We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Timber Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Timber Lodge to your Saves list
Marriott's Timber Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #12 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great for Families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Drove in directly from Yosemite NP. Checked in after 4pm with no problems. Staff was very friendly and personable. Valet used the old "no change" trick after I gave him a twenty. No problem, stiffed the same guy when checking out. Wife a four kids stayed in 2 bedroom suite overlooking pool. Room was basically a well appointed apartment. Clean and cozy. Beds were comfortable, kitchen area and in room laundry would have been perfect for longer stay. Location is perfect. Movie theater, miniature golf, restaurants, organic grocery store, coffee shops all within walking distance. Only complaint is the outrageous 10a.m. checkout. Basically don't come until 4pm, then get the heck out by 10!! Nevertheless, if you roll with a big crew like I do, this location is perfect.

Room Tip: Base Camp Pizza was Awesome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    221
    68
    31
    18
See reviews for
279
198
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We are platinum members and received an upgraded room which was a good size for two people. Room was clean, but we did not have a view of the Lake which was a bummer. All kitchen utensils were clean but there are no extras in terms of goods, no robes, no hair dryer etc. and we were surprised that there was no breakfast on site. I did yoga and used the gym which was great and the spa was very relaxing. My massage therapist was also very knowledgable and the price was fair for my services. You do have to pay $25 per day to park, which was surprising considering you can park for free just down the street. I would like to come back in the winter since the hotel is at the base of Heavenly mountain. We were told the property did not have a concierge lounge but then heard later it did. I don't know what makes the Timberland any different that the Residences but it seemed like the Residences had more amenities, however we were able to access them all easily with our room key. Overall the stay was average to good, but the Lake makes up for it all. Amazing place to visit. Hotel itself is better for families than couples.

Room Tip: Ask for the closest building, not the Alpine building. It took forever to get to our room from the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We are owners at other Marriott Vacation Club properties, and this was our very first visit to Tahoe. We had a 1 bdrm unit Based on recommendations from others, we requested a room in the main (Sierra) building, facing the pool and near the elevator. All these requests were met. I had also asked for a high floor and we were given a room on floor 3-- there are 5.
The pool view is nice as you can also see the mountains. The downside is that the noise level is very high. We expected pool noise, but the number families on site this week is very high so the noise is from shreaking children.
The pool and all 4 hot tubs were filled with kids from noon to the 10 pm close. This is great if you have/love kids. There are no other outdoor spaces to sit, relax and read. As mentioned by others, there are no balconies.
The staff from the valets to the front desk were friendly and helpful.
The property is close to shopping, casinos and entertainment.
The kitchen is pretty well stocked, though the largest saucepan was 6 cups--not sufficient for pasta and the strainer could only hold 2 cups.
The washer dryer set are efficient, quiet and easy to use. The rooms are a bit smaller than other Marriott time shares. A parking charge is so unusual at a time share. We see the $26 charge as excessive.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view room in the Alpine bldg if noise is a concern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed for 8 nights as a timeshare exchange and paid one night. June2-11 2013. The resort is spotlessly clean. Room was ready on time and very comfortable for 2 guests. I would not reccomend this unit for 4 guests. Too small. We were in a studio with king bed, pull out couch, small table, two chairs. Only enough silver and dishes for 2. Bar refrigerator. Fine for preparing breakfast or lunch. No cooking facilities except microwave. The location of the resort is right next to the Heavenly gondola. The gondola was closed until June 15. Nice to watch out the window as they did test runs on the gondola. I would reccommend staying in the Sierra Building, which is the building with the lobby and services. Heavenly Village is the shopping area between the Timber Lodge and Marriott Gran Residence hotel. Nice shops and places to eat all in walking distance. Casinos also easy walking distance. All over great trip. Would definitely stay here again. Very pleased!

Room Tip: Sierra building. Gondola view was nice looking over the village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We have stayed in South Lake Tahoe 3 times for our annual family ski trip to the US, and you cannot beat the Timber Lodge for its location to the Heavenly Gondola.
For skiers, they have a valet service for you skis, which means you dont have to worry about storing your kit in your room, or even carrying them upstairs after a hard day on the slopes.
We have always stayed one of the timeshare units that is meant to sleep 8, but realistically, because of storage, furniture and kitchenware, its pretty obvious that they never cater for more than 6.
I usually take the lock off room, which has its own kitchenette, double bed and sofa bed, but again, the size of that wouldnt make for a comfortable stay for more than 2 people, desptie apparently being able to accomodate 4.
We tend to eat in rather than go out, and we usually find that the kitchen is missing a few items that we would deem essential like peelers, large cooking pots etc- the front desk have always been able to assist with finding us these 'missing' items when asked.
The pool and spas outside are great to have, although the pool could have been a little warmer in the winter. Plenty of pool towels available down there too.
Free wifi to unlimited devices is also a plus, as it the free valet parking.
Also, on sundays they have free freshly baked cookies in the lobby presumably for people waiting to check-in- a nice touch especially for the hoards of children running around.
We always end up waiting around to check-in, this year we arrived at around 3pm and couldnt get into our until until 6pm, despite requesting an early check-in time. We have emailed ahead in the past to advise of arrival time, but this doesnt seem to make any difference- have a free cookie and some hot apple juice and take a walk around the shops.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room adjacent to the gondola as the start/stop buzzer tends to go off quite late an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We were at first concerned that this lodge was right on the strip with the casinos, but once you are inside the lodge that opens into Heavenly Village on the California side you can relax in the atmosphere of a busy but customer service -,oriented lodge. Highly recommend the hotel-sponsored Tahoe Rim hike with a guide but only if you are fit. There is a 1/2 mile walk to a lovely, private beach (ask for a pass from the hotel) and a nice beachy restaurant serving up organic sales and gourmet burgers -- pricey but worth it with the beach atmosphere on a warm weather day. Good fitness center and the spa next door at the Grand Residence is not luxurious but they are skilled at massages and friendly -- not stuffy. The Tahoe Queen is a lovely though touristy cruise to Emerald Bay and you learn all the history --- like we are now the beneficiary of gorgeous Emerald Bay because someone could not pay their taxes so gave it to the state!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The only reason I come back to this hotel is because of it's location. The rooms are often in disrepair (missing lightbulbs, showerheads hanging, etc) and the service at the front desk is TERRIBLE. It seems as if the person who is helping me is always a trainee. Check out is at 10 am and IF they honor a late check out, it is a half hour, which usually they won't honor it. I can however, speak highly of the valet guys at this location. They are always friendly, fast and accomodating. Maybe we will have better luck with the Vacation Club next door.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Timber Lodge

Address: 4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Timber Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 473
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Timber Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Timber Hotel
Marriott Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Timber Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.