We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little romantic getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Inn

Save Saved
You added Secrets Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Secrets Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   924 Park Ave., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #17 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Mundelein, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Great little romantic getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

It is hard to tell from the outside, but this truly is a great place to stay. The interior rooms have been completely remodeled and are very nice. Rooms include a fireplace, walk-in shower, fridge, and jacuzzi tub. They are a bit small, but very comfortable.

The owners were very nice people, and go out of their way to make your stay as great as possible. The staff was all local, and provided great recommendations on where to visit, eat, etc. while in Tahoe.

My only complaint - No Pool. Water in lake is a bit chilly for swimming.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    29
    14
    3
    8
See reviews for
2
116
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Provo, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Tahoe Plus room on the second floor. We were there Monday-Friday and we loved it.

The location is great. It's a short walk to a nice beach (not totally private, but not crowded either) as well as shops, if that's your thing. It's just down the road from the Heavenly Gondola, and there are lots of great restaurants nearby.

Pros:
- The hot tub was deep, cozy, and filled up/drained fast. We never had a problem with the hot water, and we used it almost every day.
- Our bed was comfortable and really big. Way better than the Hilton we stayed at the night before
- WE NEVER HEARD NEIGHBORS, which was important to me, haha.
- The staff: friendly and helpful. The guy at the desk was very knowledgeable about Tahoe and even gave us good tips on where the good running trails were. We stopped in for fresh cookies almost every time we came back to the hotel.
- fireplace (even in June, we got use out of it on the cooler days)
- Nice, romantic lighting
- The glass-walled shower was fun. :)
- good-sized mini fridge and plenty of storage space in the armoire.

Cons: (not a lot)
- The room was pretty small, but we knew that when we booked it.
- The beach, as I said, turned out to not be totally private. They did check for passes, though, so it was a lot less crowded than other Tahoe beaches.
- Because the shower wall is glass, you can also see into the bathroom if you're standing at the far side of the room. Aka, no privacy on the toilet. We considered getting a cheap shower curtain for our stay.

Room Tip: The Tahoe Plus was nice. Try to get one on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Secrets. Very quiet and quaint. We were close enough to walk to restaurants and cafes, attractions and the beach. The inn provided a pass to the beach, a great CD to use which gave the history along with notable places to visit around the lake. A wonderful tour. Thanks to all the staff for your hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The room was clean and cozy. Loved the Jacuzzi tub. It is close to beach, gondola and the casinos. The freshly baked cookies in the front office add to the good experience! :) We enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent 4 days in South Lake Tahoe and had a great time. Our room was very clean, cozy and romantic. GM Debbie was very helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. She even told us to open the door to our room if we wanted to get a nice cross breeze! :) My girlfriend and I plan on staying here every time we go to Tahoe from now on. I would definitely recommend this hotel to all of my friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I had high expectations for this Inn, it been so highly rated on Tripadvisor I thought it would be awesome. Dont get me wrong its still pretty good but here are some things i did and did not like:
Pros:
1. Across the street from heavenly resort, that's where all the fun stuff is
2. Easy/ Plenty of parking

Cons:
1. The rooms are kind of small, and it feels smaller with the hot tub in the room
2. I felt, and this maybe due to out room, there was very little light and the room was always dark

Other than that the staff was super friendly, they always have fresh baked cookies at the reception + they let you use a ipad3 for free through your stay. Kinda cool.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmsecrets, General Manager at Secrets Inn, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to review your experience. I'm glad to hear the staff was super friendly, you enjoyed the cookies and the IPad 3.
We have had other comments that the rooms are a bit small and that every inch was used to its fullest potential. Secrets Inn is known for the INN-room jetted tub experience. While it does take up quite a bit of floor space it is the reason many people choose Secrets Inn over the many other lodging opportunities in the area. Indeed there are 5 room types to choose from and when you return please call the Inn directly and we will guide you to a "brighter" room type. Many people prefer the "dark and sexy" intimate experience but we do have other options to offer. Looking forward to your next visit. Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We recently moved to the Reno area and were dealing with a lot of stress from the move. We took a weekend trip to Secrets Inn without kids for our anniversary. The stay was amazing! The motel was quiet, the room was very relaxing and the jacuzzi was perfect. We got the romance package added and it was a nice touch. The people at the desk were very helpful and made our stay great! We liked how the motel was close enough to several restraunts that we could walk everywhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Secrets Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Inn

Address: 924 Park Ave., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Secrets Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Inn Lake Tahoe is a romantic inn on the South Shore of Lake Tahoe. All rooms have King-size pillow top beds, fireplaces, spas, direct dial phones, in-room brewed coffee, refrigerators, air-conditioning, 40 channel cable TV with HBO, and soft lighting. Walking distance to Stateline casinos and Lake. Recently remodeled, it is definitely the nicest location in South Lake Tahoe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Secrets Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Secrets Hotel Lake Tahoe
Secrets Motel Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.