We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel or Time share?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Timber Lodge

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Timber Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott's Timber Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 25%
Ranked #11 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Hotel or Time share?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

At booking I thought this was a hotel but it looks more like a time share if that makes any difference. Of cource the rooms are not really rooms they are "Villas". Never mind all, that the location is excellent just one block from the Nevada state line (and all the fun there) in South Lake Tahoe, California. Our "Villa" was small - rather like a standard hotel room but very clean and comfortable. The restaurant is only open for lunch and dinner and is rather small and anything but intimate. There are good places for coffee and full breakfasts near by. It is virtually at the starting point of the rather new Gondola lift to the mountain top. A good location and acceptable value

Room Tip: Don't let the front desk staff tell you there is an excellent mountain view from the back rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    211
    60
    30
    18
See reviews for
268
183
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed the first week of October 2012. The rooms were being remodeled, to kind of a stuffy feel - rich for my taste, not like the ones you seen in the photos. The room amenities were great, complete kitchen, washer and dryer, large shower and jetted tub. The location is right in the center of it all. I had a conference at the Harrahs throughout the week, the family had more than enough to do within walking distance. The resort is clean, comfortable and the staff very friendly. My only complaint was none of the room service staff spoke English, so asking for some extra towels came difficult.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our first visit to S. Lake Tahoe .... stayed at Marriott Timber Lodge for two nights as a guest -- the "hotel" is basically a time share/interval ownership resort. The room was very nice - small refrigerator, microwave, table, chairs, great bed - good love seat (possibly a sofa bed) .....
part of "Heavenly" ski resort. It was more than adequate for two nights - cannot see staying for a week of skiing even though the gondola is right outside the door. South Lake Tahoe in general was disappointing as it seemed very tacky compared to other ski resorts we have visited in Wyoming, Montana, Vermont, New Hampshire and Europe.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife and I traded our timeshare into the Marriott Timber Lodge in South Lake Tahoe for an October vacation by ourselves, now that the twin sons are in college. The hotel was perfect in every way, with the one exception of not having a balcony, which I personally enjoy. The pool is heated and they have 4 hot tubs which we enjoyed daily during our stay. It is on the California side of stateline, so no smoking is allowed inside but only at certain areas outside, and not in the pool area. We had a one bedroom unit which was per the Marriott standards, nice sized kitchen w/ granite counters, fireplace, jacuzzi tub in master bedroom, very nice. The fitness center is well outfitted with both cardiac and strength equipment. As a timeshare owner we were not charged the parking fees, which we appreciated as it's $26 bucks per day, and there really are not any other options. Every employee here could not be more friendly and helpful, the valet service works very well, you call down to get your car before you get down there, however it can be quite busy at times. We had a ground floor unit which made it easier not having to deal with elevators during our stay. All the entertainment anyone could want is within walking distance, we truly enjoyed our stay and would return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a family vacation. Everything about this hotel is great. We really couldn't complain about anything. The hotel and the rooms are really nice. The hotel location is right on Lake Tahoe Blvd, close to shops and the famous Gondola. The service here is impeccable, everyone was very helpful and courteous. We especially enjoyed the heated pool and the hot tub.
We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We've not been to that many Marriott time-share facilities but this one was the best we've seen. The bedroom was isolated by convenient doors to the livingroom/kitchen and bathroom. A late sleeper would not be disturbed by an early riser, a great convenience!
The kitchen area was superbly equipped with an excellent fridge, stove top, microwave, toaster, dishwasher, and even a disposal unit. Aware of the low humidity in the Tahoe area, Marriott provided a good vaporizer.
The only drawbacks to this excellent facility were the long walk to the room and the location on busy South Lake Tahoe Blvd.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinon Hills
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had a 2 bed/2 bath on the 5th floor in the Alpine building. Check in was a breeze and all staff was super friendly and extremely helpful. Since we were owners the daily valet fee was waived for first vehicle. The temperature was between 72 to 78. Lodge is right next to Gondola, shops and places to eat. The pool was very large and had four hot tubs. Walking distance to market,starbucks and hiking trails. We drove around the lake, must see Emerald Bay and Sand Harbor!! One thing, our room had no balcony, but with the beautiful location we didn't miss it. We will definitely will come back.

Room Tip: Alpine building was in the back, we had a nice view of pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Timber Lodge

Address: 4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#13 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Timber Lodge 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Marriott's Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Timber Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Timber Hotel
Marriott Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Timber Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.