We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mark Twain Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Lake Tahoe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mark Twain Lodge
Save Saved
You added Mark Twain Lodge to your Saves list
947 Park Ave., South Lake Tahoe, CA 91650   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Oakland, California
1 review
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

What a great place! It looks very modest on the outside but you would not believe what you see once you are in your room (or better even in one of the suits upstairs)! Nicely remodeled and decorated, with a fireplace and a kitchenette with granite countertops. Very nice bathroom with slate and modern shower. Everything is very clean, comfortable beds. It felt like home away from home. Sandy, the lodge keeper, is very hospitable and knowledgeable about the area, she made us feel very welcome. I found this place by accident and I highly recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    9
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sierra City, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I was looking for a place to stay for the weekend of July 19 for a concert, my friend had a room booked at $250 a night!! I was in Tahoe 6 weeks before the concert so I took the time to look for an affordable place to call home for the weekend, we looked at several motels along park avenue but all were dives mostly until I came to Mark Twain Motel. As stated below the front is not much but wow when you get in the rooms they are so nice and clean!! Cindy and Mike the managers go out of their way to make your stay comfortable and memorable. We wish we could have stayed longer, next time and every time we go to Tahoe we will be staying at the Mark Twain Motel not just for the rooms and accommodations but for the hospitality of the managers Mike and Cindy, way to go! We'll be back but not soon enough!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Lorenzo, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have stayed here several times in the last year and have been very happy with each stay. The property has been completely remodeled. The rooms are beautiful inside with crown molding and granite. It's very clean as well, which is very important to me. Love the location, it's within walking distance from heavenly village, casinos at stateline and a beach. Great value for your money. I stayed in the standard room with 2 full beds but I took a tour of the suites and they are amazing. So going to stay in one of those soon. The regular room has a microwave and small fridge which comes in handy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Loved this hotel. We were looking for a nicer hotel since we were staying over Christmas. I noticed they had suites and were pet-frinedly. Also needed a location close to the Heavenly gondola. Mark Twain fit the bill! The website was not great, it's easier to call if you have questions. Plus, when I called, Cindy gave me a better rate since they were not full! The suite was beautiful! Mountain-style furniture which was quaint. The kitchen was really nice with granite countertops. The bathrooms had granite counters too! We had a 2 bedroom suite and each had a bathroom - the master had a jacuzzi and separate shower!. The master bedroom also had a fireplace. The common area - between the 2 bedrooms - had a sofa, oversized chair, fireplace, TV and kitchen with full dining table. Perfect for us and a great location. We walked to the casinos, the lake and the Heavely gondola.

Room Tip: the suites are on the top floor and single rooms on the bottom. It's a small motel and you can d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I recently stayed here and was quite happy and will go back. I was recommended it by a friend and she was right. Great location and extremely clean rooms. Outside and lobby was being redone while I was there. It does look average from outside....but incrediable inside.

Room Tip: Suites are nice if traveling w/family. Has full size refridgerator. Cooking ammenities Check out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This Labor Day, we chanced upon Mark Twain in Tahoe because the Rodeway Inn had messed up our 2 rooms reservation. Turns out the Mark Twain has wonderful remodelled 2 and 1 bedroom suites complete with fireplace, fully stocked kitchen, TVs in each of the bedrooms and the living room, heated pool etc. We were pleasantly surprised that it was very affordable - $250 for a 2 bedroom suite that could sleep 2 families (kids in pull-our sofa in living room). I would highly recommend the Mark Twain for families with children who want to be close to the beach (free pass available at the front desk) and the casinos and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basalt, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

The lobby was not too reassuring, but it did have crown moulding and a cute dog named Mutley. The hotel is dog friendly, and the price was fair. In the morning we walked to Heavenly village, so the location is nice. The room had a nice slate fireplace and a Jacuzzi tub in a remodeled bathroom. There was coffee and the bed slept nice, but the sheets were a bit scratchy; not too bad. Overall it was a great night stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mark Twain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Twain Lodge

Address: 947 Park Ave., South Lake Tahoe, CA 91650
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Also Known As:
Mark Twain Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Mark Twain Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mark Twain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.