We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“INCREDIBLE location, great staff, great room...no cleaning service?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Timber Lodge

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Timber Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Marriott's Timber Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
los angeles
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“INCREDIBLE location, great staff, great room...no cleaning service?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This hotel is fantastic....great rooms, great property, adorable little village...

the concierge and staff were phenomenal and super friendly and patient and never gave the slightest hint that we were epically annoying, and I am sure we were.

My 18th mos old was obsessed with the cub's room and also running around the lobby, but no one ever complained or made a face, etc.

Great restaurant recommendations (we loved Riva Grill, check the review) and also help with planning our week during the offseason.

Very spacious room, comfy bed, my son loved the jacuzzi bath etc.

For me the real downer here (even though still giving 4 stars) is that we stayed on a timeshare exchange week...as we have done MANY times to MANY Marriott properties. This is the first time we did not get a free once-a-week maid service for the room....we were told the board of directors for the resort voted to eliminate this option and if you wanted cleaning service you had to pay for it (i think $26 per clean, but that is off the top of my head so I could be wrong). I just thought that was really lame...

Other than that, I have nothing but glowing things to say about this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    272
    181
    52
    27
    17
See reviews for
231
162
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
299 reviews 299 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We are Marriott Platinum Members and used points to stay in a one bed room suite. Very cozy with a fireplace and full kitchen. The sofa is another bed so it would be great for families. The bed was very comfortable. The staff was outstanding from the time we dropped our car to the time we left. The location is perfect and as mentioned the heavenly Gondola was closed until ski season starts. Easy walk to Harrahs and Harvey's although if you have any walking issues Harvey's is a little bit further away.
Be sure to take a few hours and drive around the lake. Go around clockwise so the lake is always on the right side.
There are lots of shops and a Starbucks near the hotel as well. Starbucks can be really crowded in the morning and we were there in the off season so plan accordingly.
Use the humidifier in the room as it was quite dry in November in the room. Excellent service and room made this stay outstanding!

Room Tip: We had a pool view and it was fine, Mountain view maybe better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

First off, what a great group of people working here.
My 8 bffs and I had fun every morning in the pool with all 3 water exercise teachers - we enjoyed their friendly nature to us. It is pleasant to see wonderful young women and men enjoying the beginning of their careers with the Marriot - they spoke VERY HIGHLY of working there.
When we pulled into the Timber Lodge-the valets completely unpacked the top of our vehicle and then when we left...BAM! our car was repacked in a minutes time. Although we were cramped, we still enjoyed each other's company.
....it would be nice to have NO SMOKING on premises....just sayin...

Room Tip: Our rooms were just perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

What a beautiful resort! We are visiting during the first week of November so the Gondola at Heavenly is closed for annual maintenance but we have a beautiful view of the mountain from our 1 bedroom suite in the Timber Lodge in the Alpine building. Our original reservation was incorrect so we spent one night in a "hotel room" at the lodge but even that wasn't torture...They fixed everything first thing the next day. The staff and service are absolutely amazing! We are enjoying the fireplace in our suite but will later be enjoying the fire pits down by Fire & Ice restaurant / bar. We've walked to Harrah's & Harvey's casinos, we're not really casino people, but enjoyed the people watching nonetheless. (Cabo Wabo...don't waste your time) We plan on enjoying the lunch cruise on the Bleu Wave Yacht but make sure if you want to do the dinner cruise that you book early as it's only available on Friday & Saturdays.. There are 4 hot tubs not to be missed at the resort...freezing air & 104degree tubs plus 84 degree pools are a great way to end the day! Kathleen at the concierge desk is a veritable cornucopia of info!! Eric & Tucker at the front desk have been very helpful also. There's so many things in walking distance...shopping, eats...(Mr. P's Pub right across the street serves amazing bloody marys!) Drive to the Tahoe Keys for oysters on the half shell at Fresh Ketch then take a short hike down to the lake. DO NOT miss the 19th floor dinner & view from Harvey's kitchen & cocktail bar!! The view is to die for!! We love Marriott properties & this one is no exception. Come here...Stay here..

Room Tip: Rooms w/ view of the mountain or view of pool area...higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Hotel is nice enough. Great pool, nice rooms, ok location. However, it's advertised as a non smoking property, but they have smoking areas set up by the pool and just outside the fitness center. Why should I have to walk by smokers and breath smoke to work out? Make this a true non smoking hotel and resort and get rid of smoking areas altogether.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W. Hartford, CT
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We are long term Marriott timeshare owners and this was our first visit to Timber Lodge. The location in Heavenly village is outstanding. It is so easy to walk out at lunch or dinner time and find something good to eat and/or do. Additionally, the Nevada border and the casinos are essentially across the street. In season, the lift is right outside the door. Accommodations were excellent per Marriott timeshare standards and the staff were the friendliest we have encountered in our travels. Valet parking was excellent. They always had our car out within five minutes with a call ahead. If you are not an owner, there is a charge for the service and the daily fee seems a bit high. The pool is outdoors but heated and there are four hot spas.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and I had stayed in South Lake Tahoe before, but this was our first time taking our 4 year old daughter so we decided to stay away from the casino resorts. We are actually owners at Marriott Timber Lodge but had never stayed (sold us on the place while we were staying at Harrah's). We are glad we finally did, though! We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit with full kitchen. We don't ski, and we come from a part of Texas that rarely ever sees snow. Our daughter had a blast playing in the snow in the morning and in the resort pool in the afternoon. The concierge service helped us setup a horse carriage ride and recommended places to go to just enjoy the scenery. The kids club was very nice to our girl, who kept asking to go back. The resort is an easy walk to many things. There is plenty of shopping and food, as well as the lake and casinos. And if you are a skier, the Heavenly Gondola is right outside the door to the hotel. A fun thing to do, just for a tremendous view. The Edgewood Tahoe Golf Course is about a mile away. A beautiful course!

As far as the room, we found it clean and quiet. Everything you can need for a short or long stay. There is a grocery store about a block or two away, so you can load up on groceries if you don't want to eat out every meal. The room did not seem dated to us as far as decor goes. Lodge style.

I would recommend the resort to anyone. I will say when I have been there in the heart of ski season it can be a little hectic, but I think that is common for most ski resorts. Not a flaw of the resorts. We have also been in the area in the shoulder season, and you almost feel like you have the run of the town. If you are looking to stay in South Lake Tahoe, you can't go wrong with the Marriott Timber Lodge.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front building will be a little noisier due to proximity to lobby, gondola entrance, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott's Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Timber Lodge

Also Known As:
Marriott`s Timber Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriott`s Timber Hotel
Marriotts Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Timber Hotel
Marriott Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Marriott
Address: 4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#10 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Top resorts Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Timber Lodge 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Marriott's Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Timber Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.