We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise in Strip Mall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apres Wine Company

Apres Wine Company
3668 South Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
(530) 544-9463
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ski Run Blvd.
Transit: Blue Go
Highland, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Surprise in Strip Mall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I discovered this jewel when I walked into town. it is on the corner of Ski Run Blvd and South Lake Tahoe Blvd. This inside is your typical basic tasting room with some high tech wine dispensers ( I am sure that is not the technical term). What makes this place so unique is the atmosphere. My husband and I sat at the bar and tried some really wonderful wines. The person behind the bar served us some wine and told us a tasting is going to begin in 1/2 hour. Strange? She told us the tasting will begin and owner picks the wine . Sometimes it is reds, sometimes it is white and sometimes a combo. 30 minutes later, the owner arrives and the tasting begins. This man knows his wine, but does not does not act pretentious. We had ordered a wine and cheese platter which was delicious. The thing I really enjoyed about the platter was besides the nice mixture of cheese samples, there was and ample supply of thinly sliced bread. Often when we order these platters there are not enough crackers/bread for the cheese. I know that most places will bring more crackers/bread if needed ,but I hate asking for an extra serving. I did not have dinner there, but has been written up for it's excellent cuisine. Next time we will dine there!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    18
    10
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Fun experience! Went there on vacation. Got to meet owner who was very nice. Not pushy at all.Food was delicious as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Small, personal, great selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The food and wine were both excellent. The food is tapas style and all very good. The wine selection was big enough that we each found a few that we loved. I'd come back again!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Interesting experience, seemed expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We ordered the cheese plate which was good pairing with the wine, We selected to buy the wine by the ounce. We thought it seemed expensive. We did enjoy meeting the other couples who were customers also. The social atmosphere was very conducive to sharing the experience with one another.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Did the Sunday evening wine tasting. Loved the experience. Bought some nice wines and learned a lot.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apres Wine Company also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Apres Wine Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apres Wine Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.