We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrific place to stay in s lake tahoe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpenrose Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Alpenrose Inn to your Saves list
Alpenrose Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   4074 Pine Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“terrific place to stay in s lake tahoe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

very cozy and inviting hotel--off the busy main highway and great location--you can walk to Lake Tahoe shore -you are given a pass to a private beach..and close enough to walk to a casino if you are interested in that. room is very comfortable--bed super comfy-the room had a gas fireplace, small kitchenette with a table for eating and some dishes for your use.the decor is very tasteful also. hot shower with lots of pressure..the breakfast offering was minimal--if you are a big breakfast eater don't count on getting filled up --but it was enough for me. The owners and woman at the desk were extremely nice and very helpful!
i would definitely stay here again if in the area!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and your visit to beautiful Lake Tahoe. We appreciate your time in writing a review. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    77
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
66
196
18
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Alpenrose Inn for a mid-week getaway to Tahoe and were completely impressed! We have always stayed at cabins and major resorts in the past but found that the incredibly comfortable accommodations, friendly staff, convenient, yet quiet location and value of Alpenrose made for a wonderful stay at a place we wish we would have discovered long ago. We will definitely return!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you, for your visit and kind review. We look forward to seeing you in the future...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This beautiful B&B is located on a side street so it is quiet and yet is a 5 minute walk to the casinos. Very clean rooms, plenty of space for two, nice continental breakfast and easy access to the highway to San Francisco. Staff suggested we walk ten minutes to the private country club for dinner on the outside patio. The food was amazing and the SUNSET WAS BEAUTIFUL. The public is welcome to dine. DO NOT MISS IT!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
We really appreciate the time you took to post a review, and your positive words. The golf club never fails as a great restaurant recommendation, and the sunset is amazing. Please visit us again when you are in the area. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Well, it was pricey (total plus tax 375 two nights), expected more for starters, the place was a bit run down and breakfast was generic costco fare.

The lady who check us in was actually helpful. Owner checked us out and (gently) scolded us for taking a room that wasn't supposed to be for pets.

Here's an idea...1)fix your website so someone can't book with an animal to that room and 2) make sure your ancillary staff is aware of the difference.

Owner: Don't chide the customer for this, especially after you just told us we could have saved money if we booked directly from you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
We would like to sincerely apologize for the confusion and misunderstanding. Because we have a select number of rooms which are pet friendly we request that guests contact us directly to arrange the proper room, and we have been working with the website where you made the reservation to correct this. Clearly in this situation our communication was lacking, and we are very sorry.

Because it is very important to us for our guests to enjoy their stay we appreciate your feedback. Thank you, and again, we apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Last minute trip on Labor Day weekend and we got the last available room (Tuscany aka #F7?-from farthest staircase, room at top of stairs immediately to the right).

Perks:
*double pane windows to block out any noisy neighbors or outdoor concerts)
*the wet bar and kitchenware besides the mini-fridge and microwave
*5-10 minute walks to main drag, golf course, private beach (that you have access to), and dining
*the most comfortable bed and sheets I've ever slept in (always take my own sheets and never used it here)
*during day took advantage of the deck; quiet enough and isolated (the rustle of the pine trees was like ocean waves)

For a 2 night stay and the busiest holiday weekends to end summer, it was truly comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your kind review; we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Labor Day weekend can be a little hectic in Tahoe; thank you for letting us know that you were comfortable and able to relax. We hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed in the Alpenrose King room (room #1) in late September on a 4 day/3 night trip to Lake Tahoe. The Inn is in a perfect location for walking to dining, shopping, the lake and so much more! We only used our rental car to get to trailheads and to head to Incline Village for an afternoon (which I highly recommend!). What a wondeful place to stay! The Alpenrose was clean, quiet, packed with all the amenities of a full service hotel (except an iron, but who needs to iron clothes while in Tahoe, right?!) Our King room had a microwave and refrigerator which I was not expecting, which was great for leftovers. As soon as we checked in, the woman at the front desk gave us a map and circled everything that we should go see and do, without us even asking. I loved that! We left our son at home for this trip, but had we brought him, the Alpenrose would have been perfect. We were on the first floor, door to the outside all to ourselves and room for a pack n play....we will bring him next time!

I highly suggest, Emerald Bay, Eagle Falls Hiking, the Taylor Center, Incline Village, a little south of Sand Harbor Park (going North on Rt 28, there is a parking lot on the left hand side and you can hike all the down (switchbacks) to the water...jump in the water, it's cold, but sooo refreshing!).

Overall, we loved Lake Tahoe and South Lake Tahoe. Very laid back, relaxing and just a good time!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
It sounds like you had a great vacation all the way around! We appreciate hosting your stay and would love to see you again in the future. This is a beautiful time to explore Tahoe. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Alpenrose was our home base in South Lake Tahoe for three nights during a recent Sierra road trip, thanks to an unexpected change of plans, and it ended up being one of our best stops in two weeks, not just in terms of comfort, service and location but value as well.

We stayed upstairs in Black Forest, which was a 2 queen room with wet bar. There was a bit of foot noise occasionally from other visitors passing along the veranda en route to their own rooms but hardly enough to bother about.

Service was spot-on; the room was large, immaculate and comfortably appointed and although South Lake Tahoe could not exactly be described as pedestrian friendly (not enough street lights, lumpy sidewalks – take a flashlight at night!), we could easily walk to whatever we needed.

The property itself was meticulously maintained and presented, and we appreciated the professional, friendly, low-key vibe. These people know their stuff, and it shows.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpenroseInn, Manager at Alpenrose Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your very kind remarks. We are glad you stayed with us and felt welcomed and at home. It is a beautiful time of year here in Lake Tahoe. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpenrose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenrose Inn

Address: 4074 Pine Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#6 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenrose Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpenrose Inn is known for its great value in high quality lodging: exceptional customer service and delightful unique accommodations. It is cozy, quiet and clean! Located in a friendly neighborhood of tree-lined streets, the Inn has all the amenities to make your stay in Lake Tahoe memorable and relaxing. It's an easy stroll to the lake shore (beach, marina and restaurant), Heavenly Ski Resort and Village, Edgewood Golf Course, world-class casinos, dining, shopping and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Alpenrose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenrose Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Alpenrose Hotel Lake Tahoe
Alpenrose Motel Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpenrose Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.