We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tahoe retreat in a great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Timber Lodge

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Timber Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Marriott's Timber Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tahoe retreat in a great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We were at first concerned that this lodge was right on the strip with the casinos, but once you are inside the lodge that opens into Heavenly Village on the California side you can relax in the atmosphere of a busy but customer service -,oriented lodge. Highly recommend the hotel-sponsored Tahoe Rim hike with a guide but only if you are fit. There is a 1/2 mile walk to a lovely, private beach (ask for a pass from the hotel) and a nice beachy restaurant serving up organic sales and gourmet burgers -- pricey but worth it with the beach atmosphere on a warm weather day. Good fitness center and the spa next door at the Grand Residence is not luxurious but they are skilled at massages and friendly -- not stuffy. The Tahoe Queen is a lovely though touristy cruise to Emerald Bay and you learn all the history --- like we are now the beneficiary of gorgeous Emerald Bay because someone could not pay their taxes so gave it to the state!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    272
    181
    52
    27
    17
See reviews for
231
162
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The only reason I come back to this hotel is because of it's location. The rooms are often in disrepair (missing lightbulbs, showerheads hanging, etc) and the service at the front desk is TERRIBLE. It seems as if the person who is helping me is always a trainee. Check out is at 10 am and IF they honor a late check out, it is a half hour, which usually they won't honor it. I can however, speak highly of the valet guys at this location. They are always friendly, fast and accomodating. Maybe we will have better luck with the Vacation Club next door.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed for 5 days and had a hard time finding the entrance to the Lodge every time. Poorly marked entrance. Once you find the entrance you are greated by very friendly and helpfull hotel staff. We had a very pleasant stay. The Lodge is clean. It may be newly remodeled . We were in a one bedroom that had a sleeper sofa in our room that was extreamly comfortable for our guests, 4 in. memory foam pad. The Lodge has a nice pool area, restaurant and bar.It is also located close to all the local shops and casinos.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a very long walk to the elevator. There are only 16 balcony rooms in the Lodge. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed at Vacation Club properties a number of times, we are so impressed with this one. The room is great and clean. The staff is friendly and helpful. The amenities of the hotel are great. We did the Monday morning organized hike and it was so worth it. Being in Heavenly Village is where you need to be and where all the greatness of South Tahoe happens.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marana, Arizona
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is a very nice resort and certainly worth visiting and returning to as well.

It is a bit hard to find (the signage is poor and the entrance is remarkably well hidden), but the valet service is outstanding. The staff is, as often is the case in a Marriott timeshare, quite friendly and helpful (although feel harassed by someone from the maintenance staff who kept on putting a note under our door hoping to do routine maintenance in our room during our stay--we've owned timeshares with Marriott and with a number of other companies for over three decades and that kind of work can--and should-- be done after the unit is vacated and before the next guests arrive).

The rooms were reasonably well appointed. No one with Marriott experience would find themselves lost here since the designs tend to be quite similar. The kitchen area was a bit crowded. It was awkward for two people to try to work in the area at the same time.

We were in the area at what proved to be an undesirable time. It was fairly chilly and so we didn't feel inclined to try out the heated pool or the hot tubs (very few guests did). Also, although the Heavenly Gondola is right next door, it wasn't running. That was disappointing. Apparently it did run during Memorial Day weekend, but wouldn't be running again until something like the end of June and then during the summer, skipping the fall, and returning in the winter.

The resort does have a very active program for kids and for teens. A definite plus for parents (and for kids and for teens as well!). We very much enjoyed a presentation by the leaders of Lake Tahoe Wildlife Care. It was for all ages and exceptionally well done on a truly wonderful program. The popcorn tasting experience wasn't overwhelming (you get to taste four different kinds of popcorn), but it was interesting.

The resort has its own restaurant (Fire and Ice) and there are a number of restaurants and shopping in the immediate area. Stateline, Nevada with four competing casinos, is just a block or two away so if you're interested in gambling and/or night life, it's right there for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, NorCal
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights here after Memorial day 2013 and it was wonderful. We had a very clean and spacious room. It was a suite with full kitchen, in room washer/dryer, two large flatscreen TV's with all of the standard cable channels plus free HBO and Starz.

The complex that houses the two Marriott hotels there has many different shops located in the plaza to browse though. Also, the Gondola to Heavenly is right outside the door so if you're a skier that's a huge bonus. The restaurants tended to be on the pricey side so we ate elsewhere so I can't say much about them.

Overall we loved the place and the location can't be beat (less than a 5 minute walk to the casino's if you're in to that). They have many activities for young kids, teenagers, and adults. This is a very kid friendly & pet location. WiFi is free but as with most hotels it's not really very fast. My cellphone's 4G seemed much faster (that may be location specific to your room so ymmv)...

I knocked off one star because $26 a day for mandatory valet parking is just way too much (be sure to factor $26 plus valet tips per day in to your cost of staying there). I understand charging for parking in locations where parking is constrained like Chicago, New York, or San Francisco, but Lake Tahoe at the end of May??? Come on...

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the inner core where the main entrance driveway is. No street noise and no crowd n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is a really nice Marriott property, certainly much better than one would expect for a timeshare property (though yes, the rooms are quite small). To my mind, what makes this hotel special is the service. Across the board it is uniformly exceptional - the front desk, the kids' club, the restaurant (Fire & Ice), the valet service, etc.
Your perspective of the location of the hotel depends on what you are looking for - it does not have Lake Views & is right on a busy road with not much of a view from the rooms. At a different time, these could have been negatives for me. However this time round with an infant & a toddler, we really appreciated its extremely convenient location with the Heavenly gondola going up the mountain literally from the hotel's back door and lots of food & entertainment options (including casinos) within a 5 minute walk. What also helps with the kids are their pools & hot tubs.
This was our first time in Tahoe and staying at the Timber Lodge allowed us to also get our bearings for the Tahoe area. So if we are looking for something more specific the next time (less populated, higher up in the mountains, lake views etc) we would know where to look.
However, something tells me that given our great experience at the Timber Lodge we would probably be back here!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott's Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Timber Lodge

Also Known As:
Marriott`s Timber Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriott`s Timber Hotel
Marriotts Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Timber Hotel
Marriott Lake Tahoe
Lake Tahoe Marriott
Address: 4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#10 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Timber Lodge 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Marriott's Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Timber Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.