We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like home!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Timber Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Timber Lodge to your Saves list
Marriott's Timber Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 20%
Ranked #11 of 71 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Richmond, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Just like home!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was the first time we decided to stay at Marriott's Timber Lodge and we were surprised for the spacious room, and with all of the amenities like fireplace, complete kitchen and utensils, laundry, and the bathtub separated from the shower and bathroom, our daughter said: "it looks like home"! So, it made our trip even better since she was so happy! The best, very quite room!
Our only issue, was the long way to the exits, but it made it for a long indoors walking :-D.
And it is the Gondola to go to Heavenly, (since we missed it for one day, they closed on September till the skiing season) you just walk and voila there it is the entrance to the Gondola, and to the nice shopping area, theater movies, and so on...

Room Tip: If you are traveling with infants, and seniors you would prefer a room close to elevators and entran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    227
    70
    31
    18
See reviews for
293
202
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cameron Park, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We travel a lot and generally stay in resorts or highend establishments and the Timber Lodge is one of the best. We are loyal to Marriott and are rarely disappointed. As for this particular resort, it is one of the best we've stayed in. We have stayed here before and plan to do so again. We stayed in a 2-bedroom unit with a balcony overlooking the mountains that was more than large enough and everything was in first class condition. From the furnishings to the kitchen and baths, to the in-room laundry, it was a perfect stay.

The location is superb as it is right near Stateline and the casinos (if you want) and adjacent to the Heavenly Gondola if you want that service. Everything you could want to do is within walking distance including shops, movie theatres, etc.

Excellently maintained. What really impressed us was items like the dishwasher and laundry could barely be heard when running. The room has a gas fireplace which provided some heat and was aesthetically very pleasing. All necessary utensils and cooking implements were available. My wife used the fitness center and was satisfied. Although we don't have small children anymore, the activity room for the kids always appeared to be a happy place for those we saw in there.

I know some complain about the parking fee and that is an individual issue but there are nearby options such as parking in the casino lot and taking the short walk. In my opinion, the parking fee is not a reason to not experience this resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaysville, Utah
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This Hotel is actualy part of the Marriott vacation time shares. It is a very large facility. We visted in between the ski and summer seasons. The hotel was not crowed and clean. However alot of the local shops were not open. The room was clean, however not quiet. We could hear the people in the room adjacent to ours. Casinos within walking distance if interested. No self-park. Valet only. During the off season it took the Valets about 20 minutes to retrieve our car. Would hate to see how long it would take during peak season.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I didn't know quite what expect on arrival at Marriott's Timber Lodge, it felt like a timeshare type 'fully packaged holiday' sort of place. And it may well be. But this hotel is well located in the heart of Tahoe's tourist strip. I had a suite on the top floor, and it was fine. Built-in gas fire made it very cosy. The sprawl of the place makes getting around a bit like a maze, with the odd blind end.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bay, CA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here for a few days in October during fall break, we chose this hotel for the incredible off season rates. We met up with family and had 5 rooms overall. The front desk was very accommodating and placed us all together in one hall which was very convenient.

The Good:

There was plenty to keep us busy for a few days within walking distance. We walked to the casinos and the kids played at the Arcade, we really enjoyed the magic show "Illusion Fusion".

The pool was warm and there were 4 nice Hot Tubs.

For a 2 bedroom the room was smallish, reminded me of a Residence Inn 2 bedroom. At times we gathered our whole group into one living room to play games though and it worked.

The Bad:

Concierge: There was one lady working concierge who took several opportunities to be very rude. The hotel has a teen lounge and on the 2nd day I took the kids to concierge to request a key. They were unprepared and said the keys hadnt been made yet that morning (It was 2 or 3 PM) She was very annoyed with us for even asking. After several sighs she realized we weren't just going to leave so she began gathering the paperwork and then grumbled that she would have to print forms. Then she lectured the kids very rudely about how they were liable for everything in the room while in possesion of one of the keys even if someone else did the damage. She acted as if they had done something wrong already. She insisted that we should return the key as soon as possible to avoid that liability. She also mentioned that there are cameras in the room but again stated that even if the cameras see someone else doing damage, my teens would be liable. It went on for a long time, and I don't think I have ever been spoken to in that tone of voice.

As everyone has mentioned there is $26 per night charge for parking. I didnt really mind due to the incrdible price we got on the rooms, the Valets were excellent and super fast even when the place was very busy. Unfortunately the text for your car system was not working.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We took our 7-month old baby with us and stayed here for 4 days. The hotel provides crib and high chair. We also had room with full equipped kitchen so that we can prepare the baby food and our dinner by our self. It was the first time we travel with our baby and fortunately everything was fine and it was a pleasant experience while staying at this hotal. It would be perfect if the room had a balcony, though.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed 4 nights at the resort. We stayed in a studio which was good sized and came with dishes, plates, silverware, and cups. Cleaning services were great. Many daily activities if you choose to partake. Location was great with casinos, grocery store, and other activities close by. The elevators were a bit slow but not really a problem. Pool had lap lanes which was very nice. The workout room was awesome and had a steam room in the men's locker area. One HUGE complaint - $26.00 per night for parking! Park in the nearby casino lot and save yourselves some money. Aside from the parking, we had a great stay.

Room Tip: Parking price stinks. $26.00 per day is outrageous. Park,in the Harrah's casino lot and save y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Timber Lodge

Address: 4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Timber Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 473
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Marriott's Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Timber Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Timber Hotel
Marriott Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Timber Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.