We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little find!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 7 Seas Inn at Tahoe

Save Saved
You added 7 Seas Inn at Tahoe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
7 Seas Inn at Tahoe
4145 Manzanita Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great little find!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at many motels over the country and this was by far the best value for money! A quick 10 min walk to the heavenly gondola, 5 minutes to the casino, with amazing hospitality! We felt very welcome from the moment we got there and it Definately had a "homely" feel to it. The rooms aren't perfect but they are slowly renovating things one at a time, ours was clean and neat with fresh paint and clean bedding. Only thing we would say that needs to be looked into is the showers- varied from scalding hot to freezing cold. But other than that no other issues! Great breakfast!!! As we were use to only getting a donut or crappy stale pastry we were pleasantly suprised with the variety of toast, bagels, muffins, waffles, cereal, fruit, juice, tea and coffee!! Would highly recommend it if you don't mind motels- if you are a snob and want the Hilton experience it is not for you.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    228
    99
    13
    17
    8
See reviews for
63
151
31
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was expecting much better given all the 5 star reviews on Trip Advisor.

The bad:
1. The bed is uncomfortably firm. Neither of us slept well either night. This alone would send me to another hotel. I didn't mind the small room, but I want to sleep well.
2. The other guests. They seem to be catering to groups of friends who want to come up to Tahoe and party. There was loud noise outside of our room each night until past midnight, and since it's a motor lodge set-up with paper thin doors, we could hear everything. Also didn't like the other guests smoking right outside of door.
3. The shower fluctuated from freezing cold to scalding hot. Again, not very comfortable.

Just OK: The breakfast (nothing special, you eat in your room, horrible coffee, selection of bagels, english muffins, cereal and instant oatmeal)

The good: The staff is friendly and you're within walking distance to the Heavenly Gondola. The room was clean.

For the price and with the reviews, I was expecting basic, but nice, amenities. Nothing about our s tay differentiated it from other low-budget motels and given the uncomfortable bed and loud guests I will stay elsewhere when we return to Tahoe.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the 7 Seas Inn. The hotel is very close to the Heavenly Village and cassinos, so we could go by foot everywhere. The lake and a public beach can also be accessed in a walking distance. The room is small, but all the necessary amenities are provided, and the bed is very confortable. I dont´t know about the other rooms, but the one we got had an electric fireplace.The breakfast was simple but everything was of very good quality. The location of our room were downstair, in the corner, facing the parking space, so it was a little bit noisy. I recommend asking for a room upstair, as far as possible from the parking lot and entrance.I would definitly come back to the 7 Seas inn.

Room Tip: I recommend asking for a room upstair, as far as possible from the parking lot and entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I drive over 50000 miles a year for work and have stayed all over the place. This has been hands down the best value for my dollar. The owner and staff are the are by far friendliest I have ever experienced and were an absolute positive pleasure to be around. I got sick, threw up and made the biggest mess...without even being asked the staff had everything cleaned and changed right away (all I asked for was new sheets)
FAST internet and very long range wifi...walking distance from all the venues. Parking was NEVER an issue...my friends loved the hot tub and used it every day we stayed. I could not have asked for better service which is very rare these days, I was very pleased with my stay and will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have stayed at the 7 Seas Inn 4 times in the past 5 years. We keep going back because it is clean, well-priced, friendly staffed place. For a one star hotel you get plenty of linens, a mini-fridge and microwave in the room, comfortable beds, and the option to bring your dog. Furthermore there is free breakfast that offers fruit, cereal, oatmeal, toast with peanut butter, and coffee. For $100/night in South Lake Tahoe so close to the Heavenly Gondola and Casinos it can't be beat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is a very reasonably priced motel that is a five minute walk from the casinos. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the owner is in the process of making upgrades to the rooms (flat screen TV, new showers, etc.) The staff is responsive and the owner is sweet, friendly and helpful. You can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san luis obispo, ca
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

First off, this is a well priced one star budget hotel. This is not a three star hotel at a bargain price. The small room was clean, with all things working. New flat screen tvs were installed the day we arrived with over 100 channels. The beds were comfortable, lots of hot water, and the heater worked well. Luckily it was not very cold, as there was a gap under the door and in the bathroom window. It is run like a bed and breakfast, as the owners often are sitting outdoors chatting with guests. It is around 3-4 blocks to the gondola at heavenly. Did not use the hot tub. The breakfast is cereal and bagels with peanut butter.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 7 Seas Inn at Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 7 Seas Inn at Tahoe

Also Known As:
Seven Seas Inn At Tahoe Hotel
Seven Seas Inn At Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
7 Seas Hotel
7 Seas Motel
Address: 4145 Manzanita Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#10 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, Comfortable Lodging at an Affordable PriceYou will Love our Hospitality and ValueClean rooms, great location and excellent service are just some of the reasons why the members of TripAdvisor have ranked the 7 Seas Inn among the best lodging in South Lake Tahoe.The 7 Seas Inn is conveniently located within 2 blocks of the lake, Heavenly Mountain Gondola, the casinos, shopping and casual dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your 7 Seas Inn at Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 7 Seas Inn at Tahoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.