We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and lodge!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Timber Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Timber Lodge to your Saves list
Marriott's Timber Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #12 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great location and lodge!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is a lovely lodge and the staff was very friendly. Great location next to the Heavenly Gondola, shops, Mini Golf, Starbucks, and restaurants. Also, you can walk across the stateline into Nevada where there are casinos and the Hard Rock Cafe (in Harvey's Casino). In and out service for your car (valet)--you can text them or call down--quick service.

Room Tip: The suites have a refrigerator, sink, and microwave. Nice pool area and fun center for children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    221
    69
    31
    18
See reviews for
280
198
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed here one night and wished I'd stayed more! The villas are amazing- include a full kitchen, living room, jetted deep tub and separate bathroom, as well as a washer and dryer! And all important air conditioning which was especially appreciated during the HOT week we were there. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful- especially Joseph who checked us in. It is conveniently located and there are lots of great meal options right near the hotel. Will definitely come here again- next time for a few days instead of just one! Having stayed at numerous hotels higher on the Trip Advisor list, I would put this one at the top!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We have stayed here at least 4 times. We've stayed at other South Lake Tahoe properties and this one is by far the best! You can't beat the location. The moment you walk into the lobby you feel like you're in a nice mountain resort. I agree Sunday check - in is chaos but I enjoyed the warm chocolate chip cookies and even small glasses of wine were being handed out to calm everyone's nerves. We hadn't see that touch before. The staff is so friendly at the front desk and at the concierge. We had to request some dishwasher soap and it was brought to our room immediately followed by a phone call from the front desk to make sure it arrived.

The rooms are kept in great condition. We love the size of the 2 bedroom/2 bath for a family of 4. The pool area is kept up with lots of fresh towels. There are so many activities available for all ages if you wish to do them.

We did learn on this trip if you ask the concierge for the parking pass to the Lakeside beach you'll get free admission to the beach which normally charges $5 per person. Great beach too! As a Marriott guest you also get discounts at the surrounding shops and restaurants which is a great perk.

After attending a nearby timeshare talk, it only confirmed that being a Marriott owner is the place to be!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We just got back from a four day stay at Marriott's Timber Lodge resort at Lake Tahoe. This beautiful resort is right down town South Lake Tahoe accessible to the casinos and right next to the Gondola. The staff was very accomodating and friendly although the slow check in on Sunday was a little unnerving. It seems they had over half of the resort was checking out the day we arrived and our rooms were not ready until nearly 6:00 pm. Hopefully this is just one of those days as we have stayed in several Marriott resorts and never experienced this kind of delay. Being from scorching South Texas we were ready for some mountain cool weather but we were not expecting highs of 57 F the first 2 days of our stay but the 3rd day was absolutely beautiful as we had hoped. I do recommend this resort for all travelers; families with kids will really enjoy all the activities at the resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed Monday through Friday here and loved every minute of it. Beautiful, clean room was newly remodeled, kitchen and bathroom had nice upgrades. Bathroom had lots of fluffy towels, shampoos, etc. and a nice hair dryer. Extremely comfortable, king-sized bed. Never heard a peep from neighboring rooms or the hallway. The heated pool and hot tub were the kids' favorites as well as the nicely appointed fitness room. Within walking distance of shops, restaurants, etc. Great stay!

Room Tip: We had a great room on the ground floor, located near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slatington, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed in a single room over looking the pool. Room was very clean and comfortable.Large bathroom with walk in shower.Hotel has an excellent location to within walking distance of shops,restaurants,and casinos.Staff was very friendly and helpful. Noticed activities geared towards children. Nice heated outdoor pool with plenty of chairs .Valet staff were very busy, but always gave us good service.Concierge was very helpful suggesting a beautiful drive around the lake with an easy hike to Eagle falls. Also at the top of her list was a sunset sail that offered some of the very best opportunities for spectacular pictures. I would come here again. My only negative comment was that our room was not ready at check in but they gave us a bottle of wine for our inconvience. I also was disappointed that there was not any restaurant on property.

Room Tip: Long hallways. If you need assistance with walking I suggest you choose a room near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Drove in directly from Yosemite NP. Checked in after 4pm with no problems. Staff was very friendly and personable. Valet used the old "no change" trick after I gave him a twenty. No problem, stiffed the same guy when checking out. Wife a four kids stayed in 2 bedroom suite overlooking pool. Room was basically a well appointed apartment. Clean and cozy. Beds were comfortable, kitchen area and in room laundry would have been perfect for longer stay. Location is perfect. Movie theater, miniature golf, restaurants, organic grocery store, coffee shops all within walking distance. Only complaint is the outrageous 10a.m. checkout. Basically don't come until 4pm, then get the heck out by 10!! Nevertheless, if you roll with a big crew like I do, this location is perfect.

Room Tip: Base Camp Pizza was Awesome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Timber Lodge

Address: 4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Timber Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 473
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Timber Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Timber Hotel
Marriott Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Timber Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.