We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I had a great, easy-on-the-budget time here.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe to your Saves list
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4083 Cedar Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Viking Motor Lodge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$10 off room rate
Ranked #31 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tbilisi, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“I had a great, easy-on-the-budget time here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was initially suspicious of this place due to the outrageously low prices quoted for the rooms. Straight to the point: I found nothing but good things during my stay here, and the low room rates are for real.

I spent 5 nights here in late October. I booked the room that is pictured on its website: King Kitchenette with gas fireplace for heat. It's a great room at a great price (less than $50 weeknights, $70s weekends. The cheaper rooms are all mixed together with the other type rooms and they looked just fine to me.

Breakfast is cheap hotel continental, but it's nice considering it's included in the budget rate. I especially appreciated the laundry room, since I was staying for nearly a week.

Close to a nice Beach, which closes in mid Fall. Also good location for strolls up to the 'happening' places.

I'd definitely stay here again, it's a great way to save money in order to afford other aspects of your vacation.

Room Tip: The bumpkin staying above me on my first night apparently likes to do Zumba late at night with clogs...
See more room tips
Green Features: Smoking area outside with picnic tables. Recycling containers noted.
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, General Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi,

Thank you for your nice review and support.

Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    115
    40
    22
    19
See reviews for
71
115
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington state
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for 4 nights. Great location and the price was right. Nothing fancy for sure but it had a comfortable bed, a awesome shower with great water pressure and a clean room. Yes it was a little dated but we didn't spend much time in our room. The staff was nice and helpful. Why would you want to stay at Harveys or Harrahs when you could stay here or a number of other places for a lot less.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, General Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hi,

Thank you very much for your business and support!

Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights. The rooms were older, but clean and charming. The location was great (the area was a bunch of motor lodges like this one and was a very quiet and peaceful area). Free breakfast, which is a plus. And they had a selection of books in the room which isn't something I've seen before but think is a great idea. Still have CRT televisions which is a bit strange, but it worked even though we turned on the TV for a whole 20 minutes. The room was spacious and clean (like I said) and the location was right. For the price we paid, we were very satisfied.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, General Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hi,

Thank you for your review and your business. We are very pleased to know your comments.

Please come back soon.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We booked a room here for October 18th 2014 for the Styx concert a month in advance. When we showed up we found out that the queen size bed was a full size as well as a shower versus a bath. The room was old and disgusting. I asked the manager ( the worst manager ever). I asked for a room with a bath tub and queen size bed. The man ( wish I knew his name) advised that he didn't have any other rooms available. He also claimed that the full size bed was a queen. My BF and I knew better so we took pictures. He advised that he would not return my money that I would need to call Booking.com so I did and I spoke with a gal ( Susan) and she was absolutely no help at all. I advised that we were going somewhere else to stay. I tried to get a statement from the so called manager that I requested another room as they would not accommodate us.
( Basically gave us a different room then what we had booked). He said no, that he was charging me and he claimed to call the police for trespassing? I informed him that I was calling my Credit card company to dispute and I wasn't going to pay for a room that I didn't book. The absolute worse customer service I have ever experienced. We ended up staying at an awesome place called Doc's cottages just a couple blocks down the road. Paid $50.00 more however, well worth it! We will definitely stay at Docs cottages again! It was like night and day! Big Pines manager claim that they were booked and didn't have any other rooms? However, they charged my CC anyways as I can almost guarantee that they rented that same room after we left. The heated pool was also closed as I was informed it had just closed that day as well. False advertising, awful rooms, bad service! They definitely do not care about customer satisfaction !!! DON'T STAY AT BIG PINES PAY EXTRA TO BE HAPPY!Definitely not friendly the manager claimed to have called the police for trespassing? However, he advised that he was still charging me for the room that I refused to stay in? He also told me I was psycho as I only wanted a statement showing I refused the room due to it wasn't what we booked. Will get photos of the room up soon. The absolute worse customer service I have ever experienced.

Room Tip: Never stayed due to unhappy with the room. The room was not what we booked. False advertising. Manag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

I chose this hotel for the location, which is great. The hotel itself was okay, it was very cheap for Lake Tahoe and you get what you pay for. If travelling on a budget this place is decent and clean enough.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, General Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to get us a review.

We truly appreciate your feedback and support.

Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Love the short walk to Harvey's casino. The gondola and shops are just across the street. If you go to the beach it's a few blocks away. Better to walk there as they charge for parking. The motel is an older building that could use a facelift of the exterior the dark green paint and all. Smoking area at front could use a real lawn and not the fake grass. As for a repeat visit I would return but may want to try a few more motels in this class and price range. Price was reasonable and rooms clean with comfy beds. Wonderful location.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, General Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Hi Rebecca,

Thank you for your business and support.

We will keep improving our Hotel until we get your total satisfaction, we appreciate your feedback.

Thanks again!

Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savage, Minnesota, United States
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

This is a superb value hotel, only a block or two from the main casinos. Very quiet area. Comfy beds with nice pillows. Our room had a great gas fireplace, table/chairs, dorm size refrig, microwave, coffee pot/tea, large closet area, and great bathroom (filled with great organic bath products) with nice towels. I was very impressed with this hotel for the price!

Also, there is a continental breakfast each morning. In the lobby area is a computer and printer so you can print boarding passes.

Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, General Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Hi Lynn,

Thank you, thank you, thank you....

Please come back soon!

Cordially,
Ruben Z
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe

Address: 4083 Cedar Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Viking Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Pines Mountain House is conveniently located in the center of South Lake Tahoe, within walking distance to major attractions - Heavenly Ski resort, the casinos and the Lake itself. We offer clean, comfortable and affordable rooms. Free wi-fi, complimentary breakfast, heated seasonal pool and the location make us the best value in town. Do not leave your pets behind, we will be happy to accept them in our hotel. Come visit us! Our friendly staff is always here to help you to make your Tahoe getaway simply fun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Pines Mountain House Of Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Big Pines Mountain Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.