the BBQ on site (having bought food from Raleys food store) which was great fun as well. The room was very clean and the maid service good. Would have liked a fridge but not a show stopper all the same. We both felt this was great value and would have no hesitation in recommending this to anyone couples and families alike. Thanks again Hannah, sorry it has taken me so long to write the review.......

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road get the most sunshine
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We appreciate your time posting a review of your stay in August. It is so good to hear that you enjoyed yourselves; Lake Tahoe is indeed a wonderful place. We hope to see you again in the future--maybe fall with the changing leaves, or winter with skiing and snow sports. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, TX
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Once again this year my husband and I stayed at the Alpenrose Inn. We enjoyed the Inn very much. Hanna, the owner, is wonderful and very accommodating. If something is not to your liking in the room, Hanna will try to fix the problem. The pillow was uncomfortable the first night for me. I told her and she brought 3 different pillows to choose from which were very comfortable. Our room was one of the larger rooms with a wet bar and king size bed. She has updated and remodeled the bathroom since our last visit and is in the process of remodeling most of the rooms. As always, everything was very clean and pleasant. We had a very relaxing, quiet stay. Wonderful place to stay. Close to everything in South Lake Tahoe.

Room Tip: Stay on the second level. The English Tea Room is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
It was our pleasure hosting your annual stay in Lake Tahoe. Thank you for your kind review. The photographic tour is a wonderful way to see new, beautiful sights. We look forward to seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

This small independant has an eye for detail. They paid extra attention to the fact we visited the beautiful South Lake Tahoe for our honeymoon. We loved the suggestions the front desk staff has presented us with. The rooms are all differently decorated. We had a free upgrade and stayed in room 1. Nicely decorated Tahoe Style with in room coffe maker, cutlery, dishes, refrigirator etc. We had a wonderful stay thanks to the "Alpenrose Inn".

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Congratulations on your recent marriage and thank you for letting us host the Tahoe portion of your honeymoon. Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay; we look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed here for two nights a few weeks ago. Friendly, easy going people (Hanna, Karen and John). Quiet, low traffic, mellow street. Stayed in one of the larger rooms with king bed. Wet bar (small sink, microwave, coffee maker), small (two-three person sitting table) smallish but okay bathroom, good shower. Actually, quite spacious room. Look at their website for some good photos of place. Continental B'fast: cereal, bananas, granola bars, muffins, etc. Limited in size and variety, but very well chosen and tasty. Small sitting area in office-b'fast area. Large window looking out on small garden w/fountain and morning birds in for drinks. Excellent coffee (this from a reviewer who frequently brings his own coffee maker and coffee on longer vacations). Nice, large deck on second floor. 3-4 tables, umbrellas. Great for sitting with a bottle of wine and a few friends. Did not see hot tub, used only in winter, so I can't comment on it.

This place is in an absolutely excellent location, both summer and winter. A quiet, restful street, but still two blocks from everything. Two blocks to Nevada state line (back parking lots of large casinos}, two block walk to main shopping area and Heavenly Ski Lift, two block walk to nice, private, lake shore beach (free beach pass for guests). Leave car parked and just walk around. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Look at their web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
We appreciate your kind review, and are very happy that you enjoyed the Inn and all of the nearby amenities. We look forward to hosting you in the future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alpenrose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenrose Inn

Address: 4074 Pine Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#10 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpenrose Inn is known for its great value in high quality lodging: exceptional customer service and delightful unique accommodations. It is cozy, quiet and clean! Located in a friendly neighborhood of tree-lined streets, the Inn has all the amenities to make your stay in Lake Tahoe memorable and relaxing. It's an easy stroll to the lake shore (beach, marina and restaurant), Heavenly Ski Resort and Village, Edgewood Golf Course, world-class casinos, dining, shopping and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alpenrose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenrose Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Alpenrose Hotel Lake Tahoe
Alpenrose Motel Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpenrose Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.