We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annual Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe to your Saves list
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4083 Cedar Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Viking Motor Lodge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$10 off room rate
Ranked #30 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gillette, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Annual Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Every year we choose a different place to stay on our annual visit, this year it was here at Big Pines... Good location and within walking distance of whatever you are looking for. Was a little disappointed to find out that we had some kind of beach access (found out by other reviews) and were never told about it. Nice rooms and pleasant staff, also was never told about the breakfast that was served each morning, not that we would have chosen it, but it would have been nice to know about. I think that the pet area should be moved to a different location as dogs barked at us each day on our walks past this area.

Room Tip: would recommend you choose a top floor room, sounded as though the people upstairs we dancing or run...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Guest Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hi,

Thank you very much for your support. We truly appreciate your feedback, people like you make us think outside the box.

Please come back soon!

Thank again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    117
    40
    22
    19
See reviews for
71
117
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Big Pines is within walking distance of the casinos, but in a quiet neighborhood off the main road. The rooms are dated but clean and comfortable. Only little complaint is that the bath towels are the really thin kind that don't dry you. The fromt desk staff is friendly and the breakfast includes oatmeal in a crockpot and yogurt with granola. Bagels are the only bread choice and there's no fruit (unless you count the raisins for the oatmeal). Nice place for a couple of nights in Tahoe.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Guest Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hi Traveling Tina,

Thanks for your business and support. We work very hard to make this hotel a nice and affordable place to stay. We appreciate your feedback.

Thanks!!!

Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summertown, Tennessee, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My family and I scheduled our family reunion in Tahoe and the majority of us stay here. IT WAS GREAT ! The pool area was extremely clean w/ a big BBQ and picnic area, also wheelchair lift to give access to the pool!
Staff was always avail and so helpful with anything we needed. We have a very large family so the meeting room was the PERFECT set-up; full kitchen, plenty of seating and all the things we needed to cook with avail, including cups, plates, etc with a restroom so we didn't have to go back to each room if needed to use it. The private beach is a really great feature, clean and w/ staff readily available. Overall, a really great experience ! We plan to definitely come back here to stay !!!!!!!! THANKS FOR ALL THE EXTRA EFFORTS TO THE STAFF FOR MY FAMILY !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Guest Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Hi Carole,

You've made our day!

Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We were on a limited budget and this place was exactly what we required; clean, inexpensive, safe and quiet. I was a little worried when we discovered our room was right next door to a yappy dog but we left and walked around for a few hours and had dinner and when we returned the dog was quiet. The hotel is right across the street from the Heavenly Resort and fun shops. Our room, though dated, was very clean. Our only complaint would have to be that the small air conditioner didn't really ever cool our room down and I found it to be a little loud when it was running. I noticed that surrounding locally owned hotels were closed down and being torn down to make room for what looked to be one large hotel. I hope the Big Pines does not have the same fate. All in all, it was a great place to stay and I will stay here again.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Guest Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Hi Rachel,

Thank you very much for your business and support.

Our family works very hard to make this hotel a very good place for you to stay!

Please come back soon!

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Overall this was a nice place to stay. The kids loved the pool and the beach. We drove down to the beach that the hotel offers a pass to; parking is $1 per 30 minutes or $10 for all day. Also, no glass is allowed on the beach. The hotel is older but has been mostly updated and clean. We had a room with a kitchenette so we didn't utilize the free breakfast but saw that it included bagels, cereal, orange juice and coffee. The girl at the front desk was friendly and helpful. The bathroom was huge and clean and the water pressure was outstanding. We went up on a rather hot and humid week and the air conditioner wasn't the best, but usually the weather is so nice up there it wouldn't matter. This hotel is across from the Gondola and walking distance to the casinos. It's also across from a Raley's but we drove down a few blocks to a Safeway. It's also within a mile or so from Regan Beach which has a nice playground, grassy area and a small beach which is free to access. It's close to many restaurants including local pubs and national chains such as McDonalds, IHOP, Subway and Denny's.

Room Tip: Room 270-2nd floor next to second set of stairs and above the bbq area. 2 double beds and a kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Public Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Hi Joy,

Thank you very much for business and support.

Our family works very hard to make this hotel a great place for you you stay.

Please come again!

Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I will not stay here again. The outdoor lights were on all night long. The light came through the blinds. They do not have drapes covering the windows. We had a leaky toilet that would leak then shut off itself off, then back on. This happened all night long. The room needed some major upgrades. The carpet was tearing in spots.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Guest Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Hi,

We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with your room. We work very hard everyday to make this hotel a great place to stay.

Please give us a second chance!

Thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This place is great for the price and location. Everything was clean and comfortable. The staff was courteous and helpful. The location is great - 2 blocks from Stateline and almost across the street from the Heavenly tram. The room had a fridge and coffee maker. It's an older place, so it can be a little loud, but really not a problem. The continental breakfast is very simple, but you won't starve. All in all it was great and I'll go back. Don't forget to ask for the beach pass if you're there in summer. It's free and the beach is an easy 7-10 minute walk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Public Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hi,

Thank you so much for your business and support.

Please come back soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe

Address: 4083 Cedar Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Viking Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#3 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Pines Mountain House is conveniently located in the center of South Lake Tahoe, within walking distance to major attractions - Heavenly Ski resort, the casinos and the Lake itself. We offer clean, comfortable and affordable rooms. Free wi-fi, complimentary breakfast, heated seasonal pool and the location make us the best value in town. Do not leave your pets behind, we will be happy to accept them in our hotel. Come visit us! Our friendly staff is always here to help you to make your Tahoe getaway simply fun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Pines Mountain House Of Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Big Pines Mountain Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.