We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy yet modern w/ a location you can't beat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basecamp Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Basecamp Hotel to your Saves list
Basecamp Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4143 Cedar Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cozy yet modern w/ a location you can't beat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I had been wanting to stay here since I first heard that the old Block hotel had been converted, and I was not disappointed. The boutique hotel is a welcome change of pace from the big casinos and rundown motels in South Lake.

I loved the lobby and the whole look of the place. I've never hung out in a hotel lobby before, and my boyfriend, friend and I ended up watching a football game and drinking beers from the bar for about an hour, while talking to the friendly staff.

The location is right by all the hustle and bustle of South Lake Tahoe, and I was in awe of the design touches all weekend. They have great extras like a smores bar and hot tub on the roof, but I didn't get a chance to check those out. Next time!

We will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    56
    14
    5
    0
See reviews for
59
111
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Basecamp is an excellent option for a visit to Lake Tahoe. Upon check-in, I found myself in a themed room called The Great Indoors. It had a feel of camping in the beautiful Tahoe wilderness with with modern luxuries of a hotel. The bed had a canvass tent over it and the walls were wallpapered with wilderness landscapes. There was a fire pit (fake) to give that extra camping feel. The room was clean, comfortable and provided a great complement to my trip. The staff was very welcoming and attended to every need. The lobby bar was very cozy and the property is walking distance to all the major Tahoe attractions. My next visit to Lake Tahoe will definitely bring me back to Basecamp Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Basecamp Hotel rocks. Great service, comfortable and clean rooms (with funky touches), yummy breakfast snacks, and great leather couches to sprawl out in! Highly recommended, especially if you're looking for a real mountain experience with the comforts of home.

Room Tip: If you want to feel like you're camping in the great outdoors, ask for the room with the tent ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Just got back from staying at BaseCamp for a work retreat. It was amazing! The owner/employees are super friendly and helpful, and the hotel itself is wonderful. Great decor, nice rooms, and a hot-tub. AND they provided us with S'mores supplies. Great trip! Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

What a wonderful experience. The Basecamp team has really stepped up the level of quality hotels in Tahoe. I loved the look and feel and the staff was always there to take care of anything you needed. They have some fun "themed" rooms and the location of the hotel is a 5 min walk to the Heavenly gondola as well the beach. If you're not staying at Basecamp you're not at the right place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

enjoyed a few days at base camp. loved the vibe. one of the most comfortable beds i've enjoyed in a long while. simple and well done. i will return and will send friends. was bummed they were out of the cool t-shirts.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushmills, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Myself and my other half recently returned from a 9 day stay at this hotel during October and I can honestly say it was one of the most memorable stays I have ever had at a hotel in the United States, we really did love everything about this place!

First of all the staff seemed very enthusiastic about the hotel. They were also very keen to help in any way they could and were knowledgeable about things to do in the area.

The lodging itself is in the style of a motel and is very well suited to those people on outdoor based trips such as skiing due to the external access corridors to rooms and racks to store skis outside the rooms. The décor is stylish and has an extremely relaxed, modern and cozy feel to it.

Our room was spacious, spotlessly presented and the décor fun. The bed was comfortable and the heater in the room ensured we were never cold (a big deal when it’s -11 outside). There was also plenty of room to store and hang all of our clothing and a coat rack which also proved to be useful. Our room had a balcony with Adirondack chairs and was a pleasant area to spend time.

Other amenities in the room included digital clock with ipod adapter, cable television, a small cooler for traveling and a small kettle. The bathroom also ticked all the boxes for us with a nice hot shower and plenty of towels, including a face towel specifically for makeup removal. There was also a hairdryer and shampoo, shower gel and conditioner dispensers were provided in the shower.

Breakfast each morning consisted of granola and several varieties of oatmeal, bagels, cream cheese, yoghurt, dried fruit and their own fantastic orange frosted pastries which we found addictive as well as teas, coffee and orange juice.

The lobby of the hotel was very cozy with a small bar, two large sofas and TV screens. We ended up spending several nights here having local ales in their small bar instead of heading to the other bars in town. There is a rooftop hot tub and outdoor fire pit and s’more kits are available at reception, however we unfortunately never took advantage of these facilities.
The location of the hotel is very convenient with the casinos and heavenly village/ski gondola being a less than 5 minute walk.

Overall, a fantastic experience and somewhere we would highly recommend!! Can’t wait to return at some stage! :-)

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Basecamp Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basecamp Hotel

Address: 4143 Cedar Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#3 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#3 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Basecamp Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe is a new hotel built for exploring the incredible lakes, trails and mountains that the Lake Tahoe Basin has to offer. Basecamp combines the comforts of a great hotel with the sense of adventure and community found at a an expedition base camp. Basecamp is located in the heart of South Lake Tahoe, steps from the mountain and minutes walk from the lake. Become an instant local at Basecamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Basecamp Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Block Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Block Hotel Lake Tahoe
Block Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basecamp Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.