We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"toilet issue" above us!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of 3 Peaks Resort and Beach Club

Save Saved
You added 3 Peaks Resort and Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
3 Peaks Resort and Beach Club
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   931 Park Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Medford, Oregon
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“"toilet issue" above us!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is a warning to anyone thinking about staying at this hotel... it's not worth the price!!! The rooms look nice on the web, but when we stayed there ours was not what we'd call clean.

The worst of it though was when the kitchen ceiling started leaking and we found out that there was a "toilet issue" in the room upstairs! YUCK!!! The front dest clerk didn't offer to have housekeeping come and take care of the disaster in the kitchen, but he was kind enough to bring us some towels so we could soak it up ourselves. REALLY??? Isn't that what a hotel guest pays for HOUSEKEEPING, duh!

Oh, and to top it off, when we inquired about some compensation at check out, the rude front desk supervisor offered us a gift certificate on our next stay - HELLO??? What part of "toilet issue" leaking down on us did you miss???

She said that the manager would have to approve a discount credit to be applied to our credit card & we should contact him to discuss the possibility.

To add insult to injury, the manager completely ignored the emails we sent when we got home!

If you don't mind really loud and obnoxious kids making lots of noise, rude staff with no sense of customer service skills, and "toilet issues" leaking down in your kitchen then consider this hotel... as for us we recommend that they remove the "resort" word because there's nothing there to back up that claim!!!

Room Tip: If you choose to ignore this review and the other one by Pete K, definitely get a 2nd floor room - o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    358
    162
    63
    39
    44
See reviews for
152
264
38
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Room bordered on seedy, somewhat smelly and tacky. Room was basically falling apart. Door

hasp mech. scraped a large gouge in the wall every time it closed. Bath and shower controls falling apart. Carpet smelled. Window hardware broken. Very noisy, old heat pump - AC unit. Not one piece of paper to write on. I suppose if one brings dogs, it would be an OK place in that sense. The only advantage was the price, which is what attracted us, but after looking around a bit more on the search advisor, found lots BETTER! Arrived around 3:30 pm, room not ready...??...had to shift us to another room...lucky this was during off season...if during peak seasons...???!! Cannot recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Returned last week for another great visit at 3 Peaks. I called and requested a specific room and they graciously honored my request.
I noticed that there are now 'do not disturb' and 'maid service' cards on the front doors... good idea :-) Everything was perfect, as usual. Can't wait to come back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We decided last minute to get away for a few days. We brought our 2 shih-tzu's with us. The resort/hotel was very clean, bed was comfortable and the price was great! Everyone that works there were very friendly especially Deon at the front desk. He was accomodating, courteous and helpful. He did not hesitate to answer any questions we had since this is the first time we stayed at their resort/hotel. It is walking distance from casinos, restaurants and stores if you like to shop. We took our dogs walking everyday. They also had a great time. I will recommend this place to anyone I know. We will definitely stay here again soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We decided to take our small dog on an overnight trip to Tahoe, and were happy to find this hotel for such a reasonable price. The property has multiple lawn/ picnic areas that are pet-friendly, with convenient baggie stands for clean up. We had a standard king room looking out toward the lake on the second floor. Although we were a few blocks from the lake itself, it was nice to feel we had some space around us as our view was of a grassy parkway.
The hotel staff were all quite helpful and friendly and the room was spacious and clean. However, the tv was somewhat dated and small (couldn't even read the score of the ball game!), and the linens were quite worn. But with the excellent off-season price we paid, those were small issues. Our beagle had a lovely visit there, too, and would definitely like to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We booked one of the larger suites for our anniversary - the Parlor room with a soaking bath-tub. The resort/hotel was close to South Lake Tahoe, which is amidst a lot of other hotels in the area, and a short walk to a private beach.
The room was pretty big by most standards - upwards of 600 sq foot, and had two reasonably new LG LCD TVs in both the hall and bed-room. There is also a well-appointed tiny kitchen, but with 4 burners, and oven and a full-sized refrigerator, I think it is pretty good. Most of the decor and furnishing seems to go the minimalist, eco-friendly way, and its not really a bad thing, since you really aren't expecting something really pricey - it kind of keeps with the rustic outdoors that surround you.
We requested for a change in pillows since the uber-soft pillows seemed to have been made out of two-dimensional cotton. However that request was shot down.
The soaking bathtub wasn't the clincher I had hoped since at nearly 6 feet tall, it is kind of difficulty to get in! But for shorter women I guess it works pretty well. Not a deal-breaker. But then again I did pay for the luxury of having one!
Had a couple of irks regarding people upstairs moving about, and the sound amplifying. Also when someone turned on the taps elsewhere the bathroom shower-head went pyscho and started moving on its own with a grating noise - scary if you are alone and you kind of think something's gone wrong. Water temperature changes frequently in the showers, and almost on a whim.
Overall, since we had a good outdoor experience I'd give the hotel a thumbs up for an above-average experience and possibly a 7/10 because it simply worked. I am not too glad with the rates they charge off-season but we really didn't have an awful time either, so I'd recommend this place if you are visiting South Tahoe. Its not a bed and breakfast so you have to tug along something or head to the local IHOP or Denny's.

Room Tip: Save yourself some money and stick to the deluxe room if you don't want all that space
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were blown away with the quality of the rooms we received for the price. It was more like a cozy cottage. Kitchen, family room and even a wood burning fireplace.
The suite had two separate bedrooms, each with their own vanity and sink. This was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on while traveling. Wish I could have stayed longer. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
Charming, Beach...
Show More
1.1 mi away
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
Tahoe Lakeshore Lodge and Spa
#12 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Luxury, Quiet...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe
Marriott Grand Residence Club Ta...
#10 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 513 reviews
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
1.3 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#34 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#3 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
1.5 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#28 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Free Parking, B...
Show More
0.3 mi away
The Landing Resort & Spa
The Landing Resort & Spa
#1 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
5.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3 Peaks Resort and Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 Peaks Resort and Beach Club

Address: 931 Park Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#9 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#10 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 3 Peaks Resort and Beach Club 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your 3 Peaks Resort and Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Peaks Resort And Beach Club Hotel South Lake Tahoe
3 Peaks Hotel And Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 3 Peaks Resort and Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.