We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, really nice design and friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basecamp Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Basecamp Hotel to your Saves list
Basecamp Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4143 Cedar Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel, really nice design and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We loved our stay at the Basecamp, they did an amazing job with the interior design, everything's really well thought of and the staff is friendly and helpful. A great place to stay, right in the middle of South Lake Tahoe!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    55
    14
    5
    0
See reviews for
59
111
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Arrived early and got to check-in straight away as our room was ready. The lad behind the desk was very helpful with things to see and do in and around the area. The location is fantastic, in a very quiet location, just 5 minute walk from the beach which you get free access to as a hotel guest (otherwise $5/person) and the same from Heavenly village and the Gondola which goes to the top of the mountain. Also the casinos of South Lake Tahoe are just minutes away too. The rooms though quite small have everything we needed...king bed/tv/bathroom with walk-in shower/storage. There was also a ceiling fan which was very much needed, as whilst we were there they were in the middle of a heat wave, they also provided an extra standing fan for each room whilst we were there. There is a spa on the roof of reception which was very nice but no pool.
They provide complimentary continental breakfast and free wifi.
Can't recommend this place highly enough!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in June room 320 and I have to say it is a top notch stay. Huge room, very well equipped, clean, new, fresh, I could go on and on. They have spec'd it out to a very high standard.
The place offers a free healthy breakfast, free WIFI and a happy hour at the bar. it is central (small walk) to everything being right on the state line. The best bit is the price of the rooms. I will not stay anywhere else if I return to Tahoe (winter or summer) and wish them all the best on their new(ish) venture.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at basecamp from Wednesday to Friday and the first thing to mention is the price. At $109 a night I was expecting a flee ridden motel, but Basecamp has exceptional interior and exterior decor. It is a really quirky boutique hotel at an incredibly reasonable price.

My favorite part if the stay was get hearing round the fire put and making smores with all the other guests.

The whole place is geared up to the communal with a really nice front desk and lounge area.

Plus the breakfasts are great. Granola, porridge oats, pastries, orange juice. A great way to start the day.

And if you don't know what to do with your day the staff are super helpful. The helped me and my buddy rent mountain bikes and plot a course that was just great.

I will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is a great spot right on the California - Nevada State line. It's been newly refurbished and is a great locale for touring the Lake. It's also very close to what could be considered the active centre of South Lake Tahoe.

The place has been given a funky face lift and it's been done really well. the rooms are well appointed and have all the facilities you need. This is not a Hilton (and frankly it's probably better than some of the Hiltons Iv'e stayed in), it's a converted Motel but with the decor and facilities it doesn't feel like a motel, it feels like a hotel with a reasonable (and free) car park in it. So do not expect a swanky dining room for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Breakfast is a simple affair but ok none the less. I didn't make use of the Hot Tub but I did use the bar and while its the smallest bar in the world it's well stocked and a great little spot for an unwind. I didn't do the S'more's either but I watched a group of ladies eat their own body weight in the things, so they are clearly good. The fire pit outside is a great place to sit and finish an evening off.

What really makes this place are the staff! Super friendly, super chatty and just really relaxed, nothing is too much trouble. They really did make this a great stay (I'm sorry Chicago didn't win the Ice hockey by the way).

I didn't give it an excellent, for one reason only! We where in room 225 which meant we had a room above us. The insulation between our room and the room above doesn't hide the noise very well, or indeed at all. So here is my tip, if your booking in here get a room on the top floor (there are only 2 floors).

Overall a great location, a great stay and amazing staff.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 3rd floor! It will stop you worrying about getting a heard of elephants stamped...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cbrazas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I was only able stay at Basecamp for one night; I wish I could have stayed longer. The rooms are clean. The bar, hot tub, and patio are great. Breakfast was one of the best parts. From the service to decor, I loved everything about this hotel. I'm amazed the hotel is so affordable. Without hesitation I would stay at Basecamp again if I were in Tahoe.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Found this small remodeled motel on TA... it is on Stateline, across from the casinos. The rooms are nice, clean, beds are comfy, flat screen TV's... The staff are nice and friendly, small little bar with happy hour and good micro brew on tap...a welcoming lobby that begs folks to kick back and visit, Just a cool kick back place that you will like. The continental breakfast and coffee were good too!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Basecamp Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basecamp Hotel

Address: 4143 Cedar Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#2 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#3 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Basecamp Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe is a new hotel built for exploring the incredible lakes, trails and mountains that the Lake Tahoe Basin has to offer. Basecamp combines the comforts of a great hotel with the sense of adventure and community found at a an expedition base camp. Basecamp is located in the heart of South Lake Tahoe, steps from the mountain and minutes walk from the lake. Become an instant local at Basecamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Basecamp Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Block Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Block Hotel Lake Tahoe
Block Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basecamp Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.