We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic hotel, just a shame the pool was not open” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe

Save Saved
You added Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4083 Cedar Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Viking Motor Lodge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$10 off room rate
Ranked #28 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sunnyvale, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good basic hotel, just a shame the pool was not open”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Overall I would say the hotel is good value for money; the rooms are large and clean, there is a decent breakfast, free WFI and access to the 'private beach' (which would otherwise cost $5 per person a day). It is also in a great location, within walking distance to the beach, bars and Casinos.

The only real problem was the pool was closed (there was actually no water even in it) over the Memorial weekend, which was a shame since the weather was good and most hotels in the area had their pools open to guests. Since this was one of the key amenities I was looking for when booking, I was very disappointed and would have booked somewhere else if I had known it was not open until June.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Guest Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Hi Michelle,

Thanks for your business and feedback. We are very sorry that the pool was not available, our ADA improvements need to be approved prior to opening the pool. But, it will be open by next week.

Thanks for your understanding.

Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    107
    30
    20
    17
See reviews for
60
105
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We booked 2 rooms a couple days before New Years Eve and were pleased that the rooms were not all torn up with wet vacationers coming in from skiing. I like that we could park right in front of the room and did not have to travel down a long hall and take an elevator. saves time. The breakfast was minimal, but had hot oatmeal, toast, juice and coffee, perfect for winter.
The bathrooms were okay, shower only, nothing fancy, but everything worked and was CLEAN.
I was so pleased with the room at the price we got at Xmas time, ($160/nt) I went again on a Tuesday night in January and got a room for $59. I was just going skiing so I did not need a casino or room service. I recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the street so your car won't get stuck if there is a snow storm
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Guest Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Hi Nancy,

Thank you very much for your review and feedback.

Please come back soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for a bachelor/bachelorette during a busy time in Tahoe. When we arrived, they were very accommodating and nice, when we got to our rooms, a lot better than I had expected, they were very nice and clean, great price and temperature was comfortable, each room in our group was a little different. The location is great, you can hear the outdoor amphitheater from Harveys, and minute walking distance to the big casinos. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There is a room with a grass area and a fireplace, for those of you that are only needing one king s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Guest Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hi,

Thank you very much for your review and business!

Please come back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Accommodations Cramped, Not Real Clean. Beds Not Too Comfy. Noisy All Nite Long. This Place needs Some Major TLC But They Do allow dogs And Good Location Within Walking Distance to All the Fun. IfYou Are With Ou Any Other Alternative As We WerE You Make It Work!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Guest Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hi,

Thanks for your review and feedback.

Please, give us another chance, if you were not happy during your stay I am not either.

We appreciate you business, please come back soon!

Call me or email me for two nights for free.

Cordially,
Ruben Z
5303070649
Sales@thebigpines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellen, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Love this place and a nice Family owned Hotel. Just one block from Heavenly Valley Gondola and Stateline Nv. Just park and walk to everything. South Shore is just and easy drive from Bay area. Nice Morning continental Breakfast too!
AAA
Jeff

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Guest Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hi Jeff,

Thank you, thank you, thank you!!

Please come back soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Big Pines is an older style of Hotel, but with spacious rooms that were very clean. We had a kitchenette which was excellent, very well equipped with new utensils and cookware, which meant we could self-cater. It is in a good location near the Lake and Stateline. The room heating was very good. Breakfast was included, served in lobby and quite ok..
The staff members from housekeeping and the maintenance guy are very friendly and helpful and go out of their way to make the stay special.
We were actually very struck by the cleanliness of our room. Especially the kitchenette and bathroom. The rooms are very well maintained and the maid service does a great job!!!!!!!
The one that was rude and needs to smile and be friendlier is that girl front the front desk that wears glasses; I think her name is Nohami…. Send her to customer service courses and maybe she needs to find another type of job!!!!!!
We plan on returning to Big Pines Mountain House for our next outing to South Lake Tahoe this coming summer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Guest Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hi Crystal,

Thank you very much for your review and feedback.

We take your comments very seriously and it is greatly appreciated. Customer service is key for all business and customers' reviews make us grow as a company.

We will keep improving and working hard to get 100% of your satisfaction.

THANK YOU!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This motel met our expectations. We were traveling with our beagle, so we had limited options. The price was very reasonable, and they only charged $15 extra for our pet. We were surprised that there were no "doggie bags" available outside, but the desk gave us an extra ice bucket bag to use for picking up waste. The room was clean, although somewhat dated. The toilet rocked every time I sat down (and I am not a big person). Water pressure was decent and internet/TV was fine ( had to request a list of channels from the desk, as there wasn't one in the room). The service was friendly and the neighborhood was quiet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Public Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Hi,

Thanks for your business and feedback, we will keep working hard to make your stay nice and affordable.

Please come back soon!

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe

Address: 4083 Cedar Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Viking Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Pines Mountain House is conveniently located in the center of South Lake Tahoe, within walking distance to major attractions - Heavenly Ski resort, the casinos and the Lake itself. We offer clean, comfortable and affordable rooms. Free wi-fi, complimentary breakfast, heated seasonal pool and the location make us the best value in town. Do not leave your pets behind, we will be happy to accept them in our hotel. Come visit us! Our friendly staff is always here to help you to make your Tahoe getaway simply fun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Pines Mountain House Of Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Big Pines Mountain Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.