We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Location next to the Gondola. Rooms are fine.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Timber Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Timber Lodge to your Saves list
Marriott's Timber Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #12 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
San Francisco Ca
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Amazing Location next to the Gondola. Rooms are fine.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed for one night at the Marriott Timber Lodge in South Lake Tahoe - on a Wednesday night turing ski /stake week in February 2012. First, the best part of this lodge is the location. It is literally steps from the Gondola. The trip was so easy because of their ease with the skiing aspects of the trip:

Gondola and ticket office right out the door
Valet parking that easily handled skis
Ski Check right next to the Gondola enterance free of charge for Hotel guests.

Valet parking is basically required. It is $24/day but seemed worth it in the end. Very easy. I did call to ensure that valet wasn't hourly. We came in around 10:00AM and left at 5:00PM the next evening (allowing for two days of skiing). The Valet was just the $24 price as they charge just for the number of overnight stays. So, we were just charged for one night in valet (sweet).

In the evening, the "village" offers a lot of options and there are many nearby restraurants - We walked down to Applebee's (boring I know but good for the kids). There are all the typical types of food nearby and it is a short walk to the casinos if you go the other way. We were able to avoid the casino area all together.

The hotels itself is very kid friendly. It is part of Marriott's vacation club, so if anything, it is a little too friendly. The room was a bit boring/sterile. There were a lot of children in the pool / spa area (we have 7 and 9 year olds so we were part of that). We didn't have any problems with noise in the room or neighbors but it could be because we had a cleaning closet on one side of our room. There were activities for the kids if we wanted including day care/evening care. We didn't use any of these but they were available to us even as just hotel guests.

Overall it was a very comfortable stay. it wasn't as high end as I would have expected for the price, but the location is what you are paying for. The overall stay was very easy for the whole family (and the skiing was great!)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    221
    69
    31
    18
See reviews for
280
198
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed on a 4 day/3 night package - we are Marriott owners at two reseorts within the Vacation Club, but not at Timber Lodge. We are not skiers, but its location so close to the slopes make it a very desirable location. After reading other Tripadvisor reviews, we knew not to park at the hotel, but instead, parked along the back fence near the casino. This was free, but was rather a long walk. As Marriott owners, we were upgraded from a studio to a 1-bedroom, which was very nice for the two of us. Our room overlooked the pool and the mountains, and was a beautiful view. The timeshare is in a good location, even if not sking. Right in the middle of town, with several restaurants and and the casino within walking distance. However, if one wants to explore the area, a car is a must.

Front Desk Staff: standard - nothing bad or especially good on our interactions

Lobby: Rustic looking and fits with the theme of the hotel

Hallways: We noticed a humid smell around the hallways, especially the first floor. Not sure if this is a problem with humidity from the pool area, but it was constant during our stay.

Room: Although the 1-bedroom is spacious for two people, the room has had better days and housekeeping needs to improve. Issues ranged form chips in the kitchen sink and shower tiles to dirty carpet and dusty TV screen.

We spent each night at the jacuzzi, which was a real treat. The setting is gorgeous around the jacuzzi.

We took the gondola right outside the hotel for a view of Lake Tahoe and walked around the ski area before descending. We drove the circuit around the lake and also took a boat on the lake. All three really wonderful ways to experience the area. During our de around the lake, we ate dinner at Lanza's (King's Beach) -- good filling Italian food, but not fancy by any means.

If not a skier or gambler, Lake Tahoe runs dry of activiies quickly. The four days was a perfect amount of time for us to spend in the area - any longer, and we would have been bored.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

we (4 of us) stayed 3 nights. were given a corner unit in the alpine building, room 7401. it was next to the elevator and stairs but we didn't hear them at all plus no one really uses the stairs. the unit has a different layout than most of the other units. the unit across the hall has a mirror image layout. think of an octagon and take a quarter of it but only one whole section plus half of adjacent sections is the best way i can describe it. there is a short hallway to get to the front door and this may seem strange but it also decreases noise from people walking to/from the elevators to the other rooms. The kitchen and living area share one section, the dining area uses another section and the large bedroom takes the third portion with the bathroom tucked in between. the one bedroom villas have approximately 800 - 835 square feet but this unit in my opinion has quite a bit more square feet. it overlooks the pool, the restaurant Fire and Ice as well as the gondola station. we utilized the kitchen for 2 meals so it got good use. the dishwasher on normal cycle takes forever unless we set it up incorrectly. did not like the heater for the living room area, found that using the electric fireplace did a better job at heating the room plus it was much quieter. of the 3 days we there it snowed one so we did have sub-freezing temps. nice to have washer/dryer. spa tub in bedroom. shower lacks shelf to put your shampoo/conditioner. front desk service was only used for check-in and check-out. people have already expounded on the parking cost. valets were all very nice. property is close enough to walk to Raley's supermarket. fitness center doesn't appear to be used by very many but is very good. the hot tubs are very popular even with some local ducks! would i stay here again? absolutely. it was a better deal than next door's embassy suites where i have stayed many times even without breakfast or happy hour. it also helps in getting a better price if you are a marriott rewards member.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We just got back from a week's stay at the Marriott Timber Lodge and loved it! Only downside we found was the lack of breakfast options in or at the lodge. You need to stock up your own fridge or walk to the local cafe each morning. Other than that, the lodge room, staff, and amenities were great. We had a short walk to the gondola each morning which took us up to the mountain at a juncture point where we could choose to ski on the NV side or the CA side. The restaurant "Fire and Ice" is right inside the lodge and has great food and entertainment value! Although we do not have children, we did see the amount of activities posted during each day for kids that don't ski and they even have supervised teen parties at night, pretty cool! We would definitely recommend this lodge for anyone who wants the convenience of home, the closeness to the gondola and the ability to relax in one of four hot tubs after a long day on the slopes:)

Room Tip: If you like to hit up the hot tub after a long day, get a room in the Alpine building with a mountai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa, Hawaii
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We are owners of president's week units at Timberlodge and utilize them every couple of years. Every time the experience is variable to the point that we face the visits with a bit of trepidation. Once again, management seems to have changed, and the service is lackluster at best. While the front desk is courteous and knowledgeable they are overwhelmed to the point of never answering the phone - one has to go physically to the desk to ask for simple items like soap.

The furnishings are shabby and the mattresses the WORST we've ever slept on. Small things kept going wrong - washer and dryer didn't work, internet constantly had to be reset, tv remote out of batteries, elevator key system failed 3 out of the 4 days we were there (not fun climbing 4 flights of stairs in ski boots)
.
The good things? Great location. Ski concierge.

We have several other marriott properties and know what the marriott quality level should be. Timber Lodge falls short.

Room Tip: be nice to the rooms controller - he's a gem
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Pluses:
+ Gondola to Heavenly Ski Resort is 10 feet from hotel lobby
+ Property in very good condition, almost new
+ Huge outdoor heated pool and hot tubs, perfectly useable even in cold weather
+ Extensive gym with many weight machines as well as cardio (though no rowing machine)
+ Good concierge and front desk service
+ Half a block from stateline casinos
+ Plenty of shopping in immediate area, including 5 minute walk to Raley's full supermarket
+ Full service kitchen in suite allowed us to cook a full elaborate meal for dinner
+ Lots of cable TV channels provided free, including premium channels

Minuses:
- Restaurants in immediate walking distance were extremely expensive: Fire and Ice restaurant was $30 per person with long waits; try to cook for yourself in suite if you have a kitchen
- Keys to room kept on being wiped out magnetically

Room Tip: Three bedroom suites are huge; find a room overlooking pool if you can. Beware that if you get a tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We stayed here for a family ski vacation. To get on the gondola each morning, all you had to do was walk out the doors of the hotel and you're at the gondola. So convenient! Great hotel, excellent staff, perfect location.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Timber Lodge

Address: 4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#14 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Timber Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 473
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Timber Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Timber Hotel
Marriott Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Timber Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.