We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mark Twain Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Lake Tahoe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mark Twain Lodge
947 Park Ave., South Lake Tahoe, CA 91650   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Pleasant Hill, CA
1 review
“Great Place to Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We booked several rooms for a family get together and had a fantastic stay. The suites are wonderful and all of the rooms were clean and updated. Loved that we could visit and prepare meals within the suites and outdoor cooking area. The pool area is also really nice. It's a great location with just a short walk to the casinos, shopping areas and beach. We had a perfect weekend and would definitely go back and highly recommend.

Room Tip: If you're there with another couple or kids, the suite is perfect as it has two bedrooms with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    8
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Martinez, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is the only hotel I will stay at in South Lake Tahoe. The rooms are super CLEAN and are updated. The hotel is in a great location. You are walking distance to the casinos, shopping and beach. The pool is great for use in the summer time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Stylish, bordering on luxurious, open fireplace, a grade furnishings that reflect a mark twain cabin. A two minute walk to the gondola, and all stateliness has to offer, I love the place!!! The staff is courteous and efficient, the owners are terrific people, really, it leaves the surrounding places for dead. I do not consider staying anywhere else

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stumbled upon the mark twain during one of my trips to Tahoe when the courtyard misplaced my reservation, fortunately for me the management at the Mark Twain provided me with a room, and what a surprise the room was huge and well decorated the bathrooms were especially great(large tub and separate shower) I don't need to look any more on my trips to Tahoe the mark Twain has every comfort that I look for and a great location next to the casinos,

Thanks Mark Twain
Scott R
Folsom ,Ca

Room Tip: Every room which I stayed in was great, the big rooms fit my family of 4 kids with room to spare ,an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I've been to the Mark Twain numerous times and for many holiday weekends. I've never been disappointed. The rooms are fully remodeled with great suites on the top floor for families. I've stayed on multiple trips here for a week in the suites and it always feels like home. The location can't be beat and the price is fair.

Room Tip: The suites sleep multiple couples or family. Full kitchen and dining rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Joaquin, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying at the Mark Twain motel about four or five times and have never been disappointed. My husband and I discovered this little gem about four years ago. I recently took my daughter for a mother-daughter weekend. she was very impressed. The rooms are always clean, the towels clean fresh and thick, and bed linens clean and bed comfortable, we enjoy the kitchenette, fireplace, and I really like the bathroom décor. The outside is keep clean and maintained by Cindy and her husband, both of whom are very nice and helpful. The pool is always clean and warm. No problems with parking, we’ve never felt unsafe and its a short walk to the casinos as well as the beach. We will go back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

You wont be Disappointed!! The Mark Twain is Amazing! The Decorator for these Rooms should win an award. Simple Elegance with All the Comforts of Home! The location is perfect for access to the Lake, Mountain Activities, Casino's, Restaurants. I felt very safe walking around day and night. The swimming pool was perfect, the staff is extremely helpful, the rooms are very clean. This place has it all. Looking forward to my next visit to Lake Tahoe and we will definitely be booking our stay at Mark Twain Lodge. Maybe the next time I can book one of their incredible suites!

Room Tip: Personally I don't think there is a bad location within the property. The suites are on the upp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mark Twain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Twain Lodge

Address: 947 Park Ave., South Lake Tahoe, CA 91650
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Also Known As:
Mark Twain Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Mark Twain Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mark Twain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mark Twain Lodge to your Saves list