We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and filling” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jalisco Grill

Jalisco Grill
2660 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
(530) 600-1775
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Dayton Ohio
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Simple and filling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Tired and hungry from a day of hiking in the mountains, we scrapped our plan for dinner at an upscale restaurant and opted for some simple, filling Mexican food at Jalisco Grill.

Hidden at the back of a strip mall, Jalisco is a low-budget operation. A lovely young woman greeted us and explained the procedure: order first (very inexpensive!), select a drink (we opted for bottled beer), take your bowl of chips, select your salsa from a variety of self-serve options, and find a table to wait for your entrée. It wasn’t a long wait. Our food arrived just a few minutes after we sat down, huge portions, enough for the most demanding appetite. They tasted okay, not strongly spiced; I spread hot salsa on my giant burrito. It was simple and filling, but not memorable. The salsas were the most interesting flavors.

The verdict: It’s hot, it’s fast, it’s cheap, and it tastes okay.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
vermont
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“For the hungry and penniless”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

After hiking we were hungry and tired decided to try this place after reading the reviews.
First it was hard ro find even with a GPS. A hole in the wall.
Useful info : this place does not accept credit cards.
The menu is very limited and what we had was disappointing. My burrito with beef was very plain and somehow dry. My husband's quesadillas were better.
The service is wonderful but we have eaten much better Mexican food in Arizona and New Mexico.
That said this was the cheapest meal we ever had but far from the best.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Awesome Food - Prices are Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were looking for some good Mexican fare and after reading a few reviews found this little gem! Owned by Alma and George Zepeda, they are cranking out some authentic dishes. I had the three taco plate and tried the Pollo, Asada, and Pastor. Got to say that they were all delicious but the Pastor was the best. Perfectly seasoned and mildly spicy. Plate comes with rice, beans, sour cream and guacamole. Husband had a burrito - NOTE: They are HUGE and easily shared!

They give you a basket of warm tortilla chips while you wait and you can go load up on homemade salsa choices at the bar.

Another tip: Bring Cash! They do not take credit cards!

Run, don't walk to Jalisco's if you have the Mexican food craving!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Food without Frills”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

If you want to eat very good home made Mexican food. This is the place. There are a lot of Mexican restaurants in SLTahoe and this one is actually hard to find, but again if it is authentic food you want this is what you get. You place your order when you come in - menu is listed above the counter. You get your own bottled drinks, no ice, water is available, find yourself a table and wait for your tasty food to arrive. While you are waiting you can fill small plastic cups with condiments such a verde sauce, salsas, etc. Your meal will be delivered in the typical red baskets we see at drive ins or on a plate if combo is ordered (Includes beans and rice). Guacamole is extra but get it as it is only .50. Several varieties of tacos in corn tortillas but lettuce and cheese is .25 extra. Two @ $1.25 were more than enough for me and the enchilada combo was a substantial meal ($6.50). Servers were quick and attentive. No alcohol.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“What a find!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This place is so friendly you feel like family. Food was beyond fantastic. Service was top notch. You place your order when you enter and from there they take over. Rellenos and enchilas rock! Only beer and soft drinks but don't let that stop you.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jalisco Grill also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Jalisco Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jalisco Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.