We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Basecamp Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Basecamp Hotel to your Saves list
Basecamp Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4143 Cedar Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in October and really enjoyed our stay. Our King bed room and bathroom was extremely clean with a surprisingly comfortable mattress. We especially enjoyed the firepit for late night smores and local beers from the lobby bar. As others have mentioned this is a perfect spot for a younger crowd with decor and overall vibe to match. Our only minor complaint is the rooms did not provide tissues. Our east coast bodies were not fully adjusted to the elevation difference and we were constantly congested during our stay. Other then this minor complaint we would definitely stay again and recommend to others!

Pros: Great location, comfortable/clean rooms, fun decor, Smores
Cons: Rooms should provide tissues

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian H, General Manager at Basecamp Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Owen960,

Thank you for the kind words. We are grateful you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return to Basecamp next time you find yourself in Tahoe. That is a great suggestion to provide tissues in all our guest rooms and one we are acting on. Next time you join us there will certainly be a tissue box in your room for those high pollen or cold blustery days. Great suggestion, easy to implement, thanks again!

Cheers!

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    55
    14
    5
    0
See reviews for
59
111
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Basecamp hotel hosted our group of 20+ without and problems. In addition to the excellent location and hip interior designs, the staff is what really makes the experience. You will not regret deciding to stay at Basecamp. The breakfast spread is delicious and there are lots of great restaurants and shops just a quick walk down the road. My group and I will definitely be staying at Basecamp again next year and I highly recommend it to any traveler visiting South Lake Tahoe.

*Also, ask to make s'mores for an added bonus to any night :]

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Basecamp's premise and design is adorable - an old motel hipped up into cool Ace-hotel style Tahoe spot. The room and common area decor, complete w/ original art by San Francisco artist Wendy Macnaughton, is well done. However, the in-room experience is not ideal.

I was there in July, when Tahoe is hot, and the A/C was not up to the task of creating a comfortable room temperature. The windows do open, but since it is a refurbished motel, you're leaving your windows open to the parking lot and other guests walking by, which isn't very private for sleeping.

My room, on the 2nd floor, also had a speaker right outside, which played fairly loud music all day. We did ask to have it turned down, and they did, but it was still an oddly intrusive sort of thing.

It did feel that Basecamp would be a perfect spot for younger (20s) clientele, who I imagine would ski/swim for the entire day and party at night. We had a few party rooms on site when we were there and the noise traveled across the courtyard/parking lot. This isn't necessarily a bad thing, considering who you are, but the noise is something to consider if you are a light sleeper or go to bed early.

Pros:
Design
Access to private beach down the road and on-site hot tub
Nice and accommodating staff

Cons:
Consistent Noise
Minimal A/C

To consider:
Motel-layout and noise

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were due to stay in Yosemite but due to the government shut down we had to change or plans and decided to book a couple of nights in Lake Tahoe at Basecamp. I think the shutdown did us a favour! In Yosemite we were due to stay in a tent and would have been very underprepared!
Basecamp is the format of all the other traditional motel but has been renovated with modern and cosy interiors. The rooms are spacious with nice bathrooms. There is a big communal area with a bar and a fireplace and 2 outdoor areas with fire pits and a hot tub. The staff were very helpful recommending cycling trails and a bike hire company and other things to do in the area. The breakfast provided was really good too - fresh bagels, yogurt, cereal & pastries.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood, Missouri
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Found this hotel from TripAdvisor reviews and have not been disappointed. My King room is large and just as pictured online. The bed is very comfy and the sheets are clean! Decorations are appropriate for the overall theme from the fun Tahoe area canvas map over the bed to the railroad spike coat rack to the pipe fitting bath hardware. The bathroom is a nice size and spotlessly clean. They serve a nice bagel & pastry breakfast in the mornings in the lobby. They also offer a dinner on Fridays and Saturdays and Wednesdays (?) for an extra charge; I did not take advantage of the dinners. A fire pit outside the lobby is a nice touch on cool evenings.
My only complaints for this hotel is the lack of a little shelf in the shower and no tissues in the room. Other than those little quirks, this is a nice hotel at a decent price in a beautiful area. I will most definitely recommend BaseCamp Hotel to any travelers to South Lake Tahoe and look forward to my next visit.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed at Basecamp after our son made a recommendation from friends. We checked the reviews and decided to book a night during a road trip. The hotel went through an extensive renovation and the reception person explained that many of the old building materials were reused in the renovation in very unique ways (towel bars made from old plumbing pipes). We booked a nice functional room with a beautiful view of the mountain. The location was perfect because we were within walking distance of the beach, shopping , casinos and gondola. However, the new development next door had construction starting at 7 AM and eventually, this new construction will block the view of the mountain. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean and functional.

Unfortunately, our great expectations were negated with a number of disappointments. We had read that they offer a family style dinner on certain nights. There was no mention of this when we checked in. We were told they have a happy hour in their bar but when we attended, we could not find anyone to serve us. We were also told they have a lovely breakfast in the morning with great pastries from a local bakery. Those pastries were actual tiny and tasted like day-old baked goods. As for the room, it was decent and comfortable and afforded us a good nights sleep until the tractors next door started up early on a Saturday morning. The room did not have a tissues or coffee maker that we find should be standard. The night got very cold and when we turned on the heater in the morning, the smoke detector activated. I immediately turned off the heater and I was tall enough to reach the smoke detector to reset it. At check out, I advised the reception person about this and she just laughed it off as dust burning because the heaters have not been used. She indicated this has happened a few times. I suggested they should both clean the heaters and inspect them to ensure they are operating properly.

Basecamp has a uniqueness to it amongst the many smaller hotels/motels and could be much more with better service. It's well located for walking to many venues, but the views will not last. We've tried it but we will not return.

Room Tip: During warm seasons, get a balcony room with a view of the mountain. In winter, a fireplace room wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

While I cringe at my attempt for a witty title I do however feel that basecamp was ace!!
We stayed in August as part of our USA adventure and basically have no complaints.
Beautiful place, well thought out funky on trend design, helpful and friendly staff and nice laid back atmosphere for like minded people.
My only complaint is they ran out of xl basecamp tshirts as a souvenir of our time in south Lake Tahoe.
Hope to visit again!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Basecamp Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basecamp Hotel

Address: 4143 Cedar Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#3 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Basecamp Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe is a new hotel built for exploring the incredible lakes, trails and mountains that the Lake Tahoe Basin has to offer. Basecamp combines the comforts of a great hotel with the sense of adventure and community found at a an expedition base camp. Basecamp is located in the heart of South Lake Tahoe, steps from the mountain and minutes walk from the lake. Become an instant local at Basecamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Basecamp Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Block Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Block Hotel Lake Tahoe
Block Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basecamp Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.