We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Timber Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Timber Lodge to your Saves list
Marriott's Timber Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Rewards Points!
Ranked #11 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed for only one night. The room was very spacious and had kitchen as well with coffee maker. We reached past after mid night, the hotel location is bit inside and had to go around once before finding the location. Only minus is the parking. $36 for parking is too high. There were no breakfast but they had donuts and coffee which was very tasty ....The area of hotel is gr8 all destinations were easily reachable.
Sad we planned only one night stay in Lake Tahoe, i would have preferred one more night. Bottom line, this hotel is very good and we had a very nice stay.

Room Tip: Tried through priceline and it gave a king size bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Timber Lodge, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for the positive TripAdvisor review! We hope you will get a chance to spend more time with us at Marriott's Timber Lodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    252
    75
    36
    20
See reviews for
325
221
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
151 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

I just went to Tahoe for a long weekend and I stayed at the Timber Lodge and the place was great.
Just on the center of everything and the amenities the lodge had were great.
The staff was great and always happy to help.
The rooms are nice and very clean and they have some amenities you don't expect like a humidifier...
Yes you pay $26 for valet parking but it is a great service they give to you... I brought our bicycles and they valet them too.
The only thing I wish was fixed was the swimming pool is in renovation so we needed to go the next door for that...
The weight room was pretty nice.
I hope to find a good deal to come back and enjoy this great place

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Timber Lodge, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
We appreciate your five-star review of Marriott's Timber Lodge! Thank you for sharing your experience with fellow travelers and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
99 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

The Timberlodge 2 Bedroom apartments were very comfortable and centrally located. Walking distance from number of shops, supermarket, and restaurants. Very spacious rooms and fully furnished apartments with Washing Machine and dryer as well as fully equipped kitchens. The Hot tub in the room was an added advantage. The front desk staff was very helpful. I had an issue with connecting my laptop to the wifi. They made sure that I could get in touch with there service provider and had the problem sorted out.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Timber Lodge, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
It is great to hear your family had a super stay at Marriott's Timber Lodge! Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We rented a two bedroom suite for two nights in early May. The rooms were extremely spacious and were amazingly well equipped, down to salt and pepper on the dining table. The rooms were in very good repair although I was disappointed that one of the bathrooms did not have a lock on them. Also, I do think that the nightly charge of 26 dollars for valet was a little excessive. We were also disappointed to note that the pool was under construction, though an alternative was offered to us in terms of the Grand residency club.

Overall, the staff were very friendly and polite and the location is absolutely top notch. Would certainly visit here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Timber Lodge, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for visiting us on your recent vacation in Lake Tahoe! We are glad to hear the villa exceeded your expectations during your stay. We also appreciate your feedback on valet and the pool construction at the resort and will forward this to the appropriate managers. We hope you will join us again soon and thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The place is great, what you would come to expect from a Marriott property. Location, pools etc. are all really great. My issue comes with the fact that you have to check out at 10AM because this is a timeshare property. I understand people who have bought the timeshares having to check out at 10AM....they are aware of this when they buy. But people who go there with their families and then realize 10AM, it was very unpleasant. I would never stay here again for that fact alone and we are Platinum Marriott Members. Totally disappointed with this. Not to mention the rooms are just not laid out well. The sofa in the "living room" (of the 2 bedroom) was facing away from the TV and was tucked in a corner. Not very conducive to conversation or to watch a movie.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Timber Lodge, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for your review of Marriott's Timber Lodge! While we are happy you enjoyed your time at the resort, we apologize for your disappointment with the check-out time. The 10AM check-out allows our housekeeping team enough time to service the villas that are larger than your average hotel room. We apologize for this inconvenience and will share your feedback with our housekeeping team. Thank you again for your review and for visiting us at Marriott's Timber Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Located right next to heavenly Gondola and right amidst center of Lake Tahoe south (lots of eating, shopping options), this Marriott resort is one of the best options to make the most of a shorter stay. We stayed in LT for 2 nights and managed to cover a lot because of the time saved in travelling around. The resort is pretty decent - good swimming pool, a well equipped gym and in house restaurant and bar. The suites are decent in sized and per Marriott Vacation Resort standards. Service leaves a bit to be desired, especially when crowded. Valet is efficient but extremely expensive.
All in all, appropriate choice if you can spend the extra $$$$,

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Timber Lodge, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review of Marriott's Timber Lodge! We are happy you enjoyed your time with us and the close proximity to local attractions. We look forward to your next stay with us in South Lake Tahoe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Beware: Check in is 4 pm and check out is 10 am. Penalties if you check out after 11 am.

Also note $26 valet parking charge.

Clean. Good location.

"Super Taco" stand one block toward the Lake is a very good, quick, local alternative from the tourist restaurants on the Main Street.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Timber Lodge, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your review of Marriott's Timber Lodge. We apologize the check-in and out times did not meet your needs. The extra time allows our housekeeping team to service the villas, which are larger than your typical hotel room. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for staying with us on your trip to Lake Tahoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Lake Tahoe
0.1 mi away
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe
Marriott Grand Residence Club Ta...
#8 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 647 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#20 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#3 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#26 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 406 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
0.4 mi away
The Landing Resort & Spa
The Landing Resort & Spa
#1 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Timber Lodge

Address: 4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#15 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Timber Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 473
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Marriott's Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Timber Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Timber Hotel
Marriott Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Timber Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.