We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thouroughly Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Americana Village

Save Saved
You added Americana Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americana Village
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3845 Pioneer Trail, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Central MN
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Thouroughly Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Spent 2 nights with my mom on her RCI points. We were disappointed the this is nothing more than an old motel that has been updated. We were expecting a low-mid end resort. The room was not ready when we arrived 30 minutes early & we told that it would not be ready until 1 hour after our expected check in. The room itself was very nice. However, it is just one large room with a curtain that pulls shut. There is little privacy within your group. Two tv's are within sight of each bed area and when 2 different channels are on, you hear everything. The small kitchen area was nice with a full frig and dishwasher.
The complimentary breakfast was basic but nice. A fresh assortment of donuts, hard boiled eggs, 2 fruit choices, juice, and coffee the morning we were there. We found our room to be noisy from the sidewalk area and from the 2nd floor inhabitants. We slept on the pull out couch - which is a blow up mattress built into the sofa - and were very uncomfortable. Didn't bother pulling it out the 2nd night we were there - just slept on the sofa.
The pool was out of service during our stay...a walk across a somewhat busy road to the neighboring hotel was offered. I appreciated the complementary washer/dryer. The front desk staff did not seem to be able to answer many questions about the area, but we did find a concierge was available during the day, which was helpful. The last day of my mom's stay, her car was burglarized.
Despite the nice room, I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    43
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
60
59
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cottonwood, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I use to travel alot and I have never stayed in a hotel in a busy city that was so quiet & peaceful!! The room was exceptionally clean, the shower was awesome w/2 showerheads and very large (room for 2) which saved time in the am. The King bed was exceptionally comfy. My only complaint w/the room is you should supply at least 1 coffee filter and some coffee for room, I realize you have it in office, but for a quick 1 night stay it's not something I lug around. Even if there was a small 2 buck fee it would have been nice to not have to leave room to get coffee.
Free popcorn & movies is a great bonus!! The staff you have at this property and the stardust is utterly amaizng there are super friendly and very helpful, the all deserve a bonus for there super fantistic service!! They are just all around nice & friendly people!! When we were there the pool was down & Hot tub that was a bit dissappointing, but it worked out. We would like to come back and try it again!
My only complaint is the housekeeping staff were very loud and gabbing right near our open windows quite early in the am, well early for us, we would have liked to sleep in a little longer!!

Room Tip: Away from office where early morning housekeepers hang out and talk very loudly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
We so appreciate you taking the time to let others know about your great visit with us. Great customers make it more fun to strive to provide great service. Hope you will come and see us again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This little motel was a gem to find. Great location in south Tahoe just off main street so quiet but still close to restaurants, shops and attractions. The staff is fabulous. Warm and genuine. The property is like a little park complete with a secert garden, massive trees, horse shoes, porch swings and chattering squirrels. The amnesties numerous- free wifi and pop corn, lots of movies to check out. The room are fully stocked with eveything you could need for an extended stay - including a blender and electric frying pan! They offer fun daily activities and a meals for like 7 dollars. the rooms are a little out of date and bfast was very simple. But we had a great time and would recommend this property to friends

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments! It is great to hear that you had such a good time, hope you will come to see us again on your next visit you Tahoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We were at this property for a week in Sept 2012 using an RCI exchange. Friendly staff & very helpful. We had a one bedroom unit and it was great. Probably recently remodeled. New kitchen area with stainless appliances. Nice furnishings and very comfortable bed. Only negative is that there is no private balcony for any of the units but there are chairs and benches that you can use on the lawn if you want to have a cocktail or glass of wine outdoors or to just relax and enjoy the incredible weather. We had a small dog with us and had no problem. Definitely recommend this property. It is a block away from the main street and in walking distance to state line and the Nevada casinos. Close to everything but you still get the feeling that you are in the woods.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed for four nights in mid August. The remodeled deluxe Studio was great, and included sitting area with TV, bedroom with TV, small kitchen, and fine bathroom, with one of the best showers we have encountered in our travels. The location is a block south of S. Lake Tahoe Blvd and a few blocks west of stateline. The rooms have no air conditioning, but do have fans, which is probably only a minor issue in August. The complementary breakfast is pretty basic, but suitable if you are in a hurry.

The staff was uniformly helpful and very friendly. We highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. Very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Hope you will give us a call when you are planning your next visit to South Lake Tahoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Brunswick, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I would rate the employees of this establishment as being the most customer service oreintated hosts that I have ever had! This is a great family friendly establishment that is so close to the action you can walk to everything.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments. I have shared this one with my entire staff, wish you could have seen them all grinning from ear to ear. Pleasing our guests is what we are all about here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Lorenzo, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I spent one night at your Village with my brother and sister, my brother made the reservations so I didn't know what to expect. What a great place to stay, staff was wonderful , rooms were remodeled beautiful , room was spotless clean , everything you needed for a comfortable stay. I will recommend your place to friends and family. Our room got a little stuffy all we had to do was plug in our fan which was provided) for a comfortable sleep. Check out was fast and pleasant, hope to see you again soon. Joanne

Room Tip: If you don't want to hear children laughing and playing there are always other options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, Manager at Americana Village, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
We are pleased to hear that you had a Great Experience here, Thank you so much for taking the time to respond! We hope to see you the next time you come up to South Lake Tahoe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americana Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Village

Address: 3845 Pioneer Trail, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#7 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Americana Village 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tahoe is the ultimate year around playground! Every season has adventure to offer and we’d like to to make sure you have a place to crash after your adventurous day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Americana Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Village Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Americana Vacation Hotel
Americana Vacation Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americana Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.