We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and wine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apres Wine Company

Apres Wine Company
3668 South Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
(530) 544-9463
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ski Run Blvd.
Transit: Blue Go
Oceanside, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We went to the wine tasting where they pair wine and small plates. Then we ordered a little more food because the small plates were so darn good. JP, I think an.owner, did the presentation of the history and facts of the wine being served. Very interesting and knowledgeable. Very yummy experience overall.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    18
    10
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“interesting place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

With our hotel stay we got a voucher for a $10 wine tasting and 15% off dinner. So we went and found a place that is a little different from most other wine tasting places where you only select between wines of one or two wineries. At the Apres you can actually taste wines from all over the world, Australia, Europe, South, and North America. The "wine vending machine" was a first for us, but the lady at the bar gave us a detailed instruction how to use it and it worked well for us. There was a discovery of a blended wine which we then ordered as a full bottle and enjoyed with our dinner. The food was good, nothing fancy, and reasonably priced.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“wine wine wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

great place to have a good wine and good prices...you have to try the dates with bacon
good freindly staff

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keithville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our first visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We were in Tahoe for vacation, and trying to find a little time away from the kids. We sampled several wines from the bar, and ate a cheese plate. The wine tasting was fun, and the cheese plate was good. The girl behind the bar was personable, and we had a nice conversation with her. We will go back again before we leave! It was fun.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Wines - Greater Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

You will melt into your chair when you taste the truffle butter. You may rejoice out loud when you eat the artichoke dip.

They have the most by-the-glass wines I've found around the area and are very knowledable about them. They also have great wine tastings and pairing nights. We enjoyed the Tuesday night pairings and the Sunday tasting. We'll be back for sure.

The store also has adorable wine-themed shirts. We loved the little hat and scarf for your wine bottle that we got to decorate with, too.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apres Wine Company also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Apres Wine Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apres Wine Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.