We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basecamp Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Basecamp Hotel to your Saves list
Basecamp Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4143 Cedar Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 70 Hotels in South Lake Tahoe
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a great escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

enjoyed a few days at base camp. loved the vibe. one of the most comfortable beds i've enjoyed in a long while. simple and well done. i will return and will send friends. was bummed they were out of the cool t-shirts.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    57
    16
    5
    0
See reviews for
61
111
13
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bushmills, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Myself and my other half recently returned from a 9 day stay at this hotel during October and I can honestly say it was one of the most memorable stays I have ever had at a hotel in the United States, we really did love everything about this place!

First of all the staff seemed very enthusiastic about the hotel. They were also very keen to help in any way they could and were knowledgeable about things to do in the area.

The lodging itself is in the style of a motel and is very well suited to those people on outdoor based trips such as skiing due to the external access corridors to rooms and racks to store skis outside the rooms. The décor is stylish and has an extremely relaxed, modern and cozy feel to it.

Our room was spacious, spotlessly presented and the décor fun. The bed was comfortable and the heater in the room ensured we were never cold (a big deal when it’s -11 outside). There was also plenty of room to store and hang all of our clothing and a coat rack which also proved to be useful. Our room had a balcony with Adirondack chairs and was a pleasant area to spend time.

Other amenities in the room included digital clock with ipod adapter, cable television, a small cooler for traveling and a small kettle. The bathroom also ticked all the boxes for us with a nice hot shower and plenty of towels, including a face towel specifically for makeup removal. There was also a hairdryer and shampoo, shower gel and conditioner dispensers were provided in the shower.

Breakfast each morning consisted of granola and several varieties of oatmeal, bagels, cream cheese, yoghurt, dried fruit and their own fantastic orange frosted pastries which we found addictive as well as teas, coffee and orange juice.

The lobby of the hotel was very cozy with a small bar, two large sofas and TV screens. We ended up spending several nights here having local ales in their small bar instead of heading to the other bars in town. There is a rooftop hot tub and outdoor fire pit and s’more kits are available at reception, however we unfortunately never took advantage of these facilities.
The location of the hotel is very convenient with the casinos and heavenly village/ski gondola being a less than 5 minute walk.

Overall, a fantastic experience and somewhere we would highly recommend!! Can’t wait to return at some stage! :-)

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

So since I used tripadvisor to book my stay at Basecamp it made sense for me to do a review about this charming place. My husband and I went for my birthday weekend just for a night...I wish we could have stayed a couple more. I'm not sure exactly why (I think there may have been an issue with the dates for the room) but we got an upgrade to the Penthouse for no additional cost. =) The customer service was amazing, the whole vibe of the place was charming and comfortable. Plus, the bed was super comfy...the room was exceptionally clean...the shower stayed hot forever and we loved the location. It was a very nice change to stay there than at a casino or other hotel. This will for sure be the place we stay anytime we're in Tahoe.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I love that the little hotels on the strip are starting to step it up a notch rather than die out. I was looking for a charming place with some personality for a night in Tahoe. Basecamp fit the bill. They had clean cute rooms, a warm inviting lobby and enough to do that you don't even want to cross the street and go to Harvey's casino next door. We enjoyed the little bar in the lobby watched the Giants game on the big couch and met new people. They also had a fire pit and smores on the deck as well as a hot tub and bikes you could take out to ride around town. All for about $30.00 cheaper than the Marriot, Embassy Suites and Casino hotels in the area. The hotel also seemed to be full on like minded people looking for a similar experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

I was really pleased to come across Basecamp hotel on my most recent trip to the lake. The front desk staff were all very accommodating and helpful. I was able to meet the new general manager of the property and he was able to walk me around the grounds and show me some of the different rooms. It was nice to find out that they are focusing their attention to the outdoor enthusiasts. The place is walking to distance to some top notch casinos. Which is nice to be so close to them, but not exactly having to stay in the casino's hotel. The beds are extremely comfortable by the way! Which was definitely the icing on the cake. I absolutely feel like I had gotten good value for my dollar staying here. I will most definitely return to Basecamp Tahoe!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Simple but comfortable with good, rustic design. Great location, walking distance to heavenly village and casinos, easy drive to great hikes, and scenic emerald cove. Front desk staff was great, friendly, great recommendations on what to do in the area. You can tell they love Lake Tahoe and they want visitors to enjoy. The only thing we would have liked is a fridge in the room. Overall great value.

Room Tip: Don't spend extra for the fireplace, rooms are warm, we didn't really use it in spite of col...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We absolutely LOVED the vibe of this place! The lobby was warm and inviting and the staff was friendly and accommodating! The room we stayed in had two double beds and a fireplace. I would agree with one reviewer that said the amenities were a little on the skimpy side, so if you were traveling with another couple you would definitely need more towels. It was nothing a quick walk or phone call to the front desk couldn't fix though. We really loved their version of an ice bucket too, pretty cool! It was a quick walk to the casinos too. The only thing that kept me from giving it 5 stars was our fireplace. We could never get it to work - even after we had one of their employees come up and try to help us. When you pay extra for a fireplace, you just want it to be easy to turn on/off - with this one you had to remove the bottom, click ignite, wait for it to "warm up" - but it just didn't. Also, we stayed right across the way from the firepit and hot tub and that gate can get noisy with people going in and out. But the SMORES were yummy so we appreciated that!! We would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Basecamp Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basecamp Hotel

Address: 4143 Cedar Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#3 Business Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#4 Family Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
#5 Romantic Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Basecamp Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basecamp South Lake Tahoe is a new hotel built for exploring the incredible lakes, trails and mountains that the Lake Tahoe Basin has to offer. Basecamp combines the comforts of a great hotel with the sense of adventure and community found at a an expedition base camp. Basecamp is located in the heart of South Lake Tahoe, steps from the mountain and minutes walk from the lake. Become an instant local at Basecamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Basecamp Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Block Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Block Hotel Lake Tahoe
Block Lake Tahoe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basecamp Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.