We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for Tahoe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy S Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Lake Tahoe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lazy S Lodge
Save Saved
You added Lazy S Lodge to your Saves list
609 Emerald Bay Road, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
147 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Good base for Tahoe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights on cabin 104. Bed was very comfortable. Away from the hustle and bustle of the casino areas. Not fancy but very clean!! Used the BBQ grills at night. Refrigerator and cook top was convenient. Bathroom is very small and the shower head is very low. Great water pressure and plenty of hot water. The location is close to the road so there is road noise.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed here over Thanksgiving. The place was very comfortable and homey. It was very nice having a separate room for the kids and the kitchenette for meals. That saves a lot with a family of four. Will be staying here again. My biggest complaint would be the shower. This would be the cheapest update to do by simply installing an "S" shower arm to raise the height and then add a better shower head.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Good location off the road away from the congestion of S. Lake Tahoe. Only 15 minutes to Emerald Bay. Nice grounds: lawn and pool. Large room. Tiny bathroom with dated fixtures; could use more towel bars. Suited our purpose.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This looks like a basic 50s roadside motel, but we liked it! We have stayed here several times and the price is reasonable for what you get. All the rooms are a good size with a separate kitchen and living room area. They have not been updated in quite a while and are pretty 70s looking with the stand alone metal fireplaces, but they are clean and quaint. I would suggest bringing your own wood in the colder months, if you want a fire in the room, as the wood provided is often very green and refuses to burn. The service is not the best and the first few times we stayed, we did not realize there were walking trails so close, since no one mentioned them. For a good size room at a reasonable price, its tough to beat this motel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed here twice and will absolutely be back. We only live 2 hours away, but its a great way to escape the Sacramento valley heat. We love highway 89 which is where the motel is situated, not far from restaurants. There is a bicycle rental place right next door. This old fashioned motel simply can't be beat. The price is right..$89. We requested the same room we had last year and management accommodated us. It has 2 queen beds, plenty of windows that open, very convenient (and safe ) parking, the room has a small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and wall mounted TV-with a remote that works. The rooms are old, the window coverings need replacing. The bed linens and towels are fresh and clean. The grounds are beautiful..the lawn directly in front pf the rooms is beautiful. Picnic tables and a couple of BBQs are available. The pool area is clean and the pool is very inviting. Each time we have stayed there, we felt as though we were the only guests. They have a hot tub, but yesterday management advised me not to go in as it seemed someone didn't toilet (#1) a toddler so they wanted to clean the spa without just dumping a bunch of chlorine in. I appreciated his honesty.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

i have been staying at the lazy s lodge for about 5 yrs and evrytime my family and i stay there oh man we never want to leave. it is so close to camp richardson and the y and our family loves to bike ride theres a rental place right next store :) great pool for our kids and hot tub for us we love that there were a lot of pinic tabes with bbqs we love to bbq hot dogs for the kids very conveient. our over all stays are amazing and the price id very reasonable. it is just a family friendlly place and the staff there is amazing they help u out with whatever you need kirk and albert are really great mangagers and this place is beautiful :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

My Antique Car Club attends the Tallac Historic Site, Great Gatsby Festival (2 miles away, near Camp Richardson) every year on the second weekend of August. We have had up to eight couples and kids stay here for the weekend and never had a complaint (other than Kurt should answer the phonefaster!!!) from any one.

Stay here and relax from the hustle and bustle of the Casinos and noise & traffic of South Tahoe Blvd. I highly recommend the Lazy S!!t

Room Tip: Stay in the 'back' of the motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lazy S Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy S Lodge

Address: 609 Emerald Bay Road, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Lazy s Hotel South Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazy S Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.