We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Photograph your car before you let them park it.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Timber Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Timber Lodge to your Saves list
Marriott's Timber Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #12 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
South Lake Tahoe, California
1 review
“Photograph your car before you let them park it.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stay at a lot of Marriotts. The central room is very small, furniture would not hold more than three and it is placed in an odd way. The couches and chairs are cheap and uncomfortable . Most important, photograph your car before you have them park it. Our car was damaged from scraping against a concrete post. It was a brand new car yet they claim they mark all body damage ahead of time and basically mark the entire car having damage so they claim they are not responible. Our car had a dent in the door and deep lacerations on the driver's side front corner in two days.

The air kicked on and off all night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    221
    69
    31
    18
See reviews for
280
198
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The websites about Lake Tahoe announced the snow season until the end of April/begin of March. When I checked in on the last week of april, the lady on the front desk told me that all the snow resorts had been closed for the season, two days ago.

Obviously that is not a hotel's fault, but she also told me that no snow resort was open. That was not true, because searching the internet, and asking the concierge, I figured that the Alpine Meadows was open.

Overall I had a great stay. The staff is extremely kind and friendly, the rooms are clean and quiet, the shower was good.

I had a terrible service in the pizzeria that is attached to the hotel, and parking costs $ 25 per day and there is no option of free parking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron Park, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

What a wonderful setting and resort. From the moment we got there, we were treated professionally. We got there at about 1 p.m. figuring our room wouldn't be ready as check in time is 4 p.m. The front desk took our number and said they would contact housekeeping about getting our room ready and then letting us know when it was. We went to lunch and at about 2 p.m. received a call that our room was ready. Check in was simple.

We had stayed before and expected to be ask about a timeshare presentation. Not a word or request. In fact, we were never bothered about any type of presentation.

The resort was wonderful. It had obviously undergone some freshening up as the paint and everything looked new. The accommodations (we were in a 1-bedroom) were first class with everything you need and modern. Kitchen was stocked adequately with everything we needed.
One of the best things is the in-room washer and dryer.

One of the most relaxing stays at any resort and the scenery was breathless with the clean air, still snow-capped sierra Nevada's, and the amenities of the resort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiangmai Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here for 7 days in the one bedroom condominium. Good location with the walking distance to the casinos and shopping area. The room was clean, and the bed was very comfortable. It was too bad that we have a very nice location on the Alpine building facing the swimming pool, but there was no balcony. This is a real wasted of the good view and location. The sofa in the living room had a very bad smell, even though it was not old, but the smell was unbearable. They need to change the dishes, they are old and cheap. There is a gym, with good exercise equipments and clean too. This is the first time we stayed in the timeshare property, so has not much to compare with another property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Having stayed next door at the sister resort the previous two years, The Grand Residences, I figured I'd give the Timber Lodge a try.

For all intents and purposes, it was the same experience. It's like comparing a Chevy and a GMC. One is just a tick higher than the other in terms of refinements and appointments, and in this case the Timber Lodge is the Chevy that just slightly lacks in what it's sibling brings to the table.

Having traveled to Lake Tahoe every season for the last 15 Yrs, It's still by far one of the nicest place to stay on the south shore, and in a perfect location at the base of Heavenly's newest gondola and village.

A 2 br condo for 6 nights ran about 3k, which isn't cheap, but as they say, it's location, location, location.

Even with that relatively great location, stocking up on groceries still needs to be done by car if you're buying supplies for a week's stay, as the grocery store, even though its in the plaza next door, is too far to schlep bags upon bags of food back.

The only real complaint was the location of the room. It was a bit of a hike from the lobby to the room,and there's no easy way to get there even with an entrance on either end of the building. AND, if you have ski or boarding gear you're taking back upstairs, it makes the walk all that much more daunting.

Would I stay here again? In a minute if for nothing else than the ski in ski out convenience, I'd just request a room that isn't a 5 minute journey from the lobby.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a week banked with our timeshare trading company and ended up trading for the Marriott Timber Lodge. It's smack dab in the middle of the shopping and restaurant area and Heavenly Gondolas, so within walking distance to all that and the casinos. They had a heated pool and about 5 hot tubs. Food and beverage service by the pool. A kids club for 4+yrs of age, then a teenage club, then a retreat for adult and all age activities. GREAT for the family - everything was great, the service and staff were friendly and helpful. The activities and pool area were great that we almost never left the property.

Room Tip: Rooms are built well enough that you don't hear a lot of noise from other areas and rooms. Soli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, FL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Visiting here in the "between" season for them. Skiing has finished and summer doesn't begin until the end of the month for them. The property is very nice with lots of activities for the kids and teens and adults can always walk a block to the casinos :-). Driving around the lake is beautiful and there are plenty of opportunities for walking and hiking. We were excited to be right next to the Heavenly Gondola, but unfortunately it is shut down until May 27th, that between thing again. Lots of little restaurants and shops and groceries within walking distance. Timber lodge villas and facilities are wonderful! Had a great time!

Room Tip: You really cannot go wrong with a room, although the mountain views are somewhat blocked by the surr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Timber Lodge

Address: 4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Timber Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 473
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Timber Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Timber Hotel
Marriott Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Timber Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.