We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Killer food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jalisco Grill

Jalisco Grill
2660 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
(530) 600-1775
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
South Lake Tahoe, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Killer food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The best in town. The best mexican food in Tahoe. Great prices, great, friendly service. We always feel so welcome. A must stop.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
“the real deal authentic fresh delicioso Mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We asked a few locals to recommend the best authentic Mexican food in town, all of them said the Jalisco Grill. We took the bus ($2) from the gondola area, much cheaper then cab fare ($20). We were greeted by Alma the lovely owner who was friendly and happy to see us! She helped us through the menu, which was posted on a big board on the wall, with some great recommendations. Our first night to Jalisco Grill we ordered a delicious sope appetizer with slow cooked pork which was full of fresh flavors and really big, at least 6" diameter on a soft homemade corn tortilla, then we had chile rellenos which was fantastic and covered in a mild tomato sauce, the mild melted Chihuahua cheese oozed from the perfectly battered and lightly fried poblano pepper. My son ordered the enchiladas el pastor with black mole, which was the best mole I ever tasted, the flavors were all over the board from smokey to a hint of chocolate to nutty, the combination was excellent! The pintos were delicious with a creamy texture, the Mexican rice was perfect the guacamole was 100% avocado simply prepared and outstanding! To top it off they have wonderful warm chips and fresh salsas, tomatillo (green) was a raw fiery style and the red was smoky roasted style with outstanding flavors. Our check totaled $18 and we each had a soft drink, they had beer available too. Out of the five nights we were in South Lake Tahoe we visited Jalisco Grill 3 times! They are cash only, no credit cards. Salud!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food, great service!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great taqueria. The owner usually waits on us and is always friendly.
I just wish they had items with sauce, like wet burritos or enchiladas.
Their tacos, and taquitos are great.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best darn street tacos ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Hands down the best hole in the wall taqueria I've ever experienced! The Birria and Chili Verde are fantastic. Very friendly staff, clean dining area and restrooms.

Every time we are in South Lake Tahoe we stop in for a meal.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great variety and taste”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

The food is tasty. Service is great. Great value. The guacamole is outstanding. We had a chicken torta, chile relleno combo, el pastor, birria, and carne asada tacos, and a carne asada burrito. It was all good. I like that they leave your food for you to add the chile to your taste. Chips were delivered to our table and they were very good as well. Just bring cash as its cash only!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jalisco Grill also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Jalisco Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jalisco Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.