We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Timber Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Timber Lodge to your Saves list
Marriott's Timber Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #12 of 71 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Davie, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Friendly Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed for 5 days and had a hard time finding the entrance to the Lodge every time. Poorly marked entrance. Once you find the entrance you are greated by very friendly and helpfull hotel staff. We had a very pleasant stay. The Lodge is clean. It may be newly remodeled . We were in a one bedroom that had a sleeper sofa in our room that was extreamly comfortable for our guests, 4 in. memory foam pad. The Lodge has a nice pool area, restaurant and bar.It is also located close to all the local shops and casinos.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a very long walk to the elevator. There are only 16 balcony rooms in the Lodge. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    239
    74
    32
    19
See reviews for
308
212
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Batavia, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed at Vacation Club properties a number of times, we are so impressed with this one. The room is great and clean. The staff is friendly and helpful. The amenities of the hotel are great. We did the Monday morning organized hike and it was so worth it. Being in Heavenly Village is where you need to be and where all the greatness of South Tahoe happens.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marana, Arizona
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
57 hotel reviews
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is a very nice resort and certainly worth visiting and returning to as well.

It is a bit hard to find (the signage is poor and the entrance is remarkably well hidden), but the valet service is outstanding. The staff is, as often is the case in a Marriott timeshare, quite friendly and helpful (although feel harassed by someone from the maintenance staff who kept on putting a note under our door hoping to do routine maintenance in our room during our stay--we've owned timeshares with Marriott and with a number of other companies for over three decades and that kind of work can--and should-- be done after the unit is vacated and before the next guests arrive).

The rooms were reasonably well appointed. No one with Marriott experience would find themselves lost here since the designs tend to be quite similar. The kitchen area was a bit crowded. It was awkward for two people to try to work in the area at the same time.

We were in the area at what proved to be an undesirable time. It was fairly chilly and so we didn't feel inclined to try out the heated pool or the hot tubs (very few guests did). Also, although the Heavenly Gondola is right next door, it wasn't running. That was disappointing. Apparently it did run during Memorial Day weekend, but wouldn't be running again until something like the end of June and then during the summer, skipping the fall, and returning in the winter.

The resort does have a very active program for kids and for teens. A definite plus for parents (and for kids and for teens as well!). We very much enjoyed a presentation by the leaders of Lake Tahoe Wildlife Care. It was for all ages and exceptionally well done on a truly wonderful program. The popcorn tasting experience wasn't overwhelming (you get to taste four different kinds of popcorn), but it was interesting.

The resort has its own restaurant (Fire and Ice) and there are a number of restaurants and shopping in the immediate area. Stateline, Nevada with four competing casinos, is just a block or two away so if you're interested in gambling and/or night life, it's right there for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, NorCal
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights here after Memorial day 2013 and it was wonderful. We had a very clean and spacious room. It was a suite with full kitchen, in room washer/dryer, two large flatscreen TV's with all of the standard cable channels plus free HBO and Starz.

The complex that houses the two Marriott hotels there has many different shops located in the plaza to browse though. Also, the Gondola to Heavenly is right outside the door so if you're a skier that's a huge bonus. The restaurants tended to be on the pricey side so we ate elsewhere so I can't say much about them.

Overall we loved the place and the location can't be beat (less than a 5 minute walk to the casino's if you're in to that). They have many activities for young kids, teenagers, and adults. This is a very kid friendly & pet location. WiFi is free but as with most hotels it's not really very fast. My cellphone's 4G seemed much faster (that may be location specific to your room so ymmv)...

I knocked off one star because $26 a day for mandatory valet parking is just way too much (be sure to factor $26 plus valet tips per day in to your cost of staying there). I understand charging for parking in locations where parking is constrained like Chicago, New York, or San Francisco, but Lake Tahoe at the end of May??? Come on...

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the inner core where the main entrance driveway is. No street noise and no crowd n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is a really nice Marriott property, certainly much better than one would expect for a timeshare property (though yes, the rooms are quite small). To my mind, what makes this hotel special is the service. Across the board it is uniformly exceptional - the front desk, the kids' club, the restaurant (Fire & Ice), the valet service, etc.
Your perspective of the location of the hotel depends on what you are looking for - it does not have Lake Views & is right on a busy road with not much of a view from the rooms. At a different time, these could have been negatives for me. However this time round with an infant & a toddler, we really appreciated its extremely convenient location with the Heavenly gondola going up the mountain literally from the hotel's back door and lots of food & entertainment options (including casinos) within a 5 minute walk. What also helps with the kids are their pools & hot tubs.
This was our first time in Tahoe and staying at the Timber Lodge allowed us to also get our bearings for the Tahoe area. So if we are looking for something more specific the next time (less populated, higher up in the mountains, lake views etc) we would know where to look.
However, something tells me that given our great experience at the Timber Lodge we would probably be back here!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
32 hotel reviews
413 helpful votes 413 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had our third stay at the Timberlodge in 4 or 5 years. It was an enjoyable stay in a roomy 1 BR suite. We had requested an upper floor facing the pool and they 100% met our request. In fact, we got a room with a balcony (albeit a bit small) which was enjoyable. This was the nicest room that we've had so far.

The pool temperature was very nice even though the air temperature was a bit chilly at times.

Our room was nicely appointed, looked pretty "fresh" and was clean. We were pleasantly surprised that the duvet/comforter was fiber filled. My wife has asthma and can't sleep with Marriott's typical down comforter. So the change was much appreciated.

The good things certainly outweighed the bad many times over. But for the sake of completeness and objectivity, I'll comment on the few negatives that had little effect on our overall enjoyment.

- At some of the Marriotts (Like Shadow Ridge) they are starting to supply more generous cereal bowls. But this Marriott still only stocks the small undersized bowls.
- There are no gas BBQ grills like most of the other Marriotts
- The on-site "Fire and Ice" Restaurant is kind of mediocre (IMHO), isn't as good as any other Mongolian restaurant that I have eaten at, and is a bit overpriced for an informal dinner. If they are busy, be prepared for minimal service and possibly over-cooked food

There are a lot of activities but most activities seem to cost $. Some activities were a bit chinzy - - at the popcorn sampling event (free) they were giving the tiniest little cups that were only half-filled. One of the popcorn types was sugar coated (like fruit loops) and I think that they gave me five pieces. I recall that they had a coffee tasting event and there was a $5 charge. Chips and Salsa was around $5. The one activity that I REALLY did like was the Brats, "beer and blues" - - it was informal, properly priced and quite enjoyable. I hope that it becomes a regular thing there.

Other pluses:
- the exercise room is well equipped and is ample in size. Very nice!
- the Marriott employees were very friendly and supportive
- our room was quiet at night when we wanted to sleep.

If you are a timeshare owner or exchanger, you don't have to pay the otherwise mandatory $16 or 18 (I forget which) daily parking fee. If you don't want to pay, you are advised not to park in the Rally shopping center as they will tow. But you can park in the huge Harrah's parking lot about a block away.

BTW, Rally's is a good grocery store a block south of the Marriott.
We ate at Mc P's one night and it was good, within walking distance and a good value
We carried out a Blue Dog Pizza (south 1 block in the Rally's center) and it was good and a good value.
We ate a meal at the Zephyr Cove restaurant. Good meal and good value. If you show your Marriott room card, they'll give you a 20% discount.

There is a new park within walking distance called the Van Sickle Bi-State park. Very good for hiking and nice alpine views. When we were there, they conducted a guided hike but I missed it (because we were given the wrong week's list of activites) so I went by myself at a different time.

If you find my review helpful, I would appreciate if you would let me know by clicking on the "helpful" button.

Room Tip: Upper floor facing pool to ensure that you don't overlook transit center or apartment parking to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had a wonderful week at the end of May just relaxing around the South Lake Tahoe area, and stayed at Timber Lodge. The situation was just perfect for relaxing around the hotel with everything you need within a short walk. Also did an outing each day (hiking, sightseeing, etc...) and likewise was convenient to everything. Clean, quiet and well run.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Marriott's Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Timber Lodge

Address: 4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#15 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Timber Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 473
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott's Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Timber Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Timber Hotel
Marriott Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Timber Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.