We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have kept it a secret” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Inn

Save Saved
You added Secrets Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Secrets Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   924 Park Ave., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #19 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Las Vegas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Should have kept it a secret”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Upon walking into our room we noticed a pee smell emanating from the washroom. The bed was huge and there was a two foot space to walk between it and the large cabinet. The "spectre" brand television was offset from the bed making its viewing quite awkward. We had a mini fridge that was locked away in a side table that barely kept anything cold. The shower was very very large but awkward as it had no door and splashed everything in the washroom. The shower was also encased in a glass wall so anyone in the bedroom had a full view of your cleaning habits. The tub was huge and brilliant. The room size bloody tiny, no room for luggage. We stayed there for about nine days. You have to walk to the sister motel next door for the ice machine. You had to pay a 15 buck service fee if you wanted your room cleaned up. They Replaced the towels but left us no toilet paper. The bed and pillows were uncomfortable, they were over sized and lumpy, the bed thought our backs were edible as it tried to eat them every night. It was okay maybe for a night but if you're going to do an extended stay just go across the street to the three peaks. Our cousin let a room for a night after becoming fed up with family. She had a huge kitchen, living room, full bath with jet tub and shower, a separate room for sleeping. Bloody brilliant. that and its about a third the cost.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    29
    15
    3
    8
See reviews for
2
117
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
LA - CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed for 1 night only in the Alpine Suite which was huge, full of mirrors, very clean, and had a wonderful two-person shower and heart-shaped jacuzzi. Debbie was very helpful when we booked and in accommodating our late check in and early check out. It was a very pleasant stay and I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This Inn was amazing! My husband and I stayed there for our honeymoon and we couldn't have picked a better place. The service was so personalized and helpful. Everyone on staff was a joy. The General Managers Joe and Debbie were absolutely great, as well as Lynn, the lady that booked our stay. From the first phone call it was easy and informative. Joe told us all about the best places to hike and kayak, and they made our trip like a dream! The hotel itself was great! The perfect romantic getaway, these guys have cornered the market! It was very clean, the ammenities were great, everything you might want for a romantic getaway. If your looking for a nice place to go with your spouse, this is it!

Room Tip: Call them, they will be honest about all of their rooms and what the different ones have to offer. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The Secrets Inn is conveniently located near shops and the Casinos. The staff was informative upon check in about amenities and activities to enjoy in the area. The room is rather cramped with all they have fit in for the Tahoe suite. They also have coolers and beach chairs available for use. This was a pleasant surprise.

Due to the adult nature it can get noisy in the middle of the night with tubs running which made it hard to sleep on a Saturday. Then there was a lot of movement of furniture during the day which made a nap impossible.

If noises don't bother you the room is nice and romantic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We drove into South Shore without a reservation on the weekend of the Celebrity Golf tournament, and miraculously found a room at another place but (un)fortunately the room smelled like dog urine. Loved everything about Secrets! The innkeeper and manager, Debbie, rocks; she provided an ipad3 and a cooler for use during our stay. Dustin, who gave us the room, was very sweet. The room is very nice. At first, it was odd to have the ginormous bath tub near the bed but, as my husband pointed out, it had the best view of the tv. The bed, pillows, linens, and towels were very nice and there were plenty of pillows and towels. The location is the best - within a five-minute walk to the cheapest gas around, coffee, base camp pizza, grocery store, jamba juice, driftwood café, the Heavenly gondola, Edgewood golf course, and stateline.

Room Tip: We were in room 218, and I was pleasantly shocked that we rarely heard any noise while in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

It's all true what they say. The location is fantastic. And I would highly recommend it. The bed is top-of-the-line and it's decorated well (paint & tile work, granite counter-top on the vanity sink, etc.) BUT . . . the room is very small. Just be prepared. There is a Jacuzzi tub for two a foot away from the bed and a shower that will hold 4 people on the other side of the glass wall that separates the bathroom and bedroom. Yes, that's right . . . a glass wall separates the bathroom from the bedroom. So you'd better make sure the blinds on the big bay window that looks out over the parking lot are tightly closed (as if you'd have any reason to open them at all). There is a modicum of privacy on the throne afforded by the super extra wide bathroom door (seriously, you can roll a wheelchair through that thing - not that you could get to it from the front door because you barely have a foot of space around the bed . . . but still)
It's just a bit cramped and the flat screen tv above the awkwardly placed fireplace does not telescope or swivel which makes trying to watch it from anyplace in the tiny room uncomfortable. I would have happily traded the giant bathtub in the bedroom for a small bistro set.

Room Tip: Secrets Inn is an Adults Only venue - which is nice . . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

It is hard to tell from the outside, but this truly is a great place to stay. The interior rooms have been completely remodeled and are very nice. Rooms include a fireplace, walk-in shower, fridge, and jacuzzi tub. They are a bit small, but very comfortable.

The owners were very nice people, and go out of their way to make your stay as great as possible. The staff was all local, and provided great recommendations on where to visit, eat, etc. while in Tahoe.

My only complaint - No Pool. Water in lake is a bit chilly for swimming.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Secrets Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Inn

Address: 924 Park Ave., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Secrets Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Inn Lake Tahoe is a romantic inn on the South Shore of Lake Tahoe. All rooms have King-size pillow top beds, fireplaces, spas, direct dial phones, in-room brewed coffee, refrigerators, air-conditioning, 40 channel cable TV with HBO, and soft lighting. Walking distance to Stateline casinos and Lake. Recently remodeled, it is definitely the nicest location in South Lake Tahoe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Secrets Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Secrets Hotel Lake Tahoe
Secrets Motel Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.