We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and romantic place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Inn

Save Saved
You added Secrets Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Secrets Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   924 Park Ave., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Linz, Austria
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice and romantic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed there for the third time. The rooms are small, but well kept (this time we had the Tahoe Suite, the Alpine Suite which we had last year ist bigger and has a sitting area). The jacuzzi is working just fine, same with the fire place.
We had to check in at the Heavenly Inn next door (they belong together) and left our key there on check out.

Generally very friendly welcome, we received all relevant information.
Childeren are not recommended there.
Parking is right in front of the rooms or around the corner. The Lake is in walking distance.
Restaurants, Starbucks,.. are in walking distance, even the Casinos in Stateline if necessary.
We will stay there again next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    31
    16
    3
    8
See reviews for
3
121
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I took my girlfriend to Lake Tahoe for her birthday...the idea was to have a romantic couple days....and it worked. According to Trip Advisor Secrets Inn is the most romantic hotel in Lake Tahoe and I have to agree. The hot tub in the room, the glass shower and the fireplace make for a pretty sensual mood. Also, all the windows are by the bed...(depending on your interests, you will either appreciate it or not) LoL
The owner and her staff are amazing. Also, if you need to heat up food or do some simple prep work, they have a little kitchen available. Totally recommend it.

Room Tip: if you can afford the 20 - 30 bucks, go with the corner suites...the have king-size beds in all room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Me and my wife stayed at the Secrets Inn in South Lake Tahoe, CA. This room caught our eye months ago while planning our honeymoon and we stayed in the Secrets Alpine Suite. It had a room with a heart shaped tub and unique showers in the open. Obviously not a family room but for a honeymoon it was awesome! Me and my wife can't stop talking about it. The room was good size, good bed, an obvious romantic setting to the room, and helpful and friendly front desk staff! Our only regret is we only got to stay two days but can promise we will be back again one day as Tahoe is a beautiful place. Top marks on all categories.

Room Tip: Honeymoon or romantic getaways, get the Alpine Suite. It is a awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights (3 nights for price of 2!). Was a small room but very nice. Jacuzzi worked great and filled up fast, too. No problem with hot water and we used twice a day. Comfortable bed, nice shower. Didn't use the fireplace. Was conveniently located (less than ten minute walk to Casinos and private beach). Staff was really friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a nice, relaxing place to stay in South Lake Tahoe for our honeymoon. Through my search, I found the Secrets Inn. After reading about it on their website, it sounded like the perfect location to stay, not allowing children or pets was a big plus to us. I made the reservation, then began doing research on Trip Advisor to see what kind of reviews it had. By the time we got to the hotel, I was nervous about the stay. A lot of the reviews stated that the walls were thin, there were cold showers, and the rooms were tiny. We stayed in the Alpine Suite, which was absolutely gorgeous! I didn't ever hear anyone else in the hotel at all, nor did we ever have cold water, and the hotel was full two of the three days we stayed. We will be going back! I did look into some of the other rooms the last day we were there, as they leave the blinds open when the room is clean and not in use. Yes, they were small, but the website details the sizes of the rooms. Loved the private beach pass, the beach was amazing, and just a block down.

The only complaints I had was that instead of having an ice machine and office at the Secrets Inn, we had to go next door to the Heavenly Inn to get ice and to check in, check out, and find any hotel staff. There is an office attached to the Secrets Inn, but all of the blinds are closed and the sign states on the door that you need to go next door. The ice machine was not handy at all.

Overall, our stay was amazing, and I would recommend this Inn to anyone.

Room Tip: The Alpine Suite is very roomy and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This Inn is in a great location. Walking distance to the lake and to shopping, eating and other entertainment. Be advised that the rooms are small. It is a good price for it, though. We went there for our 10th wedding anniversary. Everything was great except one of the reasons we stayed there was because they have jacuzzi tubs in every room, for an affordable price, and on the weekend (a Friday night), when we went to turn the tub on, there was no hot water! We waited, and tried again later, and still no hot water, so we coudn't even use it one of the nights we were there, and weekend nights cost more money! When we said something about it upon checking out, the manager made us furious because he just said that the inn was full last night. His lame excuse made us more mad then the hot water not working for us. It shouldn't matter if the place is full. That is our problem? We paid to have a jacuzzi tub, and we didn't get that. We asked if we could be refunded a little, and he said he couldn't make that decision. What? Aren't you the manager? He said he sent the info to whoever decides, and we still haven't heard from them a month later, so I guess that means they aren't giving us any money back. It's kind of sad because this really is a pretty good place, if you don't need swank, but I'd be afraid to stay there on a weekend again when there is a greater chance of them being full. We also had to ask for a beach pass, instead of it just being given to us when checking in.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Management actually drove us into town when we needed a lift and couldn't have been more generous. We had a great time and were able to relax at the Secrets Inn.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Inn

Address: 924 Park Ave., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Secrets Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Inn Lake Tahoe is a romantic inn on the South Shore of Lake Tahoe. All rooms have King-size pillow top beds, fireplaces, spas, direct dial phones, in-room brewed coffee, refrigerators, air-conditioning, 40 channel cable TV with HBO, and soft lighting. Walking distance to Stateline casinos and Lake. Recently remodeled, it is definitely the nicest location in South Lake Tahoe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Secrets Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Secrets Hotel Lake Tahoe
Secrets Motel Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.