We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant, relaxing stay. Quiet, yet so close to all the Tahoe action.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alpenrose Inn

Save Saved
You added Alpenrose Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alpenrose Inn
4074 Pine Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Livermore, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A pleasant, relaxing stay. Quiet, yet so close to all the Tahoe action.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed here for two nights a few weeks ago. Friendly, easy going people (Hanna, Karen and John). Quiet, low traffic, mellow street. Stayed in one of the larger rooms with king bed. Wet bar (small sink, microwave, coffee maker), small (two-three person sitting table) smallish but okay bathroom, good shower. Actually, quite spacious room. Look at their website for some good photos of place. Continental B'fast: cereal, bananas, granola bars, muffins, etc. Limited in size and variety, but very well chosen and tasty. Small sitting area in office-b'fast area. Large window looking out on small garden w/fountain and morning birds in for drinks. Excellent coffee (this from a reviewer who frequently brings his own coffee maker and coffee on longer vacations). Nice, large deck on second floor. 3-4 tables, umbrellas. Great for sitting with a bottle of wine and a few friends. Did not see hot tub, used only in winter, so I can't comment on it.

This place is in an absolutely excellent location, both summer and winter. A quiet, restful street, but still two blocks from everything. Two blocks to Nevada state line (back parking lots of large casinos}, two block walk to main shopping area and Heavenly Ski Lift, two block walk to nice, private, lake shore beach (free beach pass for guests). Leave car parked and just walk around. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Look at their web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
We appreciate your kind review, and are very happy that you enjoyed the Inn and all of the nearby amenities. We look forward to hosting you in the future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    225
    70
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
57
180
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuna, Idaho
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This little inn was highly recommended with great reviews. We did not find our experience to be that awesome. Our room was clean and it is close to the beach. On the negative side, the room was furnished with stools that were very uncomfortable. Other rooms may be more user friendly as each room is decorated differently but this is an unknown and we would not stay again just to find out. When we left at 7:00am the office was locked and there no sign of the breakfast that was advertised. It was adequate but not the great experience we had anticipated from the reviews. We will shop around for different accomodations the next time we are in Tahoe.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 12 which has very uncomforable stools as the only seating area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
We are sorry to hear that your stay was not what you expected, but appreciate your time writing a response. We always hope that our guests will notify us immediately of any issues with their room, as we will do all we can to make a room change or whatever it takes. With several rooms available we would have been glad to move you to a room with a table and chairs. Also, we apologize for the misunderstanding regarding breakfast, which is served each morning from 7:30 until 10 a.m. Again, we are sorry that your visit was not satisfying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise,OR
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Picked this wonderful inn because of Tripadvisor ratings and boy we were glad we did.Very quiet but only a couple of blocks from casinos and beautiful private beach.Very friendly and helpful owner.Room was pretty and bed was awesome.Our little dachshund loved it also.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your review; it was our pleasure hosting your stay in Lake Tahoe. We hope the drive home went well and that we will see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

very cozy and inviting hotel--off the busy main highway and great location--you can walk to Lake Tahoe shore -you are given a pass to a private beach..and close enough to walk to a casino if you are interested in that. room is very comfortable--bed super comfy-the room had a gas fireplace, small kitchenette with a table for eating and some dishes for your use.the decor is very tasteful also. hot shower with lots of pressure..the breakfast offering was minimal--if you are a big breakfast eater don't count on getting filled up --but it was enough for me. The owners and woman at the desk were extremely nice and very helpful!
i would definitely stay here again if in the area!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and your visit to beautiful Lake Tahoe. We appreciate your time in writing a review. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Alpenrose Inn for a mid-week getaway to Tahoe and were completely impressed! We have always stayed at cabins and major resorts in the past but found that the incredibly comfortable accommodations, friendly staff, convenient, yet quiet location and value of Alpenrose made for a wonderful stay at a place we wish we would have discovered long ago. We will definitely return!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you, for your visit and kind review. We look forward to seeing you in the future...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This beautiful B&B is located on a side street so it is quiet and yet is a 5 minute walk to the casinos. Very clean rooms, plenty of space for two, nice continental breakfast and easy access to the highway to San Francisco. Staff suggested we walk ten minutes to the private country club for dinner on the outside patio. The food was amazing and the SUNSET WAS BEAUTIFUL. The public is welcome to dine. DO NOT MISS IT!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
We really appreciate the time you took to post a review, and your positive words. The golf club never fails as a great restaurant recommendation, and the sunset is amazing. Please visit us again when you are in the area. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Well, it was pricey (total plus tax 375 two nights), expected more for starters, the place was a bit run down and breakfast was generic costco fare.

The lady who check us in was actually helpful. Owner checked us out and (gently) scolded us for taking a room that wasn't supposed to be for pets.

Here's an idea...1)fix your website so someone can't book with an animal to that room and 2) make sure your ancillary staff is aware of the difference.

Owner: Don't chide the customer for this, especially after you just told us we could have saved money if we booked directly from you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
We would like to sincerely apologize for the confusion and misunderstanding. Because we have a select number of rooms which are pet friendly we request that guests contact us directly to arrange the proper room, and we have been working with the website where you made the reservation to correct this. Clearly in this situation our communication was lacking, and we are very sorry.

Because it is very important to us for our guests to enjoy their stay we appreciate your feedback. Thank you, and again, we apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alpenrose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenrose Inn

Address: 4074 Pine Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#11 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpenrose Inn is known for its great value in high quality lodging: exceptional customer service and delightful unique accommodations. It is cozy, quiet and clean! Located in a friendly neighborhood of tree-lined streets, the Inn has all the amenities to make your stay in Lake Tahoe memorable and relaxing. It's an easy stroll to the lake shore (beach, marina and restaurant), Heavenly Ski Resort and Village, Edgewood Golf Course, world-class casinos, dining, shopping and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alpenrose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenrose Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Alpenrose Hotel Lake Tahoe
Alpenrose Motel Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpenrose Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.