We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly with plenty to do!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americana Village

Save Saved
You added Americana Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Americana Village
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3845 Pioneer Trail, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Ripon, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Family friendly with plenty to do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This place is perfect for families. They have a lot to offer. They have free bike rentals, free dvds to take back to your room,chairs and umbrellas to take to the beach, volleyball, tetherball, horseshoes, ping pong, to BBQ pits to make up your own dinner. Our room was very clean and had everything you would need. Everyone we met on staff was extremely pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thanks so much, Lisa! We do love the fun seeking energy that families bring along with them! Hope you and the family will come see us again soon, Fall is glorious up here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    45
    12
    7
    1
See reviews for
63
59
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We found this place by chance, just stopping by. A great little hotel with old school family spirit. Low rates, friendly service at its best (personnel always reminding you the free amenities and servuces you can enjoy: bikes, beach chairs, umbrellas, breakfast, beach access, hundreds of dvds...). Nice pool, small gym, 2 washers, 2 dryers (which came up very helpful in the middle of a 2 weeks road trip around California for a family of 5). No AC but not needed, even in July, thanks to the cool nights.
Beside the amenities for the kids (playground, ping pong table, tether ball, wii,...) they even have activities for tge kids organized every day by the staff.
I really recommend this place for a non luxury stay in a family friendly environment.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
So great that you stumbled upon us! It sounds like you and your family were able to enjoy the best of all we offer. Hope you see you and your gang again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I was very happy that we stayed at the Americana Village Hotel in July 2013. It is an older hotel that has been renovated, and they did a great job. Someone paid attention to the small details, such as putting box fans in the rooms, equipping the doors for screens (to leave your door open), and stocking the kitchen with enough supplies to make it easy to cook. The facility has a playground, ping pong, and a huge areas with all sizes of bikes to use. The movie library was extensive, and everyone was super friendly. There were activities all day, every day for adults and kids. The location is excellent, an easy walk to the Gondola and shopping. We will stay here again. The only drawback is a typical Tahoe drawback... no AC in the rooms. The ceiling fans helped, but it was a bit warm at night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We do appreciate your taking the time to post a review. Wonderful comments like yours really do help future travelers to find us. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Booked Americana Village based on TA reviews for two nights. Called in advanced to reserve an upgraded room and pack and play but didn't receive either. However, we did check in very late so my assumption is all the upgraded rooms were gone. We never received our pack and play even though we asked about it again the second day. This was our first "motel" type stay in Lake Tahoe so we didn't really know what to expect. The first night for us was pretty horrible because we were very hot but that was since we didn't open the windows to let the cool air in (as is instructed in their informational guest book). We had a studio suite for my spouse and two young children, which was just enough room but I think if you stayed more than 2 nights it would feel cramped for a family of 4.

It may sound like my experience was pretty bad, but aside from the points above, my family and I had a pleasant and relaxing stay. I enjoyed the quiet environment during the day and the kids enjoyed the nearby amenities of the playground and grassy area. The interior furnishings were older but not worn. They do an excellent job of keeping things very clean on the grounds as well as in the room. We took advantage of the complimentary donuts, popcorn, wifi and movie rental. Wish we could've taken advantage of the bike rental and swimming pool as well. Since this is a popular place and we went during a peak time, there was one night where we had to park our car on the street but that wasn't a problem. I enjoyed the dual head and heights showers especially when it came to the kids' baths the lower height made it easier. Although I would have to say the next time I would bring my own towels as theirs are a little on the worn and thin side. Overall a pleasant experience and would love to return, (possibly to a bigger room to accommodate my family and fingers crossed an upgraded room!).

Room Tip: ask for an upgraded room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for posting your honest and frank review. It hurts me to hear that we let you down on the Pack 'n Play, there is no excuse for that, a very simple request. You sound like such positive and fun loving travelers, I hope you will give us a chance to make things right on your next visit. Please give me a call directly and I will see to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The rooms were well updated and spacious. The place is small, but offers a wide variety of activities. The location was perfect. Close to everything, but a little off the main street so it wasn't as busy. The pool was nice and very busy with families. It is within walking distance to the beach (although it is a fairly long walk). Definitely would return on our next vacation to South Lake.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We take cozy as quite a compliment! Thank you for your wonderful comments. Maine is quite a long way away, but if you do visit Tahoe again, we look forward to seeing you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

As I drove in to the driveway, I remembered that I stayed in this lovely community several years ago when the stay was gifted to my husband and me. I was thrilled to be back. The property is surrounded by lovely pines and the greenest grass. There are patio swings and barbeque pits for personal use, too. The clubhouse is fully stocked with recreational items for loan such as beach chairs, golf clubs, bicycles and the like. The room was the perfect size for two or three people, with a kitchenette outfitted with the necessities to cook small meals. There was no a/c which I believe is not a problem in this high elevation community, but was there during a valley heat wave, and an a/c would have been perfect. The room did include a screen over the doorway and a box fan, which served our needs for the most part. The staff was AMAZING and kind.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are happy to hear that we met and exceeded your expectations.We are lucky that the evenings cool off so nicely here, hardly miss the A/C at all, most days. Hope you will come see us again the next time ou come to Lake Tahoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valley village
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We enjoyed our three night stay at the Americana. We had one of the newly refurbished rooms with two flat screen TVs, a very comfortable king bed, nice kitchen with fridge, microwave, dishwasher. Bathroom was new with a double showerheads, one lower for those who don't want to get their hair wet ,,,, nice thought. The small living-room was comfortable and great for watching TV or one of the many movies available for free at the front desk. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Workout room was nice ....however .....only 1 treadmill and 1 elliptical ....not enough equipment for the many guests that are there. We thought that a continental breakfast was being offered but that is not really what they have. Don't consider donuts, hard boiled eggs and sliced oranges a continental breakfast. No rolls, yogurts, cereals, etc. which are the normal items included in a continental breakfast being offered. There is free coffee and popcorn in the lobby, but no coffee packets in the room. There is a coffee machine, but you need to buy your coffee beans. Also, two of the three nights we were unable to park on the premises. The front desk informed us that many guests are using more then the one spot they are allotted .... however .... that did not make us feel any better by parking along side of the highway rather then in a more secure area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here at the Americana. You were here at our very busiest time of the year! I hope you will come see us again, if you ask for coffee beans at the front desk, we will me more than happy to provide them. We always have a fresh brewed pot on though out the day as well. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we hope to see you on your next trip to Tahoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americana Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Village

Address: 3845 Pioneer Trail, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#8 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Americana Village 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe is the ultimate year around playground! Every season has adventure to offer and we’d like to to make sure you have a place to crash after your adventurous day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Americana Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Village Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Americana Vacation Hotel
Americana Vacation Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americana Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.