We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“step into the fifties - great service, modest accomodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe to your Saves list
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4083 Cedar Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Viking Motor Lodge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$10 off room rate
Ranked #29 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“step into the fifties - great service, modest accomodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here during a ski trip to Heavenly. It is about 200 yards from the Gondola & very close to McP's pub - a great apres ski! While the facility is defenitely 'old school' - they leave nothing unthought of - no room service, but a delivery menu from "Dining Inn". Makeup towelettes. GREAT HEAT - for the cold nights. Fridge, Microwave, coffee, breakfast of oatmeal, English Muffin, or yogurt. Down side - if you get a room with a 'shared door' between rooms, the walls are paper thin - ask for a room with no shared room.

Most importantly - my husband shattered his knee on our first day there - and they took great care of us - changing our room to a floor level, overlooking check out time, etc. The hispanic staff is more than accomodating. It is not a place for amenities, but if you are looking for great location and great service - this is your place!

Room Tip: Say upstairs for no 'foot sounds' and ask for a room with no shared door. The motel is a ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Public Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hi,

Thank you so much for your business and support.

We are a family business that works harder everyday to fit your lodging needs at a very affordable price.

Please come back soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    111
    36
    22
    17
See reviews for
70
109
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Having read mixed reviews that emphasized largely the relative better price point for accommodations in the area, I was a bit concerned. However the experience was far better. First of all one cannot undervalue the location for skiing at heavenly valley village - once our car was parked we didn't have to move it again until we left as we could walk with skis and boots to the gondola, walk to restaurants, movies and casinos. The motel staff, contrary to what others have said, we're friendly, informative and business-like in a nice way. Also the continental breakfast was far better than expected with fresh made oatmeal, yogurt and granola and bagels. The room itself was standard and fine given the rate we paid.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Guest Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your review and business.

We are a business designed to be convenient, comfy and affordable, and when we see that we met your needs we feel real good.

YOU HAVE JUST MADE OUR DAY!!!!!

Thanks again, and please come back soon!

Cordially,
Ruben Z
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

A well maintained, well managed value priced budget motel. No problems, so very little staff interaction. Exceeds the standards of a typical budget motel.Our room was clean and well equipped with mini fridge and mirco wave, Nice selection of soaps, lotions and generous linens. Breakfast bar not lavish, but better than expect considering many budget motel do not provide any breakfast. The location was excellent for the casino crowd and the lake is just a few blocks away. Our mid week stay was reasonably priced, but apparently, like all Tahoe properties, the weekend is much higher. I would recommend it to friends on a budget that would be happy with a decent room at a value price for the area..

Room Tip: Upstairs is always better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Public Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Hi James,

We are very glad to see your review!

Please come back soon and support our family business.

Thanks a lot!

Cordially,
Ruben Z
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

For $40 a night I wasn't expecting the world but was surprised at how poorly I was treated by the big pines mountain house staff. I was mislead that my deposit would be refunded at the time of check out. The GM was out for the day and so I dealt with the front desk girls for 6 hours. I was put on hold several times for more than 10 minutes and never received a single apology for my inconvenience. Not only that but the girls gave me attitude as if I was being offensive. You never want to go somewhere where you are kinder to the service staff than they are to you.

nonprofessional, unsympathetic with hair trimmings on the bathroom counter at arrival. this motel doesn't seem to have its $#!+ together so please don't waste your money.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Public Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hi,

Thank you for your review and feedback. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced at the hotel. We are a family business that works very hard to improve day by day.

Please come back and give us a second chance.

Cordially,
Ruben Z
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights and found hotel clean, well run and very well situated for everything we wanted to do. Would have no problem with staying again. Didnt use pool but did use private beach which is 10 minutes walk or 2 minutes drive and was quite nice. All in all it was good vaue for money.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Public Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Hi Roy,

Thank you very much for your business and support!

Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, CT
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Booked this motel for four friends traveling west through Priceline. They loved their two nights so much they stayed an extra night. They paid more than double for the last night but they didn't mind.
Clean and very affordable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Guest Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Hi Sheg,

You have made our day with your awesome review!

Thanks so much!

Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We spent one night at " Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe" .
We had a room upstairs. The motel is convenient and quiet, it's a budget hotel.
You can walk to the lake, and as well to Nevada with casinos, restaurants etc.
Small Continental breakfast was ok.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruben Z, Public Relations Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Hi,

We are very happy to see your review, thank you, thank you, thank you.

Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe

Address: 4083 Cedar Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Viking Motor Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#3 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Pines Mountain House is conveniently located in the center of South Lake Tahoe, within walking distance to major attractions - Heavenly Ski resort, the casinos and the Lake itself. We offer clean, comfortable and affordable rooms. Free wi-fi, complimentary breakfast, heated seasonal pool and the location make us the best value in town. Do not leave your pets behind, we will be happy to accept them in our hotel. Come visit us! Our friendly staff is always here to help you to make your Tahoe getaway simply fun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Pines Mountain House Of Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Big Pines Mountain Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.