We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious suite at base of heavenly ski lift” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Timber Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Timber Lodge to your Saves list
Marriott's Timber Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #12 of 71 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Spacious suite at base of heavenly ski lift”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed here for the second week of our honeymoon. When we arrived friendly staff sorted out our booking quickly and porters took our gear to our room. We had booked a one bedroom suite booked which we found (to our liking) to be enormous, with everything you need in the kitchen including a dishwasher and huge fridge, There was also a washing machine and tumble drier which is very useful on a skiing holiday. The room also had an electric fire, large spa bath and two large widescreen tv's.

An excellent view of the mountain was provided through the windows, fortunately only obscured by huge dumps of snow! Hotel had a ski valet right by the Heavenly Gondola which was very useful.

The only concern was the key cards for our room occasionally stopped working, and it was a fair distance from our room to the front desk when we had to walk all the way down to sort out.

Overall a great place to stay in Lake Tahoe,

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    239
    74
    32
    19
See reviews for
308
212
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Stayed here in August. In my opinion, this is the best property in South Lake Tahoe, if not the entire lake area. The hotel was spotless, staff friendly and helpful. Great, great location close to lots of of dining and a good number of shops. Hotel has their own beach access about a half mile from the resort. Wonderful kids center, daily activities, two concierge desks. Hot Tubs were wonderful on the chilly August nights, and the pool a welcome relief during the warm days.

Only drawback was the expense of parking and having to valet the car. I'm sure Marriott can line their wallets with this extra, unnecessary expense. $25/day is crazy.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We have been staying at the Marriott Timber Lodge for several years. The Timber Lodge has everything on site or nearby that we enjoy every year. The entire staff is always very helpful and goes out of their way to help us. The accomodaitons are very generous and improve every year. As long as we are able to travel, we plan on staying their at least once a year.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoover, Alabama
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

A fabulous destination demands fabulous accomodations. We were not disappointed at all in this property. Great location at the foot of the Heavenly Ski Lift, steps away from Nevada casinos and in the middle of some fun shopping. I wish we'd had more time to stay...like a couple of months. We tried to see everything we could while there. The lake is spectacular, and the drive around it worth every mile. CalNeva Resort is a hoot and a great mid-point for lunch. Yosemite IS NOT a day trip...we found out...but so worth the effort. The property itself is clean and family friendly (if you're into that sort of thing) and quiet enough if you're not. Great pool and hot tubs.

Room Tip: You can add another bedroom and bath to the standard suite making it perfect for two couples. No ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa,FL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

marriott timberlodge is the whole vacation package. location can't be beat. we stayed in corner room in Alpine bld. very large 2 bedroom suite looking out on gondola and Fire and Ice. A few steps away is shopping in Heavenly village and a block down street are casinos. Raleys food mart a short walk away. Beautiful pool. room was fully stocked and clean. we called down for extra pillow, cutting board and they make it a point to deliver whatever you ask for in 20 min. they even called room to check that item arrived.we ate at The Brewery (hamburgers abd bbq) and Freshies (teryaki chicken, everything organic) and both were good. took Tahoe Queen boat tour and that was very enjoyable as well although they could update their narration and not be so repetitive. but tour did give gorgeous views of lake, mountains and Emerald bay. i would definitely recommend Timberlodge.

Room Tip: request corner unit or balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
131 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed for a week last April and liked it so much we returned for another week. We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa and it was immaculate. The furnishings are new and in great condition. The beds are so comfy and the full kitchen is wonderful, especially if you are traveling with a family. We think the rooms are fairly quiet, as we didn't hear our neighbors and the hotel was quite full. For those that complained about no onsite restaurant, there are several restaurants and a coffee shop on site, and within the complex, and a grocery store across the street. There's also a movie theatre, ice cream shop, and several retail shops. There are some chain establishments within walking distance, like Applebee's, sub shop, etc. Of course, the most convenient thing about the hotel is that it is at the base of Heavenly. You literally walk out of your room and onto the chairlifts. The valet parking service is a bit pricey. It's waived for owners. I found most of them very helpful. One gentleman even helped me load a cart with about 10 grocery bags. Also, they are always patient when loading and unloading kids and our truckloads of stuff! There is a kids activity center, which is really nice. We did arts and crafts on several occasions and the staff was very nice. The lobby staff handed out cookies on some afternoons. The pools are large, clean and heated, thankfully. There are also several (4-5) small hot tubs. The housekeeping staff was good, replacing items quickly when we called. I really cannot think of anything negative to say about this hotel. We love staying here. Our kids had a great time. We will be back again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We recently spent one night at this Marriott and it was great. The staff was very friendly. They helped us mail a package and answered all our questions. The rooms were very clean and smelled wonderful. The bed was very comfortable. I wish we would of been able to stay at this hotel longer. They offered activities for the kids every day, like there was an ice cream social in the lobby the day we got there. We were walking distance to a grocery store, shopping and restaurants. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Marriott's Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Timber Lodge

Address: 4100 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#15 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Timber Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 473
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott's Timber Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Timber Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Lake Tahoe
Marriotts Timber Hotel
Marriott Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Timber Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.