We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved Secrets Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Secrets Inn to your Saves list
Secrets Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   924 Park Ave., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
LA - CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We loved Secrets Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed for 1 night only in the Alpine Suite which was huge, full of mirrors, very clean, and had a wonderful two-person shower and heart-shaped jacuzzi. Debbie was very helpful when we booked and in accommodating our late check in and early check out. It was a very pleasant stay and I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    35
    18
    5
    8
See reviews for
3
133
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This Inn was amazing! My husband and I stayed there for our honeymoon and we couldn't have picked a better place. The service was so personalized and helpful. Everyone on staff was a joy. The General Managers Joe and Debbie were absolutely great, as well as Lynn, the lady that booked our stay. From the first phone call it was easy and informative. Joe told us all about the best places to hike and kayak, and they made our trip like a dream! The hotel itself was great! The perfect romantic getaway, these guys have cornered the market! It was very clean, the ammenities were great, everything you might want for a romantic getaway. If your looking for a nice place to go with your spouse, this is it!

Room Tip: Call them, they will be honest about all of their rooms and what the different ones have to offer. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The Secrets Inn is conveniently located near shops and the Casinos. The staff was informative upon check in about amenities and activities to enjoy in the area. The room is rather cramped with all they have fit in for the Tahoe suite. They also have coolers and beach chairs available for use. This was a pleasant surprise.

Due to the adult nature it can get noisy in the middle of the night with tubs running which made it hard to sleep on a Saturday. Then there was a lot of movement of furniture during the day which made a nap impossible.

If noises don't bother you the room is nice and romantic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We drove into South Shore without a reservation on the weekend of the Celebrity Golf tournament, and miraculously found a room at another place but (un)fortunately the room smelled like dog urine. Loved everything about Secrets! The innkeeper and manager, Debbie, rocks; she provided an ipad3 and a cooler for use during our stay. Dustin, who gave us the room, was very sweet. The room is very nice. At first, it was odd to have the ginormous bath tub near the bed but, as my husband pointed out, it had the best view of the tv. The bed, pillows, linens, and towels were very nice and there were plenty of pillows and towels. The location is the best - within a five-minute walk to the cheapest gas around, coffee, base camp pizza, grocery store, jamba juice, driftwood café, the Heavenly gondola, Edgewood golf course, and stateline.

Room Tip: We were in room 218, and I was pleasantly shocked that we rarely heard any noise while in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

It's all true what they say. The location is fantastic. And I would highly recommend it. The bed is top-of-the-line and it's decorated well (paint & tile work, granite counter-top on the vanity sink, etc.) BUT . . . the room is very small. Just be prepared. There is a Jacuzzi tub for two a foot away from the bed and a shower that will hold 4 people on the other side of the glass wall that separates the bathroom and bedroom. Yes, that's right . . . a glass wall separates the bathroom from the bedroom. So you'd better make sure the blinds on the big bay window that looks out over the parking lot are tightly closed (as if you'd have any reason to open them at all). There is a modicum of privacy on the throne afforded by the super extra wide bathroom door (seriously, you can roll a wheelchair through that thing - not that you could get to it from the front door because you barely have a foot of space around the bed . . . but still)
It's just a bit cramped and the flat screen tv above the awkwardly placed fireplace does not telescope or swivel which makes trying to watch it from anyplace in the tiny room uncomfortable. I would have happily traded the giant bathtub in the bedroom for a small bistro set.

Room Tip: Secrets Inn is an Adults Only venue - which is nice . . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

It is hard to tell from the outside, but this truly is a great place to stay. The interior rooms have been completely remodeled and are very nice. Rooms include a fireplace, walk-in shower, fridge, and jacuzzi tub. They are a bit small, but very comfortable.

The owners were very nice people, and go out of their way to make your stay as great as possible. The staff was all local, and provided great recommendations on where to visit, eat, etc. while in Tahoe.

My only complaint - No Pool. Water in lake is a bit chilly for swimming.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Tahoe Plus room on the second floor. We were there Monday-Friday and we loved it.

The location is great. It's a short walk to a nice beach (not totally private, but not crowded either) as well as shops, if that's your thing. It's just down the road from the Heavenly Gondola, and there are lots of great restaurants nearby.

Pros:
- The hot tub was deep, cozy, and filled up/drained fast. We never had a problem with the hot water, and we used it almost every day.
- Our bed was comfortable and really big. Way better than the Hilton we stayed at the night before
- WE NEVER HEARD NEIGHBORS, which was important to me, haha.
- The staff: friendly and helpful. The guy at the desk was very knowledgeable about Tahoe and even gave us good tips on where the good running trails were. We stopped in for fresh cookies almost every time we came back to the hotel.
- fireplace (even in June, we got use out of it on the cooler days)
- Nice, romantic lighting
- The glass-walled shower was fun. :)
- good-sized mini fridge and plenty of storage space in the armoire.

Cons: (not a lot)
- The room was pretty small, but we knew that when we booked it.
- The beach, as I said, turned out to not be totally private. They did check for passes, though, so it was a lot less crowded than other Tahoe beaches.
- Because the shower wall is glass, you can also see into the bathroom if you're standing at the far side of the room. Aka, no privacy on the toilet. We considered getting a cheap shower curtain for our stay.

Room Tip: The Tahoe Plus was nice. Try to get one on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Inn

Address: 924 Park Ave., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Secrets Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Inn Lake Tahoe is a romantic inn on the South Shore of Lake Tahoe. All rooms have King-size pillow top beds, fireplaces, spas, direct dial phones, in-room brewed coffee, refrigerators, air-conditioning, 40 channel cable TV with HBO, and soft lighting. Walking distance to Stateline casinos and Lake. Recently remodeled, it is definitely the nicest location in South Lake Tahoe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Secrets Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Secrets Hotel Lake Tahoe
Secrets Motel Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.