We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large rooms w/ kitchens ect.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy S Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Lake Tahoe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lazy S Lodge
609 Emerald Bay Road, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel amenities
California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Large rooms w/ kitchens ect.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This looks like a basic 50s roadside motel, but we liked it! We have stayed here several times and the price is reasonable for what you get. All the rooms are a good size with a separate kitchen and living room area. They have not been updated in quite a while and are pretty 70s looking with the stand alone metal fireplaces, but they are clean and quaint. I would suggest bringing your own wood in the colder months, if you want a fire in the room, as the wood provided is often very green and refuses to burn. The service is not the best and the first few times we stayed, we did not realize there were walking trails so close, since no one mentioned them. For a good size room at a reasonable price, its tough to beat this motel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Granite Bay, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed here twice and will absolutely be back. We only live 2 hours away, but its a great way to escape the Sacramento valley heat. We love highway 89 which is where the motel is situated, not far from restaurants. There is a bicycle rental place right next door. This old fashioned motel simply can't be beat. The price is right..$89. We requested the same room we had last year and management accommodated us. It has 2 queen beds, plenty of windows that open, very convenient (and safe ) parking, the room has a small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and wall mounted TV-with a remote that works. The rooms are old, the window coverings need replacing. The bed linens and towels are fresh and clean. The grounds are beautiful..the lawn directly in front pf the rooms is beautiful. Picnic tables and a couple of BBQs are available. The pool area is clean and the pool is very inviting. Each time we have stayed there, we felt as though we were the only guests. They have a hot tub, but yesterday management advised me not to go in as it seemed someone didn't toilet (#1) a toddler so they wanted to clean the spa without just dumping a bunch of chlorine in. I appreciated his honesty.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

i have been staying at the lazy s lodge for about 5 yrs and evrytime my family and i stay there oh man we never want to leave. it is so close to camp richardson and the y and our family loves to bike ride theres a rental place right next store :) great pool for our kids and hot tub for us we love that there were a lot of pinic tabes with bbqs we love to bbq hot dogs for the kids very conveient. our over all stays are amazing and the price id very reasonable. it is just a family friendlly place and the staff there is amazing they help u out with whatever you need kirk and albert are really great mangagers and this place is beautiful :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

My Antique Car Club attends the Tallac Historic Site, Great Gatsby Festival (2 miles away, near Camp Richardson) every year on the second weekend of August. We have had up to eight couples and kids stay here for the weekend and never had a complaint (other than Kurt should answer the phonefaster!!!) from any one.

Stay here and relax from the hustle and bustle of the Casinos and noise & traffic of South Tahoe Blvd. I highly recommend the Lazy S!!t

Room Tip: Stay in the 'back' of the motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

If you want top-notch hotels with concierges, then this place isn't for you. But if you want a friendly, awesome old-time 50's style resort vacation, lay your towel on a lounger, grab some lemonade, and enjoy this rustic place. A huge lawn surrounds the pool area, and barbecues can accomodate family reunions. The location nestles in the pines, and is a walking trail from the beach. It is also a few miles from the clubs, and quite near excellent hiking, bicycling areas, as well as several smaller lakes. GREAT fun for families and kids, with bbq pits and tables outside the pool/hot tub area. Nice for family fun, or for sipping late-night lattes under the stars! We come back every year and create new memories each time. I already want to go back!

Room Tip: The kitchenettes are tiny, as is the kitchen sinks. The cottages house a king and twin bed, plus a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, CA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

I stayed at the Lazy S over the New Years. It was a last minute plan and because of a cancellation I got a cottage with king bed and kitchen. I called them earleir in the week and they were filled so i tried the stateline area and they wanted 400 a night for new years for one queen. Luckily a room opened up and they called me promptly. I payed les then 140 plus tax a night for 2 of us on Ney Years Eve and the next night was less. All the cottages have a fireplace for winter use and a sleeper fouton in the living room area. I do stay at the lazy S a lot during the winter because it is close to Sierra at Tahoe and also covient to Heavanly. The room was clean like it always is. There are a few restaurants down the street and many within 5 miles of the lodge. There is an excellant local deliverytservice from Fat City that delivers almost anything You want. One manager is knowledge about the tahoe area since he he spent many years living at the lake. The other manager is also the maintannce man and if there are any proplems he will fix them promptly Also the motel is less then a mile from the Y where there is a KMART and Raleys for all yopur shopping needs. During the holidays it can be busy but it is still quiet and quant. They do have there own snow plow and on this busy weekend we had few problems getting are car out but becuase the city did plow the street til the afternoown. One manager had to help a guest who got stuck. I love the parking there You can park right next to the back door of your room. It was difficult that weekend because of snow but they plowed the drive right away in the morning. In the past other lodging at tahoe dont have there own plow so it was at least 2 in the afternoon because we were plowed. Overall this is a older tahoe property but the owners have made improvements like new beds and appliances in the kitchen free wifi and it seems they are always doing something new. It is really a good deal in the winter becuase of the price and it is on the quiet side of South Lake tahoe. I dont usually write review but wanted to tell people that this is really a great bargain for skiers.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

After staying at Lazy S Lodge during New Year's weekend, I realized why it's probably named as such -- the owner was a pretty slow-moving, lazy-ish kinda guy. Although, after enough prodding, he did get the job done, so I can't complain too much.

Upon arrival, the lodge doesn't look that appealing to the eye. The exterior of the hotel (really the backside) is what's visible first, as you park your cars toward the back of the rooms. Walking around to the front of the rooms, the hotel doesn't look so shabby. The rooms themselves are fairly neat and clean. Each of our rooms was equipped with a large living room space with a fold-out futon bed, a fireplace, dining area, and a mini kitchenette. The bedroom had one single full-sized bed and a small bathroom, with a door leading to the backside of the hotel (where the cars are parked).

We got neighboring rooms and realized there was a connecting door. After we bugged the owner enough, he unlocked the center door for us at no charge, so we were able to get two adjoining rooms, which worked out perfectly.

The hotel does have a snow plow, but they only plow at certain times (i.e. whenever the owner isn't lazy), so be prepared for that to take a while if you have early morning plans and are snowed in. I can't say the service was that great in this hotel, yet it's a fantastic location, and looked like the hotel was fully booked.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lazy S Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy S Lodge

Also Known As:
Lazy s Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Lazy s Hotel
Address: 609 Emerald Bay Road, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazy S Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lazy S Lodge to your Saves list