We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriot Timber Lodge newly updated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Timber Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Timber Lodge to your Saves list
Marriott's Timber Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #12 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Brentwood, California
1 review
“Marriot Timber Lodge newly updated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Wonderful Trip the first weekend of November. Our 2 bedroom was lovely,updated With colorful fabrics and new stainless steel appliances. It was very sunny out and people were enjoying the heated pools and jacuzzis. The casinos were not crowded and it was easy to get into the restaurants...great trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the elevators on the third floor over looking the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    221
    69
    31
    18
See reviews for
280
198
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Loved the views and location of the Marriott Timber Lodge. The amenities are a little less quality than we are accustomed to with Marriott properties. The beds are very comfortable with the larger pillows that we love. The great room had a fireplace that my husband loved. Heated the place up too much for me. The balcony was off the master bedroom, so my husband couldn't have his wine there after I went to bed. The kitchen was nicely appointed as usual. The laundry was not in the condo but down the hall. While I am used to high efficiency washers and dryers at home, there were obviously others who did not have a clue how to work them. There were no instructions anywhere and someone had "goobered up" the dispensers with powder detergent and the machines were not cleaned. Ugh!
The location of the resort was lovely but we were told the Gondola would be available during our stay to go to top of mountain. That was not the case. The parks and the Gondola were closed because it was out of season. Wish the Marriott representative would have discouraged us from visiting at the end October. Nice restaurants nearby but little to do other than eat and drink. Scenery and Lake Tahoe were breathtaking! Took lots of pictures.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool can be noisey at night...people like to party in the hot tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

the marriot timber lodge is near a small village that has like starbucks,coldstone and places to by ski wear and a supermarket across the road and the gondola to heavenly ski resort location is better then excellent

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for business and was just blown away by how big and nice their one bedroom suite was. It is right in the middle of Heavenly Village and there are restaurants, shopping and groceries within easy walking distance. It is one block from the casinos if you are interested, and a world away when you are not. The hallways in the hotel are nice and wide, and room doors are heavy and well spaced apart. I never heard my neighbors at all. Would definitely stay here again for business or family/couples travel. Super easy access to Heavenly Gondolas right out the hotel back door.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Awesome Villas- truly a "wow" factor even for this burned out road-warrior! Right in the middle of everything! Steps away from the Heavenly Gondola's. Steps away from top rated restaurants at multiple price points (thanks Yelp!) and a block from the casinos. The design of the place was interesting and not very "big box" looking from the outside. Inside we found new everything, warm and genuine service, very clean facility and FOUR jacuzzis. An absolute must!

Very family friendly with a Teen Clubroom and a Kids Playhouse both with a full activity schedule. The pool and multiple jacuzzis were heated year round and well used.

My only tiny gripe would be the schizophrenic interior design in the lobby and main hallway leading to the main elevators. Is this a posh lodge in the woods or a modern disco? It was as if they let their design interns loose and nobody bothered to check back. Felt accidental. Beyond that- the rooms/ Villas more than make up for these visual blunders!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Top Contributor
381 reviews 381 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at Timber Lodge for a long weekend and generally enjoyed ourselves. We had a one-bedroom suite on the top floor of the Alpine building. The room was slightly oddly shaped based on its location in the building, but was more than adequate. All of the equipment worked and we used several of the kitchen appliances. The room had a gas fireplace which added some nice winter feel.

The Timber Lodge is the larger of the two Marriott time share properties (which are right next to each other, separated by the gondola that goes up the mountain). The property doesn't have a lot of character. Few of the rooms have a lake view. The lake is 4 or 5 blocks away. I suspect that some of the rooms on the back of the Alpine building have good mountain views.

Timber Lodge does have one restaurant on site. We didn't try it, though it seemed to be doing a good business. The property also has a sizable fitness facility and a good range of activities. The handout with activities was thoughtfully divided between family activities and adult activities.

Timber Lodge is in the middle of the strip of businesses, hotels, and restaurants right on the state line, so its easy to walk to the casinos. It's also quite easy to park at the free parking lots at the casinos and avoid the $26 a day valet for the Timber Lodge.

The pools at Timber Lodge are heated through the winter, so visiting the pool with snow on the ground is possible and, arguably, encouraged since they put out pool towels each day on the lounge chairs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

If you are choosing between timber lodge and grand residence, STAY AT GRAND RESIDENCE! If you have status with Marriott, don't expect any of that to matter at timber lodge. My wife, myself and 9 month daughter were forced to check out by 10am. When I asked for a late check out, I was told I must do this the day prior. I have been staying at Marriott properties for over 10 years, I always have requested and been granted late checkout the day of. After being told to checkout, I requested a bellman to assist with luggage. After an hour, no one showed. I left this hotel and stayed the next night at the grand residence with a completely better experience. At around 2:30 pm my wife and I realized we had forgotten a couple of items in the room at timber lodge. We returned to timber lodge to find that the items were still located in the room....meaning the room still hasn't been cleaned. Um, why was late checkout a problem?

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Timber Lodge

Address: 4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Timber Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 473
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Timber Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Timber Hotel
Marriott Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Timber Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.