We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big resort with plusses and minuses” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Timber Lodge

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Timber Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott's Timber Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 25%
Ranked #12 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Irvine, CA
Top Contributor
329 reviews 329 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Big resort with plusses and minuses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at Timber Lodge for a long weekend and generally enjoyed ourselves. We had a one-bedroom suite on the top floor of the Alpine building. The room was slightly oddly shaped based on its location in the building, but was more than adequate. All of the equipment worked and we used several of the kitchen appliances. The room had a gas fireplace which added some nice winter feel.

The Timber Lodge is the larger of the two Marriott time share properties (which are right next to each other, separated by the gondola that goes up the mountain). The property doesn't have a lot of character. Few of the rooms have a lake view. The lake is 4 or 5 blocks away. I suspect that some of the rooms on the back of the Alpine building have good mountain views.

Timber Lodge does have one restaurant on site. We didn't try it, though it seemed to be doing a good business. The property also has a sizable fitness facility and a good range of activities. The handout with activities was thoughtfully divided between family activities and adult activities.

Timber Lodge is in the middle of the strip of businesses, hotels, and restaurants right on the state line, so its easy to walk to the casinos. It's also quite easy to park at the free parking lots at the casinos and avoid the $26 a day valet for the Timber Lodge.

The pools at Timber Lodge are heated through the winter, so visiting the pool with snow on the ground is possible and, arguably, encouraged since they put out pool towels each day on the lounge chairs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    292
    203
    58
    30
    18
See reviews for
260
175
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

If you are choosing between timber lodge and grand residence, STAY AT GRAND RESIDENCE! If you have status with Marriott, don't expect any of that to matter at timber lodge. My wife, myself and 9 month daughter were forced to check out by 10am. When I asked for a late check out, I was told I must do this the day prior. I have been staying at Marriott properties for over 10 years, I always have requested and been granted late checkout the day of. After being told to checkout, I requested a bellman to assist with luggage. After an hour, no one showed. I left this hotel and stayed the next night at the grand residence with a completely better experience. At around 2:30 pm my wife and I realized we had forgotten a couple of items in the room at timber lodge. We returned to timber lodge to find that the items were still located in the room....meaning the room still hasn't been cleaned. Um, why was late checkout a problem?

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Traveled to Lake Tahoe in Feb. of 2011 to ski and vacation with friends. We loved the coziness of the Timberlake lodge. We had a little villa room that looked out at the mountains. The sidewalks are heated so the snow melts and you have good access to walking around the streets. If you go down to State Line, you can actually have one foot in Nevada and one in California! You can ski Heavenly which is right out the door or you can travel to the awesome Squaw Valley to ski where the Olympians did! Make sure you go to Fire/Ice right next door - great little bar and restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

At booking I thought this was a hotel but it looks more like a time share if that makes any difference. Of cource the rooms are not really rooms they are "Villas". Never mind all, that the location is excellent just one block from the Nevada state line (and all the fun there) in South Lake Tahoe, California. Our "Villa" was small - rather like a standard hotel room but very clean and comfortable. The restaurant is only open for lunch and dinner and is rather small and anything but intimate. There are good places for coffee and full breakfasts near by. It is virtually at the starting point of the rather new Gondola lift to the mountain top. A good location and acceptable value

Room Tip: Don't let the front desk staff tell you there is an excellent mountain view from the back rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed the first week of October 2012. The rooms were being remodeled, to kind of a stuffy feel - rich for my taste, not like the ones you seen in the photos. The room amenities were great, complete kitchen, washer and dryer, large shower and jetted tub. The location is right in the center of it all. I had a conference at the Harrahs throughout the week, the family had more than enough to do within walking distance. The resort is clean, comfortable and the staff very friendly. My only complaint was none of the room service staff spoke English, so asking for some extra towels came difficult.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our first visit to S. Lake Tahoe .... stayed at Marriott Timber Lodge for two nights as a guest -- the "hotel" is basically a time share/interval ownership resort. The room was very nice - small refrigerator, microwave, table, chairs, great bed - good love seat (possibly a sofa bed) .....
part of "Heavenly" ski resort. It was more than adequate for two nights - cannot see staying for a week of skiing even though the gondola is right outside the door. South Lake Tahoe in general was disappointing as it seemed very tacky compared to other ski resorts we have visited in Wyoming, Montana, Vermont, New Hampshire and Europe.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife and I traded our timeshare into the Marriott Timber Lodge in South Lake Tahoe for an October vacation by ourselves, now that the twin sons are in college. The hotel was perfect in every way, with the one exception of not having a balcony, which I personally enjoy. The pool is heated and they have 4 hot tubs which we enjoyed daily during our stay. It is on the California side of stateline, so no smoking is allowed inside but only at certain areas outside, and not in the pool area. We had a one bedroom unit which was per the Marriott standards, nice sized kitchen w/ granite counters, fireplace, jacuzzi tub in master bedroom, very nice. The fitness center is well outfitted with both cardiac and strength equipment. As a timeshare owner we were not charged the parking fees, which we appreciated as it's $26 bucks per day, and there really are not any other options. Every employee here could not be more friendly and helpful, the valet service works very well, you call down to get your car before you get down there, however it can be quite busy at times. We had a ground floor unit which made it easier not having to deal with elevators during our stay. All the entertainment anyone could want is within walking distance, we truly enjoyed our stay and would return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Timber Lodge

Address: 4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Timber Lodge 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Marriott's Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Timber Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Timber Hotel
Marriott Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Timber Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.