We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rooms & Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mark Twain Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Lake Tahoe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mark Twain Lodge
Save
You added Mark Twain Lodge to your Saves list
947 Park Ave., South Lake Tahoe, CA 91650   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Walnut Creek, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Rooms & Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I recently stayed here and was quite happy and will go back. I was recommended it by a friend and she was right. Great location and extremely clean rooms. Outside and lobby was being redone while I was there. It does look average from outside....but incrediable inside.

Room Tip: Suites are nice if traveling w/family. Has full size refridgerator. Cooking ammenities Check out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    9
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This Labor Day, we chanced upon Mark Twain in Tahoe because the Rodeway Inn had messed up our 2 rooms reservation. Turns out the Mark Twain has wonderful remodelled 2 and 1 bedroom suites complete with fireplace, fully stocked kitchen, TVs in each of the bedrooms and the living room, heated pool etc. We were pleasantly surprised that it was very affordable - $250 for a 2 bedroom suite that could sleep 2 families (kids in pull-our sofa in living room). I would highly recommend the Mark Twain for families with children who want to be close to the beach (free pass available at the front desk) and the casinos and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basalt, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

The lobby was not too reassuring, but it did have crown moulding and a cute dog named Mutley. The hotel is dog friendly, and the price was fair. In the morning we walked to Heavenly village, so the location is nice. The room had a nice slate fireplace and a Jacuzzi tub in a remodeled bathroom. There was coffee and the bed slept nice, but the sheets were a bit scratchy; not too bad. Overall it was a great night stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

Nice location, nice and clean room. The reception area is not that impressive but the room is nice! We got the room with 1 king bed, shower tub with jacuzzi!, it has a small kitchen (microwave, ref., and lots of cabinets) About 2 blocks away from Lake Tahoe Blvd, and across is the famous outdoor mall of Tahoe and the gandolas. they don't offer wireless internet (whisper: but we were able to connect .... wink ; wink ;) Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

I just returned from an extended weekend with my 13 year old daughter and family friends. We were in town for a soccer tournament. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel! It looks fairly nondescript from the street, but once inside, the rooms are amazing! We were in a 2 bedroom suite that looked as if it had been remodeled yesterday by a professional decorator on a lavish budget! I had a chance to see other rooms, and they were as nice.
The location was also great- right across the street from the Heavenly Valley tram and shops- (all were within easy walking distance including a major super market , Starbucks and restaurants)- but about 2 blocks off the main street-so the noise was significantly less. The pool was also very nice- my daughter and her friends spent time there, as well as in our suite's in room Jacuzzi. Finally- access to a private beach is included. This is also within easy walking distance.
As any traveller knows, physical amenities are nice, but what really makes the difference are the people who run the place. Managers Jay and Roberta Dye were incredible- friendly, professional and willing to go above and beyond on several occasions to help us out.
I will definitely stay there again- my only concern is that once people find out about it, it'll be fully booked!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Ranch, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

Upon entry into the lobby we got a poor impression, but the room was totally remodeled and very nicely done. New plaster walls, new tub (GREAT bathtub with jets - LOVED it), and a nice gas fireplace. The beds were a bit hard, but we slept well. The hotel is right off the main street so you don't get the noise, but are still super close to the Heavenly shopping/gondola area. For a place to sleep, it was well worth the $109 we paid on a Saturday night during ski season.

PS - It's a pet friendly hotel too.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2008

My husband and I stayed one night at this lodge for a quick trip to Heavenly. The staff was friendly and the room was very nicely done. The bed was a little hard, but overall the small touches, the beautiful tile in the bathroom and the cozy "cabin" feel is hard to beat at this price. It's also within walking distance to the gondola, restuarants and casinos. We would definitely stay here again. Nice remodel!

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable, kitchenette, jacuzzi tub and
  • Disliked — Bed a little hard
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mark Twain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Twain Lodge

Address: 947 Park Ave., South Lake Tahoe, CA 91650
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Mark Twain Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Mark Twain Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mark Twain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.