We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Timber Lodge

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Timber Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott's Timber Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 25%
Ranked #11 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great location ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The 2 bedroom apartment is very spacious. Great location and very friendly staff. Interesting restaurants nearby so you don't have to worry about meals. Kitchenette with coffee so you can easily make a meal and not worry about eating out every day.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    211
    61
    30
    18
See reviews for
268
184
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Distrito Federal
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Hotel is right near the Gondola (which takes you to Heavenly, the ski camp in the mountain) and by definition, near all the shops, restaurants, ski rental and ski lessons. I've stayed in Marriott hotels before and I have to admit that I found this one with a special charm. Don't know if it is because you feel it more like a house than really a hotel, but service and public spaces within the hotel have this charm. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, many of them feature small kitchens in case you want to buy stuff to prepare dinner or breakfast (mostly because food up in the mountain can be sort of expensive) and there's a CVS a couple of blocks away.
They have freshly-baked cookies and hot chocolate in the lobby during the afternoon when guests start coming back from the mountain.
Don't miss the Fire & Ice Grill restaurant, where you choose your ingredients to prepare delicious Asian dishes.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Timber Lodge, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We are thrilled to hear your family enjoyed their stay with us at Marriott's Timber Lodge! The cookies and hot chocolate are a great way to enjoy the afternoon in beautiful Lake Tahoe. Our team looks forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Rooms were extremely nice. Kitchens were well stocked to include all kitchenware as well as cleaning and laundry supplies (washer & dryer in unit). Grounds & amenities were wonderful. Lots of shops and restaurants in walking distance. Casinos within a couple of blocks. Hotel is adjacent to the Gondola (enclosed ride to top of Heavenly).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, CA
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This is an annual summer destination for us. We stay at the Marriott as is a great location and the rooms are very nice. Couple of things to note:

1) They enlarged the pool lounging area this year, adding more lounges and umbrellas, two fire pits, 4 BBQ's (which prior they had none) and a walk up bar. It turned out nice.
2) Valet parking only
3) This is a family resort and the pool activity shows it.

We spend most of our time out hiking and find the area perfect for that!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Timber Lodge, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for making Marriott's Timber Lodge your resort of choice in Lake Tahoe! We appreciate your great tips and look forward to your next visit with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Marriott's Timber Lodge at South Lake Tahoe is in a great location. Convenient to everything. The property is what you'd expect from Marriott. Clean and well maintained, great amenities, very friendly staff. Rooms are clean and well appointed, if a bit small. I think this would be a better Winter getaway place than Summer, but we had a great time. Pool is a bit crowded but we spent most of our time out hiking. Wish they had a traditional restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We enjoyed our one night stay at the Marriott Timber Lodge, and found the room very much exceeded our expectations. I knew our room had a king bed and a queen sofa bed, but i hadn't realized that we actually had booked what was essentially a one bedroom apartment, complete with full kitchen, fireplace, tub in the bedroom, bathroom with shower, etc. We stayed there on July 4th so the check-in process was a bit more chaotic than we would have liked, although they tried to process us through as quickly as possible. Needless to say, it was very crowded. Given the price of the hotel, it would have been nice if there hadn't been a hefty valet parking charge (and there is no option but valet parking). They have two concierge stations (and believe me, they need them) but when we were leaving on the 5th we had a quick question and there was only one concierge there. Sadly, I had to wait in line for 25 minutes while the young woman ahead of me asked the concierge every question that could possibly be asked about the local environs; the concierge was demonstrating great patience with this woman though she also seemed to be oblivious to the line that was forming as this guest explored everything from tubing to climbing to kayaking to ... you name it. When we finally got to ask our question, however, we were very happy with the tip the concierge gave us, which was to visit Nevada Beach on our way out, which ended up being one of the highlights of our brief visit. South Lake Tahoe, I have to say, left me cold but the Marriott Timber Lodge was a very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the back building, which was a good choice... not as noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Timber Lodge, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott's Timberlodge over the 4th of July holiday! We are pleased to hear the villa exceeded your expectations during your recent stay. Your feedback about the valet parking and concierge services is appreciated and will be shared with the appropriate managers. We hope you will return soon on your next vacation in Lake Tahoe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Mn
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This is a beautiful timeshare in a great location. It is 1/2 block from casinos, restaurants are abundant, and the hiking is amazing. The 2 bedroom units are a bit smaller than other Marriott timeshares, but still comfortable. There's only 1 closet in the master bedroom and none in the living room area. The bathroom has plenty of space with 2 sinks. There's a jacuzzi in the bedroom. bed is comfortable. The kitchen is adequate. They had a couple of packets of coffee next to the pot when we checked in, which is great if you arrive late. There's a grocery store just a block away.
If you are a light sleeper, make sure you get a room that isn't facing the pool, unless you're an early riser. Every morning at 6am, a staff member opens all the umbrellas around the pool and inevitably starts talking with another staff member in a regular voice (or louder if they are chatting across the pool). If you have a baby who naps during the day, the pool is quite noisy, no surprise.
The only parking is valet. The area gets congested. Although we always call down for our car ahead of time, and they always say it will be 10 minutes, it has never been less than 15 minutes after we get there, and a few times we waited over 30. Plan accordingly.
This is a beautiful area with great hiking trails and lovely beaches, so much to do if you like the outdoors.
The staff are all very friendly and the area well maintained.

Room Tip: If you're from the east coast, the 6 am chatting around the pool probably won't be an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Timber Lodge, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott's Timber Lodge! We are please to hear your stay with us was pleasant and you enjoyed the resort's location. Your feedback on the pool noise and valet parking is appreciated and will be shared with the appropriate managers. Our team hopes you will visit us again on your next vacation in Lake Tahoe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Timber Lodge

Address: 4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#12 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Timber Lodge 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Marriott's Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Timber Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Timber Hotel
Marriott Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Timber Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.