We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romance on a budget” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Secrets Inn to your Saves list
Secrets Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   924 Park Ave., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Romance on a budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

So I wanted to get away with my girlfriend for the winter and I wanted to make it special but I couldnt pay too much for it. And that's when I found this place its super cozy and I was able to get a room for a pretty reasonable price. I do have to admit I was a little bit worried when I first pulled up, It looks like your typical motel from the outside and I thought that I had been scammed out of my money. However all those worries were quelled as soon as I steped foot in the room. It wss small but quaint with up to date appliances and nothing that seemed to be out of place or dirty. It was the perfect size and had the perfect ambiance for a couple trying to get away for the weekend. I would definitely come back again. Oh also that hot tub is great and the shower thats in full view of the bed definitely makes for some fun bathing.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    33
    17
    3
    8
See reviews for
3
127
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed at Secrets Inn for our honeymoon getaway 9/25-9/28. My husband booked the largest suite, Alpine. We arrived about an hour before check-in and our room was ready for us. Debbie was very pleasant during check-in and gave us some tips and ideas for activities. There was an issue with the reservation system and Debbie informed us that she would double check the rates for us to make sure we received the lower rate. She added an additional military discount which was a plus.

The room was rather large and had the Tahoe rustic pine motif. I would say that my husband preferred the room more than I did, but it was very nice for the price and basically was fine for the concept of being couples only.

The one major complaint I have is that there are no bathrobes. This just doesn't seem to be in-line with the theme of romantic accommodations. Here there is the tub, the fireplace, cozy living and sleeping area and no robes? Also, as you enter the hotel, there is a huge picture banner showing a room with candles and bathrobes. We asked Debbie about it and she told us we should make the suggestion to the home office to include robes since they are advertising it that way. So, here I am suggesting that they include bathrobes and maybe some candles for the tub. The other minor complaint I had is that since the room is not cleaned unless requested, the wastebaskets don't get emptied and you only get one pack of coffee, so to get another one, the office has to be called. Why not just include several pouches of coffee in the room?

Since we were staying during the off-season and mid week, the area was not crowded and it felt like we were locals! The only issue with this was some activities we wanted to do were not available. It was also unseasonably cold and so we could not go to the beach or do one of the lake cruises we planned.

We had a great time enjoying the convenient location (major plus), casinos, and restaurants. Since we did not have time to go out of the country for a honeymoon right after the wedding, this was a nice compromise.

I would probably stay at Secrets Inn again. Hopefully next time, there will be bathrobes and more coffee in the room!

Room Tip: Book the largest room Alpine
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Upon walking into our room we noticed a pee smell emanating from the washroom. The bed was huge and there was a two foot space to walk between it and the large cabinet. The "spectre" brand television was offset from the bed making its viewing quite awkward. We had a mini fridge that was locked away in a side table that barely kept anything cold. The shower was very very large but awkward as it had no door and splashed everything in the washroom. The shower was also encased in a glass wall so anyone in the bedroom had a full view of your cleaning habits. The tub was huge and brilliant. The room size bloody tiny, no room for luggage. We stayed there for about nine days. You have to walk to the sister motel next door for the ice machine. You had to pay a 15 buck service fee if you wanted your room cleaned up. They Replaced the towels but left us no toilet paper. The bed and pillows were uncomfortable, they were over sized and lumpy, the bed thought our backs were edible as it tried to eat them every night. It was okay maybe for a night but if you're going to do an extended stay just go across the street to the three peaks. Our cousin let a room for a night after becoming fed up with family. She had a huge kitchen, living room, full bath with jet tub and shower, a separate room for sleeping. Bloody brilliant. that and its about a third the cost.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretsGM, General Manager at Secrets Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Laura.

Thank You so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Secrets Inn. We are so glad here that you enjoyed your stay and that you totally relaxed. The team here at Secrets Inn pride themselves on making every guests stay special.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing stay very soon.

Kind Regards

Susanne Teso

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA - CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed for 1 night only in the Alpine Suite which was huge, full of mirrors, very clean, and had a wonderful two-person shower and heart-shaped jacuzzi. Debbie was very helpful when we booked and in accommodating our late check in and early check out. It was a very pleasant stay and I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This Inn was amazing! My husband and I stayed there for our honeymoon and we couldn't have picked a better place. The service was so personalized and helpful. Everyone on staff was a joy. The General Managers Joe and Debbie were absolutely great, as well as Lynn, the lady that booked our stay. From the first phone call it was easy and informative. Joe told us all about the best places to hike and kayak, and they made our trip like a dream! The hotel itself was great! The perfect romantic getaway, these guys have cornered the market! It was very clean, the ammenities were great, everything you might want for a romantic getaway. If your looking for a nice place to go with your spouse, this is it!

Room Tip: Call them, they will be honest about all of their rooms and what the different ones have to offer. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The Secrets Inn is conveniently located near shops and the Casinos. The staff was informative upon check in about amenities and activities to enjoy in the area. The room is rather cramped with all they have fit in for the Tahoe suite. They also have coolers and beach chairs available for use. This was a pleasant surprise.

Due to the adult nature it can get noisy in the middle of the night with tubs running which made it hard to sleep on a Saturday. Then there was a lot of movement of furniture during the day which made a nap impossible.

If noises don't bother you the room is nice and romantic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We drove into South Shore without a reservation on the weekend of the Celebrity Golf tournament, and miraculously found a room at another place but (un)fortunately the room smelled like dog urine. Loved everything about Secrets! The innkeeper and manager, Debbie, rocks; she provided an ipad3 and a cooler for use during our stay. Dustin, who gave us the room, was very sweet. The room is very nice. At first, it was odd to have the ginormous bath tub near the bed but, as my husband pointed out, it had the best view of the tv. The bed, pillows, linens, and towels were very nice and there were plenty of pillows and towels. The location is the best - within a five-minute walk to the cheapest gas around, coffee, base camp pizza, grocery store, jamba juice, driftwood café, the Heavenly gondola, Edgewood golf course, and stateline.

Room Tip: We were in room 218, and I was pleasantly shocked that we rarely heard any noise while in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Inn

Address: 924 Park Ave., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Secrets Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Inn Lake Tahoe is a romantic inn on the South Shore of Lake Tahoe. All rooms have King-size pillow top beds, fireplaces, spas, direct dial phones, in-room brewed coffee, refrigerators, air-conditioning, 40 channel cable TV with HBO, and soft lighting. Walking distance to Stateline casinos and Lake. Recently remodeled, it is definitely the nicest location in South Lake Tahoe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Secrets Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Secrets Hotel Lake Tahoe
Secrets Motel Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.