We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apres Wine Company - CLOSED

Apres Wine Company
3668 South Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
(530) 544-9463
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ski Run Blvd.
Transit: Blue Go
Keithville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Our first visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We were in Tahoe for vacation, and trying to find a little time away from the kids. We sampled several wines from the bar, and ate a cheese plate. The wine tasting was fun, and the cheese plate was good. The girl behind the bar was personable, and we had a nice conversation with her. We will go back again before we leave! It was fun.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    10
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Wines - Greater Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

You will melt into your chair when you taste the truffle butter. You may rejoice out loud when you eat the artichoke dip.

They have the most by-the-glass wines I've found around the area and are very knowledable about them. They also have great wine tastings and pairing nights. We enjoyed the Tuesday night pairings and the Sunday tasting. We'll be back for sure.

The store also has adorable wine-themed shirts. We loved the little hat and scarf for your wine bottle that we got to decorate with, too.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unique wine tasting experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

When you approach the building within the strip mall, you expect a wine shop but this is so much more. You certainly can grab a bottle of wine, but there's also an option to put some cash on a card and go taste the wines from several different wine carousels. It's great fun, but be careful as your tastings can add up fast. We also had the best meat/cheese plate that I've ever had - high quality and generous. The best part is that the staff is very knowledgable and we got some excellent wine recommendations. We ended up buying two fantastic bottles of Zinfandel from a local winery - too small for distribution. While not a daily stop, we did visit three times during our stay in South Tahoe.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“apres wine company not for true wine tasters”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

On vacation stopped in to try some wines only nice thing about this place was the sweet young lady behind the bar. Owner not very friendly!!! Wines lousy!! Had a one ounce taste for $4.75 the wine was bad . Owner thought I was crazy till he tasted it and had to dump the whole bottle out!!!! I found this place to be a joke !!!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Convenient wine shop and tasting room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We went into the shop and were treated by a lovely lady, and bought a portable aerator for $20. They were having a Sunday tasting that day we arrived too late. We came back another day & enjoyed the happy hour. This store is a blessing for locals they also have a full kitchen and chef. The pit falls are its a small store with boxes of wine and too much clutter everywhere and the actual owner is not hospitable but the staff, chef and woman that greeted us on the first day were. They have a great price range, special guest speakers, and a cool tasting machines which pour 1 or 2 oz. for a set price.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apres Wine Company also viewed

South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
South Lake Tahoe, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apres Wine Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.