We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What are we missing?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of 7 Seas Inn at Tahoe

Save Saved
You added 7 Seas Inn at Tahoe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
7 Seas Inn at Tahoe
4145 Manzanita Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What are we missing?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Number 5 in South Lake Tahoe?

We reserved two nights here based on the flattering reviews on Tripadvisor. Yes, the owners were friendly and the place was clean, but the room was awful. We were given room 111. Two queen beds were crammed into a small room that couldn't accommodate them. Why? Smaller beds, or one bed, would have been fine, but with the queens there was barely room to turn around. We had to climb around the bed to get into the bathroom and over the bed to get to the closet, where the refrigerator was. How unprofessional. It wasn't worth the effort to try to unpack--we cancelled our second night. The entire building is dark, cramped and cluttered. We skipped breakfast--we couldn't wait to get our of there! It was a low point in our trip.

Our bill with tax was $90 (plus $7.50 to cancel the second night.) We weren't expecting luxury by any means, just a comfortable room in which to unwind. There are dozens of motels in the area with similar prices which looked so much more inviting. We have always trusted Tripadvisor, and the other places we stayed on our trip matched the descriptions. In this case, we were very disappointed

On the bright side, we were happy to discover nearby Lakeside Beach, with its beautiful view and charming outdoor restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THufler, Manager at 7 Seas Inn at Tahoe, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. Our Inn was built in the 1960's and we do our best to blend the traditional style of the Inn with the needs of today’s guests. All the rooms at the Inn are the same size, fitted with either two queen beds or one king sized bed. Most guests prefer larger more comfortable beds and the savings of accommodating a family in one room. Unfortunately, that room was not a good fit for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    99
    13
    17
    8
See reviews for
63
151
31
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, England
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Old-style hotel with very pleasant owners. A short walk to the lakeside.

We like to sleep with the curtains open, so not ideal to have a ground floor room - but our room was clean with a comfortable bed and good shower.

We only stayed for one night, but would have been very happy to stay for longer.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Older motel. Parking lot was extremely steep, with cars needing to be parked with one door downhill, and one door uphill, dangerous to walk on. Only one Handicapped parking spot, and it could not be used, would block four parked cars. No headboards on beds. Very minimal breakfast items, no microwave in breakfast room, nor space to sit down. Old door locks and knobs. Noisy old air conditioner. Rooms best suited for the ski crowd. Large dog, from non-motel building behind, barked from 2 AM until after 3 AM.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This older little motel was a great find for us. You can enjoy a free continental breakfast looking at the charming landscape and listening to the subtle fountains. The hosts, Carolyn, Grant & Tim are most congenial. It's a most accommodating pet friendly place equipped with a fire hydrant on the lawn and canine treats on the counter. You can get a free beach pass and the beach is within short walking distance. The casinos, Heavenly Tram, and numerous shops are all within walking distance. The price is very reasonable. It's a great place to stay and relax for pet people and non pet people. You will not be disappointed. Big time thumbs up on this great little place!!

Dinah M. Potoski
Chico, CA

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

It may not be fancy but rest assured that you'll have a wonderful stay here for the nice rooms and affordable price they offer. Very close and a walking distance to the Heavenly, our stay in 7 Seas was very comfortable. They have available parking spaces and good internet connection too! Consider staying here, you will surely love it here, because we did!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We loved this charming little motel. Incredibly friendly hosts, informative, cheerful and welcoming. Super comfortable bed!! 70's retro motel feel with all the comforts and cleanliness you hope for. Darling dog and close to restaurants (check out the satellite brewery) and the beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The 7 Seas Inn is by far one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in and that is saying something because I've stayed in many a hotels. Its not fancy if that is what you are after but offers everything you need and a bit more. The service is above and beyond. We were given several recommendations on places to eat and they were spot on with all of them! Our room was very spacious and clean. The bed was oh so comfortable and the breakfast simple. You get passes for the beach, 2 blocks away. You are within 5-10 minute walk of the main street and the Heavenly Gondola. You also get free wifi. Oh and they allow pets! We didn't have ours with us but if we ever get back they will come along for the trip. And for the price! You couldn't ask for anything better than 7 Seas Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 7 Seas Inn at Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 7 Seas Inn at Tahoe

Also Known As:
Seven Seas Inn At Tahoe Hotel
Seven Seas Inn At Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
7 Seas Hotel
7 Seas Motel
Address: 4145 Manzanita Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#10 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, Comfortable Lodging at an Affordable PriceYou will Love our Hospitality and ValueClean rooms, great location and excellent service are just some of the reasons why the members of TripAdvisor have ranked the 7 Seas Inn among the best lodging in South Lake Tahoe.The 7 Seas Inn is conveniently located within 2 blocks of the lake, Heavenly Mountain Gondola, the casinos, shopping and casual dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your 7 Seas Inn at Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 7 Seas Inn at Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.