We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't say enough” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basecamp Hotel

Save Saved
You added Basecamp Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Basecamp Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4143 Cedar Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 70 hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Sacramento, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Can't say enough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Just wanted to express my deepest thanks to basecamp for coming through. I had a complete weekend set up for my anniversary and they really came through. The customer service was 5 star and everything was perfect. Thank you guys for coming through in a pinch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    181
    45
    14
    3
    0
See reviews for
47
97
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

What a great find! If you are after a big chain hotel with indifferent staff, sterile surrounds and serving a greasy, plastic breakfast .... this place is definitely not for you. A quirky, hip and communal place that puts the focus on ensuring a relaxed and enjoyable stay for guests .... from the kids with $2 s'more kits to roast over the fire pits; to the adults with craft beer happy hour and a hot tub on the roof. Fun and fabulous artwork throughout the communal areas and rooms. Breakfast was a highlight, with healthy serves of granola, oatmeal, pastries and fresh fruit (using real plates and cutlery, not disposable). A free beach pass made getting to the water very easy and we watched beautiful sunsets over the lake as we ate two nights in a row at the restaurant on the beach where we got a further 15% discount.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Basecamp is a motel converted into boutique lodging. The rooms are small, but well decorated and very clean (though our room did get hot at times as we visited in August and most rooms don't have AC). The lobby is very quaint/rustic and has a small bar the gets serves microbrews nightly. The staff is young, attentive, and very friendly. There are two gas fire pits for roasting marshmellows at night and premade smore packages available for a small fee. Overall the hotel was wonderful and is a nice change of pace from the busy casino strip, though only a block away from the action.

Room Tip: Some rooms apparently get hotter than others, some have AC, some have just fans, some have fireplace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Let me start by saying that the staff, Libby especially, are great. There was a huge fire to the south in Yosemite that covered Lake Tahoe with smoke and instead of staying for 5 nights we only stayed for one. So leaving wasn't because of Base Camp. That said, we did find the room, although well made up with a good bed, quite small. 3 feet to the wall on each side of the bed is just not enough room to operate freely.
Don't look for a dresser to unpack if you are staying for longer than one night. The shelves on the wall just don't cut it as drawers. The bathroom is small and two do not maneuver well in that space. If you are looking for a spacious room then go next door to the resorts. Stairs are another problem. There is no elevator so if you are handicapped there is no provision for having a room with a balcony. Our mistake for not reserving one because there is no place other than their patio to sit and have a nice glass of wine in the evening. Athletisism is key.

Room Tip: Do ask for4 a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Due to the forest fires in the area, our stay at Lake Tahoe was shorter than intended. It was a pity since we loved the base camp hotel! We had room 230, "the great indoors", which is basically a campsite in a room :-). Apart from very clean, functional and well-equipes rooms with love for details, there are many more things like a very friendly and helpful staff which make this hotel a great place for a stay in South Lake Tahoe. We'll be back (hopefully next year) and hope to catch up what we missed because of the forest fires!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We chose Basecamp because of the good ratings and fresh look. The concept is great and makes a real change from the usual hotel/motels available out there. Rooms are basic but comfortable with everything you should need. No refrigerator in the room but do provide you with a cooler box a plenty ice available so no loss. Really loved the hotel lobby, bar and dinning room area. We only had one issue with this hotel and saw that some previous guests experienced a similar problem. It can be very noisy depending on you room location and fellow guests. Unfortunately the rooms are not well sound proofed and we had a group of or large French speaking family with kids who continuously ran up and down the corridors, slammed doors and seemed to be jumping from the beds onto the floors. This continued up until about 10pm every night. This is not a fault with the hotel though but inconsiderate guests who cannot control their children.

Room Tip: Try get a room on the top floor if you have an issue with noise and are a light sleeper like me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

First and foremost-this place is a break from the foresty lodgelike resorts and casinos. It kind of reminds me of a cool retro motor motel from the 70's, with more modern touches. What is helpful is its in a great location which is pretty much off the CA/NV stateline. You can walk blocks to the nearest beachfront and blocks to popular shopping areas and casinos. Basecamp is definitely ideal if you are in town to gamble or see a show.

We had a Queen Room. Spacious Room, comfortable beds, flat screen TV, closet and small bathroom. I am not sure i'd recommend this type of room for more than 2 people unless you were traveling with a baby.

THERE IS NO A/C BUT JUST A HEADS UP WE STAYED AT 3 HOTELS WHILE IN LAKE TAHOE AND NOT ONE HAD A/C. THIS IS COMPLETELY NORMAL!

This location is not why i fell in love with the hotel, it is the attention they paid to detail when decorating the rooms and lobby. The lobby is very welcoming with it's own flare of outdoor decor. They have a full service bar with local craft beer on tap ( a little pricey but hey i'm on vacation) The is communal breakfast if you RSVP. Staff was super friendly as they were sitting in the lobby . Before we arrived one of the staff sent us a personal email recommending places to rent SUP and bikes. There is a firepit outside and a hottub up on top of the outdoor patio. Parking is a bit tight but nonetheless we found one everytime.

i'd stay here again, hope this helps!

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to be in a great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Basecamp Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basecamp Hotel

Address: 4143 Cedar Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Basecamp Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe is a new hotel built for exploring the incredible lakes, trails and mountains that the Lake Tahoe Basin has to offer. Basecamp combines the comforts of a great hotel with the sense of adventure and community found at a an expedition base camp. Basecamp is located in the heart of South Lake Tahoe, steps from the mountain and minutes walk from the lake. Become an instant local at Basecamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Basecamp Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Block Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Block Hotel Lake Tahoe
Block Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basecamp Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.