We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mark Twain Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Lake Tahoe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mark Twain Lodge
947 Park Ave., South Lake Tahoe, CA 91650   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Pleasant Hill, California, United States
1 review
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I've been to the Mark Twain numerous times and for many holiday weekends. I've never been disappointed. The rooms are fully remodeled with great suites on the top floor for families. I've stayed on multiple trips here for a week in the suites and it always feels like home. The location can't be beat and the price is fair.

Room Tip: The suites sleep multiple couples or family. Full kitchen and dining rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    8
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Joaquin, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying at the Mark Twain motel about four or five times and have never been disappointed. My husband and I discovered this little gem about four years ago. I recently took my daughter for a mother-daughter weekend. she was very impressed. The rooms are always clean, the towels clean fresh and thick, and bed linens clean and bed comfortable, we enjoy the kitchenette, fireplace, and I really like the bathroom décor. The outside is keep clean and maintained by Cindy and her husband, both of whom are very nice and helpful. The pool is always clean and warm. No problems with parking, we’ve never felt unsafe and its a short walk to the casinos as well as the beach. We will go back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

You wont be Disappointed!! The Mark Twain is Amazing! The Decorator for these Rooms should win an award. Simple Elegance with All the Comforts of Home! The location is perfect for access to the Lake, Mountain Activities, Casino's, Restaurants. I felt very safe walking around day and night. The swimming pool was perfect, the staff is extremely helpful, the rooms are very clean. This place has it all. Looking forward to my next visit to Lake Tahoe and we will definitely be booking our stay at Mark Twain Lodge. Maybe the next time I can book one of their incredible suites!

Room Tip: Personally I don't think there is a bad location within the property. The suites are on the upp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Over the years I have stayed at several different motels, hotels & lodges in So. Lake Tahoe, but have never found anything like the Mark Twain Lodge. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, lots of amenities, friendly & helpful managers and to top it all off, it's "pet friendly" for those of us who just can't stand to leave Fido at home alone! Anyone who is looking for good price to value just has to give The Mark Twain Lodge a try - you'll never go anywhere else!

Room Tip: All of the rooms, upstairs & down, that I have stayed in are good, but the suites are the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

What a great place! It looks very modest on the outside but you would not believe what you see once you are in your room (or better even in one of the suits upstairs)! Nicely remodeled and decorated, with a fireplace and a kitchenette with granite countertops. Very nice bathroom with slate and modern shower. Everything is very clean, comfortable beds. It felt like home away from home. Sandy, the lodge keeper, is very hospitable and knowledgeable about the area, she made us feel very welcome. I found this place by accident and I highly recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra City, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I was looking for a place to stay for the weekend of July 19 for a concert, my friend had a room booked at $250 a night!! I was in Tahoe 6 weeks before the concert so I took the time to look for an affordable place to call home for the weekend, we looked at several motels along park avenue but all were dives mostly until I came to Mark Twain Motel. As stated below the front is not much but wow when you get in the rooms they are so nice and clean!! Cindy and Mike the managers go out of their way to make your stay comfortable and memorable. We wish we could have stayed longer, next time and every time we go to Tahoe we will be staying at the Mark Twain Motel not just for the rooms and accommodations but for the hospitality of the managers Mike and Cindy, way to go! We'll be back but not soon enough!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Lorenzo, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have stayed here several times in the last year and have been very happy with each stay. The property has been completely remodeled. The rooms are beautiful inside with crown molding and granite. It's very clean as well, which is very important to me. Love the location, it's within walking distance from heavenly village, casinos at stateline and a beach. Great value for your money. I stayed in the standard room with 2 full beds but I took a tour of the suites and they are amazing. So going to stay in one of those soon. The regular room has a microwave and small fridge which comes in handy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mark Twain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Twain Lodge

Address: 947 Park Ave., South Lake Tahoe, CA 91650
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Also Known As:
Mark Twain Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Mark Twain Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mark Twain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mark Twain Lodge to your Saves list
;