We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Inn

Save Saved
You added Secrets Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Secrets Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   924 Park Ave., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cozy getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed here for one night at the end of March. It was a nice little retreat. Within walking distance of the beach, and less than a quarter mile from the big hotel/casinos. Wonderful front desk, very friendly. Had great suggestions for dinner and breakfast. We stated in the Tahoe suite. It's a very small room, but that didn't bother us for just one night. Loved the jacuzzi tub and fireplace. However, it got very warm in our room, even with the fireplace off and climate control turned all the way down. We actually had to open our window to let some cool air in during the night. The walls are also pretty thin; we could hear our neighbors on both sides. But all in all, still a bargain for the price and charming atmosphere.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsecrets, General Manager at Secrets Inn, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post your compliments Maria, hopefully next time you can stay longer! We love getting repeat business from the nearby areas, remember to call the inn directly for your "return guest" discount! Still praying for just one more big snowfall!!
Debbie and the Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    31
    16
    3
    8
See reviews for
3
121
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pollock Pines, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This was our second stay here, but this time we booked a room for our son & daughter in-law as well...it was a birthday gift with a snowmobile tour. After being in the snow for over 2hrs, this place was just what we needed...a nice jetted tub, fireplace and time to relax. So worth every penny we spent on this trip and would definitely stay again & again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsecrets, General Manager at Secrets Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
The best compliment we can receive is that our guests can't wait to return! Glad to hear you had a great time with the kids, remember Heavenly Inn, our sister property has rooms with kitchenettes for when the kids need more room for the next generation!!

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing all of you in the future!

Debbie and the Crew
PH: 877.286.3413
Email: gm@secretsinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernley, Nevada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed two nights at this Inn,and we were very happy with it. The room was clean, modern, with great decor. The Jacuzzi tub was amazing! The king bed was comfortable and cozy, and the staff was very friendly with lots of suggestions of places to eat and visit. The morning we checked out the Innkeeper chatted with us for a long while, asking our opinion of the Inn and asking for suggestions to improve the guest experience. The Inn is within walking distance to the casino's, Heavenly Village, and to the lake itself. This is a great little place to stay in South Lake Tahoe...we will be back for sure!

Room Tip: An upstairs room may be better so you don't hear everything the people above you are doing..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsecrets, General Manager at Secrets Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments regarding your experience! I’ll be sure to pass on your compliments to the team here at Secrets Inn. I’m pleased that you enjoyed the Jacuzzi bathtub and found the bed comfortable.

Thank you also for taking the time to chat with me about your visit when you checked-out – feedback from our guests is very valuable to us. We’re looking forward to seeing you when you visit us again!


Debbie and the Crew
PH: 877.286.3413
Email: gm@secretsinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

So I wanted to get away with my girlfriend for the winter and I wanted to make it special but I couldnt pay too much for it. And that's when I found this place its super cozy and I was able to get a room for a pretty reasonable price. I do have to admit I was a little bit worried when I first pulled up, It looks like your typical motel from the outside and I thought that I had been scammed out of my money. However all those worries were quelled as soon as I steped foot in the room. It wss small but quaint with up to date appliances and nothing that seemed to be out of place or dirty. It was the perfect size and had the perfect ambiance for a couple trying to get away for the weekend. I would definitely come back again. Oh also that hot tub is great and the shower thats in full view of the bed definitely makes for some fun bathing.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed at Secrets Inn for our honeymoon getaway 9/25-9/28. My husband booked the largest suite, Alpine. We arrived about an hour before check-in and our room was ready for us. Debbie was very pleasant during check-in and gave us some tips and ideas for activities. There was an issue with the reservation system and Debbie informed us that she would double check the rates for us to make sure we received the lower rate. She added an additional military discount which was a plus.

The room was rather large and had the Tahoe rustic pine motif. I would say that my husband preferred the room more than I did, but it was very nice for the price and basically was fine for the concept of being couples only.

The one major complaint I have is that there are no bathrobes. This just doesn't seem to be in-line with the theme of romantic accommodations. Here there is the tub, the fireplace, cozy living and sleeping area and no robes? Also, as you enter the hotel, there is a huge picture banner showing a room with candles and bathrobes. We asked Debbie about it and she told us we should make the suggestion to the home office to include robes since they are advertising it that way. So, here I am suggesting that they include bathrobes and maybe some candles for the tub. The other minor complaint I had is that since the room is not cleaned unless requested, the wastebaskets don't get emptied and you only get one pack of coffee, so to get another one, the office has to be called. Why not just include several pouches of coffee in the room?

Since we were staying during the off-season and mid week, the area was not crowded and it felt like we were locals! The only issue with this was some activities we wanted to do were not available. It was also unseasonably cold and so we could not go to the beach or do one of the lake cruises we planned.

We had a great time enjoying the convenient location (major plus), casinos, and restaurants. Since we did not have time to go out of the country for a honeymoon right after the wedding, this was a nice compromise.

I would probably stay at Secrets Inn again. Hopefully next time, there will be bathrobes and more coffee in the room!

Room Tip: Book the largest room Alpine
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Upon walking into our room we noticed a pee smell emanating from the washroom. The bed was huge and there was a two foot space to walk between it and the large cabinet. The "spectre" brand television was offset from the bed making its viewing quite awkward. We had a mini fridge that was locked away in a side table that barely kept anything cold. The shower was very very large but awkward as it had no door and splashed everything in the washroom. The shower was also encased in a glass wall so anyone in the bedroom had a full view of your cleaning habits. The tub was huge and brilliant. The room size bloody tiny, no room for luggage. We stayed there for about nine days. You have to walk to the sister motel next door for the ice machine. You had to pay a 15 buck service fee if you wanted your room cleaned up. They Replaced the towels but left us no toilet paper. The bed and pillows were uncomfortable, they were over sized and lumpy, the bed thought our backs were edible as it tried to eat them every night. It was okay maybe for a night but if you're going to do an extended stay just go across the street to the three peaks. Our cousin let a room for a night after becoming fed up with family. She had a huge kitchen, living room, full bath with jet tub and shower, a separate room for sleeping. Bloody brilliant. that and its about a third the cost.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA - CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed for 1 night only in the Alpine Suite which was huge, full of mirrors, very clean, and had a wonderful two-person shower and heart-shaped jacuzzi. Debbie was very helpful when we booked and in accommodating our late check in and early check out. It was a very pleasant stay and I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Inn

Address: 924 Park Ave., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Secrets Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Inn Lake Tahoe is a romantic inn on the South Shore of Lake Tahoe. All rooms have King-size pillow top beds, fireplaces, spas, direct dial phones, in-room brewed coffee, refrigerators, air-conditioning, 40 channel cable TV with HBO, and soft lighting. Walking distance to Stateline casinos and Lake. Recently remodeled, it is definitely the nicest location in South Lake Tahoe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Secrets Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Secrets Hotel Lake Tahoe
Secrets Motel Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.